Old 22nd February 2009, 13:25   #16

Thats great news!!!

I recently saw the new Accord 2.4 in person and boy does it look good.

That chassis coupled with a 271bhp V6 engine with i-vtec and VCM is to die for. I just hope they launch a M/T variant also.

FE should be as good as or even better than the 2.4 in cruise mode (since 3 cylinders equate to only 1.75 ltrs).

Shan2nu
Old 22nd February 2009, 13:33   #17

Some details from Autocar India

1. 3.5 V6 Vtec >250 Bhp
2. 5 Speed Automatic
3. 17" rims
4. ~1.5 lakhs more than the 2.4!

Link:
:: AUTOCAR INDIA - CAR AND BIKE MAGAZINE ::
Old 22nd February 2009, 13:41   #18

If they actually launch it at 1.5L more, why even have the 2.4 ltr version? LOL

The V6 beats the 2.4 in every aspect.

Shan2nu
Old 22nd February 2009, 15:03   #19

Originally Posted by Shan2nu View Post
If they actually launch it at 1.5L more, why even have the 2.4 ltr version? LOL

The V6 beats the 2.4 in every aspect.

Shan2nu

Difference will probably ard 3-4L. What a beast it will be!
Old 22nd February 2009, 16:16   #20

WOOHOO! The best-buy luxury sedan in India only gets better. 250+ horses will give the Accord performance to match the best (currently available) cars from Europe. And while at that, the V6 will offer refinement that's in another league as well. Great decision Honda! I think the actual price difference will work out to about 2.5 lakhs on the road (after taxes & insurance). Now:

1. Please give the option of a manual. I know there is a small chance, but still....

2. A stiffer suspension : The I-4 will please cruisers, but not the enthusiast with its comfort oriented suspension. 250+ BHP deserves better handling.

3. Superior trim level : Sunroof? Bigger wheels? Traction control?

Can't wait to high-revv this beast. Come to think of it, the Accord V6 will be the most powerful car this side of 45 lakh rupees (only the BMW 530i & the Audi 3.2 FSI have more horses). Best part is, it will be the most reliable as well! Talk about having your cake and eating it too.
Old 22nd February 2009, 17:52   #21

wish i had the moolah to afford this!
Old 22nd February 2009, 17:56   #22

Only if this was a Coupe :P, I wish right ?

Gotta satisfy ourselves with what we are getting :(.
Old 22nd February 2009, 21:12   #23

WOOHOO! The best-buy luxury sedan in India only gets better. 250+ horses will give the Accord performance to match the best (currently available) cars from Europe. And while at that, the V6 will offer refinement that's in another league as well. Great decision Honda! I think the actual price difference will work out to about 2.5 lakhs on the road (after taxes & insurance). Now:

1. Please give the option of a manual. I know there is a small chance, but still....

2. A stiffer suspension : The I-4 will please cruisers, but not the enthusiast with its comfort oriented suspension. 250+ BHP deserves better handling.

3. Superior trim level : Sunroof? Bigger wheels? Traction control?

Can't wait to high-revv this beast. Come to think of it, the Accord V6 will be the most powerful car this side of 45 lakh rupees (only the BMW 530i & the Audi 3.2 FSI have more horses). Best part is, it will be the most reliable as well! Talk about having your cake and eating it too.
Did i see a black C220CDi up for sale already

Great decision by Honda. I just hope they price it right, stiffen the suspension & give it nice footwear.

I hope the new technology of shutting of a few cylinders would provide FE figures that are at least at par with the 2.4L engine.
Old 22nd February 2009, 21:40   #24

250 hp at 20lacs its not bad at all wohoo!! lolz

how about a 400 hp V8
Old 22nd February 2009, 21:54   #25

Originally Posted by Caramelo View Post
how about a 400 hp V8
Lets hope Honda get s this right then expect for more !! Pricing will definitely play a huge role here !!
Old 22nd February 2009, 22:19   #26

Originally Posted by d3adlythegame View Post
Only if this was a Coupe :P, I wish right ?

Gotta satisfy ourselves with what we are getting :(.
come on dude, you cant wish for everything!

look on the brighter side...atleast 3.5 v6 is being launched atleast!
Old 22nd February 2009, 23:21   #27

not really interested though
But really looking forward for the gem of an engine ICTDI diesel thats what will sell like hot cakes not the v6..
the only sale this version will see is from enthusiasts no one else.They will soon sell it as it starts slowly draining cash from their pockets for fuel.
then as the current v6 it will keep on circulating in the 2nd hand market for relatively low prices and few takers.
Old 23rd February 2009, 09:46   #28

Honda doesn't seem too keen on diesel in India anyway. And yes, the V6 is for enthusiasts, and I am eager to know how the cylinder shut off at low speeds is going to improve the fuel efficiency. If it is going to be equivalent of the straight 4 on the 2.4 vtec, then the extra 1.5/2 lakhs on the V6 is every bit worth it.
Old 23rd February 2009, 11:26   #29
mxx

does the AT come with paddle shifts?
Old 23rd February 2009, 11:28   #30

Yes, it does come with paddle shifts.