Old 29th September 2011, 15:10   #1996

Re: New Mahindra SUV for 2011 - Pics on Pg. 112 *UPDATE* XUV500 launched at 10.8 lakh

Originally Posted by VeluM View Post
Anyone confirmed bout the front discs? The official Sita also says all disc brakes, but no mention of whether or not the front ones are ventilated.

And before we all go gaga about the price, remember this is introductory. Mahindra are well known for the creep in prices.
From the official site:

Brakes All Disc brakes
Front Disk & Caliper type
Rear Disk & Caliper type
Old 29th September 2011, 15:11   #1997

Originally Posted by _raVan_

From the official site:

Brakes All Disc brakes
Front Disk & Caliper type
Rear Disk & Caliper type
I know they're discs. What I was asking is whether the front ones are ventilated or not.
Old 29th September 2011, 15:11   #1998

Re: New Mahindra SUV for 2011 - Pics on Pg. 112 *UPDATE* XUV500 launched at 10.8 lakh

I guess M&M will still short change us by giving leaf springs instead of coil springs, no disc brakes at the rear, etc.

Was even shocked to see that on the Fortuner there are drum brakes at rear instead of disc brakes all around. What a shame we pay through our nose and we Indians are always short changed!
Old 29th September 2011, 15:14   #1999

the style , the metal and that price , i am sure go anyway around the world and the product is hard to beat ! it will sell in volumes as the rivels, would be rivels and not so direct rivels all are having sleepless nights !
Old 29th September 2011, 15:16   #2000

The pricing is ex-showroom in Delhi, which is cheaper than other tier 1 cities. I would like to know what the prices are in Bangalore for the W8. And this is a promotional price till which date?

I am still not inclined towards this ugly design IMO.
Old 29th September 2011, 15:17   #2001

It will be interesting to see how many XUV units are sold and drop in Scorpio figures in october 2011.

TATA's ARIA is anyway doing mere 200 units only.
XUV is not a big car as ARIA / Fortuner as it is less tha 4.6 meter in length.

The pricing is not VFM but marketing trick of introductory price and price at delivery prevails clause will take away the introductory price for any avail. By same time next year the vehicle will cost significantly more pricey if more people decide to buy XUV given the nature of Mahindra.

This launch has made One thing for sure "ARIA now stands as Jazz of TATA
Old 29th September 2011, 15:20   #2002
o.D

Brilliant!

M&M have really gone leaps and bounds ahead with the XUV500. Fantastic feature for safety and my personal favorite would be the ABS and All Disc brakes as a standard.

A simple color change to the front grill.

New Mahindra SUV for 2011 - Pics on Pg. 109 *UPDATE* XUV500 launched at 10.8 lakhs-311038_266537953380497_100000728839436_932549_1330310007_n1.jpg
Old 29th September 2011, 15:24   #2003

Originally Posted by Prithvi View Post
I guess M&M will still short change us by giving leaf springs instead of coil springs, no disc brakes at the rear, etc.

Was even shocked to see that on the Fortuner there are drum brakes at rear instead of disc brakes all around. What a shame we pay through our nose and we Indians are always short changed!
Looks like you have missed out on the details a bit in the hurry!

Originally Posted by MileCruncher View Post
Guys please check the technical specification of the XUV500 on their website Mahindra XUV500 | Price, Review, Videos, Test Drive, Photos and Specifications | Latest SUV in India

Two things that caught my attention are:
  1. All Independent Suspension
  2. All Disc Brakes

At 11L Price point the above two are definitely really good features.

P.S: Shame on you Fortuner
Old 29th September 2011, 15:24   #2004

Originally Posted by rkbharat View Post
This is what zigwheels says
Pricing Ex-showroom Delhi -

Rs. 10.80 lakhs for W6 two-wheel drive
Rs. 11.95 lakhs for W8 two-wheel drive
Rs.12.88 lakhs for W8 four wheel drive

So AWD price is little above the good price bracket now :(
I guess W6 is manual transmission and W8 is auto transmission, correct? If yes, looks like we do not have a 4WD variant in manual transmission which will be missed, I am sure.

