Old 29th September 2011, 16:35   #2026

Re: New Mahindra SUV for 2011 - Pics on Pg. 112 *UPDATE* XUV500 launched at 10.8 lakh

Originally Posted by MileCruncher View Post
And what would be the correct price as per you Sir?
I don't know but at the first looks (which are hideous by the way) I would not spend more 15 lakhs on this for the top end all wheel drive variant.

Originally Posted by MileCruncher View Post
Would 8 Lakhs be OK for a car with ABS/AIRBAG et al or do you want it further lower?

May be on that yardstick Safari should be 5 Lakhs and Fortuner 10 Lakhs.

What say?
Plain rhetoric. VFM is an individual perception so let it be. Seen in isolation I find Aria and XUV both overpriced. Aria atleast manages to look well.
Old 29th September 2011, 16:39   #2027

Re: New Mahindra SUV for 2011 - Pics on Pg. 112 *UPDATE* XUV500 launched at 10.8 lakh

My grouse is why omission of Alloywheel on a vehicle costing 10.8L even the lower to XUV model Scorpio has them. Provision of Alloy wheels on W6 would have made the XUV launch complete with least blemishes.

My personal wish without alloy wheels XUV w6 4x2 model with an all india price of 9.95L as this will help most buyers not pay stupid road tax jumping additional 5% (50K) once the price breaches 10L band.

Some one must legally end the state's arbitary road tax menace.
harimakesh is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 29th September 2011, 16:42   #2028

Originally Posted by akhilesh View Post
You need to keep your fanboyism in check. Did I said its ridiculous? I merely said its expensive in MY OPINION. I still don't like what I see of XUV 500. There is no language or sense to the design... its merely a mish mash of a million curves thrown around carelessly.
To put things in perspective, the 4x4 AT costs 50K to the 4x4 AT Scorpio sold currently in the market.

So you have a bigger, more modern vehicle with more features at just 50K more than a hot selling current version, and you say its overpriced....!
tsk1979 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 29th September 2011, 16:45   #2029

Re: XUV500 Pics

Originally Posted by anilisanil View Post
What are those slots just above the tail lamps?
I don't think they're functional and I think they are just caches. Aesthetic appeal is aided amply for sure. Looks very sculpted because of them.

I don't know but at the first looks (which are hideous by the way) I would not spend more 15 lakhs on this for the top end all wheel drive variant.
Please don't. It will not cost you more than that in Delhi, where I see you're based.
Plain rhetoric. VFM is an individual perception so let it be. Seen in isolation I find Aria and XUV both overpriced. Aria atleast manages to look well.
But perception also needs to be back by some facts mate. You get 7 seats, ESP, Cruise, Modern chassis, 6 airbags including Curtain airbags, DVD, ABS/EBD, 3 row AC/ACC, Flat folding seats, loads of futuristic styling and you get it for the price of a ANHC/Corolla. For Pete's sake, it is lower than XTRAIL and Captiva where these features are still not there. Perception when made public, it should be worthy of airing too.

BH.

Last edited by BurningHeart : 29th September 2011 at 16:54.
Old 29th September 2011, 16:48   #2030

To put things in perspective, the 4x4 AT costs 50K to the 4x4 AT Scorpio sold currently in the market.

So you have a bigger, more modern vehicle with more features at just 50K more than a hot selling current version, and you say its overpriced....!
And did I say Scorpio is VFM?
Old 29th September 2011, 16:49   #2031

I think the pricing is very much within your specified parameter for the top end variant. Actually even below that as a matter of fact.
Here is how:
Ex Showroom - 12.88L
Registration and Tax @ 7% (For Delhi IIRC) - 0.90 L
Insurance - 0.40L
Misc - 0.10L
Grand Total OTR - Delhi - 14.28L

My Dear Sir,

The above is not rhetoric. As a matter of fact, to me you seem to have lost the plot or missing out on the big picture. You crib and say you wouldn't want to pay more than 15L on road for the top end variant when it only costs about 14.3L. But you are ok to pay 7L for a horrendously equipped Swift.

So my simple advise is to go out in the market and see what are the present prices of various vehicles.

As regards to beauty /looks, that's individual taste and I'm no one to comment on that. I would be more interested to deliberate thoroughly on tangible features.

Last edited by MileCruncher : 29th September 2011 at 16:51.
MileCruncher is online now   (3) Thanks
Old 29th September 2011, 16:51   #2032

I am one of the rare breed who love front bumper, grill. I think it is masculine and doesn't do any harm as inherent product is good and stands out when driven. I am ok with side profile as well.- why they compared it with Cheetah is still a mystery to me. It could have been any other animal. Nothing feline about this vehicle in my opinion.

I seriously don't like the rear, whatever that is under rear wiper - chinese hand fan, may be it has a parachute to slow down "cheetah" in emergency. It has to go.
Pricing is absolutely yummy for the vehicle though Force looks better rather more acceptable. But with this pricing its is going to entice lot of people in bracket above and below - M&M has proven to an extent with its previous launches that it can build good product, not necessarily quality products. With this launch it is step in right direction but again it will be restricted by badge that it carries. Only thing that might kill is that overkill of equipment might not work, might have niggles, but then that is acceptable by masses of India "chalta hai attitude".

