Old 7th December 2009, 18:46   #106

The Yeti car, what Skoda have here for homologation is having 1.2 Tsi and the 1.9 Tdi, but i could not spot any out of the factory premises here in Aurangabad.
Skoda peoples,right now take the car in containers to VRDE & ARAI for homolagation.
may be very soon we'll be able to spot one.
Old 7th December 2009, 22:11   #107

One of the skoda guy told me that Yeti is going to be priced between 15 to 20 lakh and hoping to have it in the market sometime in march 2010.
Old 8th December 2009, 14:27   #108

size is not the only criterion for pricing my friend

Originally Posted by Sudan_NFS View Post
I am not sure why some of you are excepting at a very high price say 12- 13 lac for SUV smaller than scorpio.They should launch at 7 - 8 lac max for base.
Old 8th December 2009, 21:43   #109
oss

Originally Posted by Sudan_NFS View Post
I am not sure why some of you are excepting at a very high price say 12- 13 lac for SUV smaller than scorpio.They should launch at 7 - 8 lac max for base.
Wow....if wishes were horses............
Old 8th December 2009, 22:07   #110

Hmm Yeti for above 13 laks does not make any sense.Yes it was nominated for European car of the Year award but it really does not look like a vehicle for that much.It seems much smaller and the engine is also not so powerful.
Old 9th December 2009, 00:33   #111

In india those buying vehicles in this price range look for high prestige value from their car, one of the reasons for high popularity of Fortuner, I dont think the small Yeti would be able to achieve that if launched above 15lakhs.
Old 10th December 2009, 11:43   #112

Cant rely upon price mentioned by SKODA. Earlier before the launch of Octavia in India they had claimed to be very less than the existing price(Can't remember the price). But that didn't happen. Need to wait & see.

A copy of the auto magazine was posted by fellow BHPian in some other thread.
Old 24th December 2009, 22:20   #113

Even if Skoda launches the 1.2 TSI with price ~14L on road, it makes sense. As Shankar puts it, I agree that nothing beats the 2.0 TDi/PD option.

But there are quite a few folks (count me) how may not need 4WD. For that matter if the 1.2TSI provides a FE of about 10-13 in the city and about 17 on the highway, its not a bad option for folks who go out on the highways once in 2-3 months.

PLUS count all the comforts of an SUV with good agility in the city.

Just trying to present the case for a 1.2 TSI option. There may be takers, who would like to graduate from hatchbacks to a smaller SUVs.

Then again the question remains about the fuel used for TSI engines. I had asked the same in a different post. Skoda recommends 95 Octane fuel, which is not available in India. How are TSI engine owners bearing with this?
Old 25th December 2009, 14:44   #114

Hey, Will the yeti launch at upcoming Expo?? and when will it go on sale?
Old 25th December 2009, 18:10   #115

Originally Posted by dodge_v1per View Post
Its definitely there on the Expo. Goes on sale I guess in 1H-2010. Not confirmed though, but most likely.
Old 25th December 2009, 22:05   #116

Originally Posted by dodge_v1per View Post
Yeti is definitely due for an early 2010 launch. My cousin is already working on the promotion and branding events for Yeti.
Old 25th December 2009, 22:34   #117

Originally Posted by ampere View Post
Its definitely there on the Expo. Goes on sale I guess in 1H-2010. Not confirmed though, but most likely.
Thank You.

Originally Posted by rauldsouza View Post
Yeti is definitely due for an early 2010 launch. My cousin is already working on the promotion and branding events for Yeti.
Hey, That's good to know. So we should expect some Scoops.
Old 5th January 2010, 13:39   #118

Launched at the Auto Expo today.

- permanent, intelligent, power-distributing four-wheel drive.
- 17 inch alloy wheels.
- hill hold and hill start assist.
- launch by end 2010.

Courtesy: Skoda Auto unveils the Yeti at the Auto Expo 2010
Skoda plans to bring Yeti to life in India!-dsc_3649resize.jpg  

Old 5th January 2010, 14:53   #119

Looks ok in this shape, any details of the engines they are offering for Yeti in India?
Old 5th January 2010, 15:07   #120

Had emailed skoda India for details. Got the info will be available in both patrol and diesel and should be on sale from June/July this year. However further details are not disclosed.
From the info at the expo its a fully loaded version with 2.0 tdi (crdi) 6speed dsg with just one variant to start with. I expect the price to be somewhere near 18-19L. They may try and fill the gap between laura L&K and superb.
However at that features seem attractive but overall seems a bit pricey. I would have like if they came up with 1.8 tsi petrol since already selling on laura.
looks like wait for Yeti petrol is gonna be long wait and would rather opt for laura petrol in that case.