Another query - I believe the third variant is a AWD and not a (part time) 4WD, which means low range will not be there. Is that correct?
Old 29th September 2011, 15:27   #2005

Originally Posted by cool_dube View Post
I guess W6 is manual transmission and W8 is auto transmission, correct? If yes, looks like we do not have a 4WD variant in manual transmission which will be missed, I am sure.

Another query - I believe the third variant is a AWD and not a (part time) 4WD, which means low range will not be there. Is that correct?
There is no AT on offer yet, the price for W8 mentioned is for the AWD option. All options on offer are 6 speed manuals.
Old 29th September 2011, 15:31   #2006

Re: My 89bhp Ford Figo

Found this on the Zigwheels
And for the artistically inclined, there are tribal motifs etched on the taillamps.
I just turned artistic. Has anyone got a close-up?

BH.

Last edited by BurningHeart : 29th September 2011 at 15:46.
Old 29th September 2011, 15:37   #2007

Now the wait starts ... for GTO or his other band of brothers to give us the (always fantastic) Test Drive report. The pricing is a typical MM. Its not an Aria ( a MUV and a SUV have different appeal!) so need to see if the gap that Safari was not able to fill in can be filled by this one!
Old 29th September 2011, 15:40   #2008

GTO and Team, I am eagerly waiting for the fantastic review of yours on this machine. I am not going ahead without your reviews
Old 29th September 2011, 15:41   #2009

Mahindra has just rocked the boat in the SUV segment. Those prices are very appealing and will leave its competitors shocked. To be honest the prices even make the top end Scorpio models look overpriced!!

XUV500 has just given the Force One a kick in the nuts during infancy, I find it dying a slow death from now on and perhaps customers who have already booked one already killed themselves!!

I have no idea what Tata plans to do with the Aria but the Merlin must be priced at least a lac below the XUV500 variants if it has to survive in the SUV space.

Also I will not believe any of the mainstream reviews, they go 'goo goo gaa ga' even over a bullock cart at launch. Eagerly waiting for the Team BHP verdict, no pressure guys!!

Last edited by shortbread : 29th September 2011 at 15:44.
shortbread is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 29th September 2011, 15:45   #2010

EXPLOSIVE pricing by M&M. Looks like this one product will take the game across multiple segments / products. Guess Mahindra asked his reportees to price it to slaughter almost everything in its sight !

So this is a superbly priced vehicle and I am glad that someone in M&M was listening to the public.

But Im happy as a consumer that M&M has not repeated the Aria strategy.
So finally found the all round package? Are you booking this car?

Originally Posted by mayankjha1806 View Post
I liked the looks, atleast in pictures that is. Called the guy in Mahindra showroom in Madivala/Silk board junction he said the SUV will be on display starting at 2 in the afternoon tomorrow, and sometime in the evening it will available for test drives. Me and my colleague are planning to hit the showroom tomorrow itself to see it in Flesh and Blood.
Please do a good long TD if possible & let us know your findings. Also please take as much as pics as possible. We would love to see more pics of this car.

Originally Posted by akhilesh View Post
Not too impressed with the pricing too - at 12.88 Lakhs Ex Delhi for the top end all wheel drive variant is expensive. If this is VFM pricing, Aria in my mind is priced well too.
Really ? You might need to do some background work before claiming the price is ridiculous ! This car at almost 2-3L lesser offers better / more features than Aria !

Soon. We need to spend atleast a full day with the XUV500 to properly understand it.
Thanks - We are all awaiting! Will it be possible for the mods to compare the size of this car with a Fortuner / Safari by means of a photograph - I mean XUV 500 & Fortuner/Safari in the same pic? Just to get an idea of size of the car.

Last edited by swiftnfurious : 29th September 2011 at 15:47.