Last opinion but not the least I somehow did not like middle row seats, both in upholstery and its shape - somehow they are not inviting to me it doesnt tell me that they are comfortable for long drives. Experts please look into that when you get hands on this.

My rank in descending order of acceptable shape/form of recently launched SUV/crossover
1. Aria
2. Force
3. XUV500

My rank order of what I think will be success in numbers of the above.
1. XUV500
2. Force One (not big enough network)
3. Aria (No brainers)
Old 29th September 2011, 16:52   #2033

Is it because of inflation people are applauding OTR ( Bangalore) prices in the range of 16 lacs for a top end model Indian SUV. It will be interesting to see how many on the forum will jump in and buy this. Agreed lot of people have that kind of money. But their aspirations are going to be different.
Old 29th September 2011, 16:53   #2034

Quick Points from Manson & Stratos!

- Very less body roll for an SUV

- Plastics have a long way to go in some areas

- Powerful Climate Control

- Lovely handling, very Innova'ish

- Switch ESP off and there's noticeable understeer on the FWD variant

- Plush legroom for second row

- Supremely comfortable front seats

- Rear floor folds F-L-A-T

- Twitchy "chewing gum" like brakes. Twitchy brakes

- Micro-hybrid present

- Little engine noise in the cabin

New Mahindra SUV for 2011 - Pics on Pg. 109 *UPDATE* XUV500 launched at 10.8 lakhs-001-custom.jpg

New Mahindra SUV for 2011 - Pics on Pg. 109 *UPDATE* XUV500 launched at 10.8 lakhs-002-custom.jpg

New Mahindra SUV for 2011 - Pics on Pg. 109 *UPDATE* XUV500 launched at 10.8 lakhs-003-custom.jpg

New Mahindra SUV for 2011 - Pics on Pg. 109 *UPDATE* XUV500 launched at 10.8 lakhs-004-custom.jpg

New Mahindra SUV for 2011 - Pics on Pg. 109 *UPDATE* XUV500 launched at 10.8 lakhs-0005-custom.jpg

New Mahindra SUV for 2011 - Pics on Pg. 109 *UPDATE* XUV500 launched at 10.8 lakhs-006-custom.jpg

New Mahindra SUV for 2011 - Pics on Pg. 109 *UPDATE* XUV500 launched at 10.8 lakhs-007-custom.jpg

New Mahindra SUV for 2011 - Pics on Pg. 109 *UPDATE* XUV500 launched at 10.8 lakhs-008-custom.jpg

New Mahindra SUV for 2011 - Pics on Pg. 109 *UPDATE* XUV500 launched at 10.8 lakhs-009-custom.jpg

New Mahindra SUV for 2011 - Pics on Pg. 109 *UPDATE* XUV500 launched at 10.8 lakhs-0010-custom.jpg
GTO is offline   (19) Thanks
Old 29th September 2011, 16:55   #2035

And did I say Scorpio is VFM?
Hmm, well if you consider all SUVs sold in India (Safari, scorpio, etc., etc,) are overpriced, then more power to you. I personally feel that base model safari should be for 6 lakhs, with 4x4 for 7 lakhs
Old 29th September 2011, 16:55   #2036

I can hardly wait for GTO's review of this car. Please, GTO, please get your hands on one asap!
Old 29th September 2011, 16:56   #2037

VFM is indeed an individual perception so you are free to see the XUV as VFM or pricey. If you think 8L would be VFM you are free to believe so.

At the end of the day it is not your individual perception that matters but the Indian automotive market. In the context of the Indian Automotive market the XUV is very much VFM whichever way you look at it.
Old 29th September 2011, 17:06   #2038

Thanks for the Update GTO,

Its indeed a good news to have TBHP doing the test drive of XUV500. Excellent pricing by M&M. It would be a dream come true to have this in my garage. Hope they have good financing options
Old 29th September 2011, 17:06   #2039

Hmm, well if you consider all SUVs sold in India (Safari, scorpio, etc., etc,) are overpriced, then more power to you. I personally feel that base model safari should be for 6 lakhs, with 4x4 for 7 lakhs
And LX variant with A/T plus 4x4 at 8 Lakhs is my wish. For the quality of materials that are being used and the niggles that come along this is justful price.
Old 29th September 2011, 17:06   #2040

Mahindra XUV500 the most awaited launch has created Apple like buzz in the market. Caught some pictures (Source Mahindra XUV500 | Price, Review, Videos, Test Drive, Photos and Specifications | Latest SUV in India)

Inspiration

Volcano Black

Moondust Silver

Tuscan Red

Amazon Green

Opulent Purple

Dolphin Grey

Satin White

XUV500 Ex-showroom prices (Delhi)

W6 : 10.8L
W8 2WD : 11.95L
W8 AWD : 12.88L

------

Note from Team-BHP Support : Please note that it is imperative for you to upload pictures directly to the Team-BHP Server. Please click here (Uploading photographs directly to Team-BHP) to view our simple help article on uploading pictures. Thanks.

Last edited by Rehaan : 1st October 2011 at 12:34. Reason: Please take a look at the mod note that has been added to the end of your post.
ankurvirmani19 is offline   (9) Thanks