Old 24th September 2011, 16:14   #1471

re: New Mahindra SUV for 2011 - Pics on Pg. 109 *UPDATE* XUV500 launched at 10.8 lakhs

I ve mentioned my reasons before.

Simply because when I bought my Scorp LX, there was no VLX with Airbags and ABS. It hadnt yet come out at the time.

I wanted the scorp badly at the time on account of comfort toughness and refinement (compared with my Bolero) but didnt have the option at the time, of ABS or Airbags.

Also I did not trust their Electronics - hence preferred to buy the mechanical version. I also do believe that the Scorp with ABS and Airbags is priced way too high for what it offers.

I had evaluated at that time, the Ford Fusion with ABS - unfortunately that was too small for my needs at that time.

Yes I agree I do crib a lot - but my crib is because I have been unable so far to find a vehicle which meets all my needs/ wants properly. And I dont want to have to break the bank to get what I want. I think that the manufacturers charge an unfair premium for the safety stuff by bunging it into only their top end versions. I dont need some of the other stuff in their top end versions but am willing to pay extra for the safety kit on a lower version if they would allow me to do so!

One is also evolving in terms of need and want state. Hence the increased importance being given to safety now more than 3-4 years ago.

Why do you think Im desperately seeking something now to upgrade to?
Im considering this XUV500 which I believe is coming to the showrooms next week. Deliveries I believe will begin by Nov.
And there are going to be 2 versions - one top end one with all the bells and whistles and AWD. and one lower one without bells and whistles and in 2WD. Not yet sure if the lower one will have ABS etc atleast though. Speculative pricing 15-18 lacs on road Im told.
Im also considering a Skoda Yeti.
Also thinking about a used Tucson.
if none of the above work out properly then I shall have to wait for the Duster - provided of course they offer it with all the safety kit, 4WD and stuff as in the Euro Spec.

No idea yet what to do, but believe me, I will, as you put it, be actually walking the talk in a few weeks/ months as soon as I find something suitable.

Originally Posted by BurningHeart View Post
We have exchanged our opinions before and this is nothing personal. But you seem to be always complaining about lack of safety kit as standard on every vehicle. How come you yourself drive a Scorpio LX without ABS and airbags? Why havent you bought yourself an SLE/VLX? (Now if you re-read my first paragraph for aam-junta-sake, it will make more sense).

How about walking the talk first?

BH.

Last edited by shankar.balan : 24th September 2011 at 16:24.
Old 24th September 2011, 16:33   #1472

re: New Mahindra SUV for 2011 - Pics on Pg. 109 *UPDATE* XUV500 launched at 10.8 lakhs

Originally Posted by raj_5004 View Post
Did you see them uncovered? If not, by street presence, do you mean the size & girth of the vehicle?
All were covered but you still feel that it is a big car.
Old 24th September 2011, 19:53   #1473

He has seen the vehicle without covering & has driven the vehicle inside the plant. He says, "Bhai, its a rocket!".
No wonder why a Cheetah is shown in the previews!

He said the benchmarking of the vehicle has been with Toyota Fortuner, Chevy Captiva & Hyundai Santa Fe... and not Aria. He confirmed that the third row seating is good & comfortable & has dedicated AC vents.
So Fortuner for size & presence, Captiva for comfort & Santa Fe for features? Is the bench marking done like this?

You should show what you wrote to your M&M friend & try to instill some confidence saying, we really don't reveal insider names in this forum !

Edit:: Do we have an option of a front facing third row too? I remember seeing some spy shots with jump seats at the back!

Last edited by swiftnfurious : 24th September 2011 at 19:54.
Old 24th September 2011, 20:25   #1474

From what that guy told me, i assume it was a FF third row because i remember he mentioning about folding the 2nd row to get inside.
Old 24th September 2011, 21:19   #1475

yes you do have to fold the second row to get into the 3rd row. the 3rd row is front facing.
the 3rd row is a bit of a tight squeeze really for a tall chap from the proto I saw and sat in.

From what that guy told me, i assume it was a FF third row because i remember he mentioning about folding the 2nd row to get inside.

Last edited by shankar.balan : 24th September 2011 at 21:20.
Old 24th September 2011, 21:55   #1476

Guess the prices will be just below Fortuner/Captiva/Santa Fe.

Mahindra would definitely try to have a go at what T^T^ Aria failed.
Old 25th September 2011, 12:33   #1477

Slightly OT, I feel the pricing would be 13-16 lacs ex showroom Delhi. On autocar show yesterday, they mentioned that the Korando C would be pitted against the Fortuner and the other SUV against the X3
Old 25th September 2011, 13:59   #1478

they are very clear they dont want a repeat of the aria's low sales scenario
hence they wont over price the vehicle
thing is how much will a consumer pay for the M&M Brand.
it is a tough call that they will need to take in this regard.

Originally Posted by Skyline GT-R View Post
Guess the prices will be just below Fortuner/Captiva/Santa Fe.

Mahindra would definitely try to have a go at what T^T^ Aria failed.
Old 25th September 2011, 15:09   #1479

they are very clear they dont want a repeat of the aria's low sales scenario
hence they wont over price the vehicle
thing is how much will a consumer pay for the M&M Brand.
Well, I feel customer's thinking will be different in case of XUV500 than it was for Aria. Aria is a MUV, was never marketed as an SUV. XUV500 is a SUV. So people might be willing to pay more for a SUV, be it a MM vehicle, than a MUV like Aria.

Last edited by driveanddrive : 25th September 2011 at 15:13.
Old 25th September 2011, 16:29   #1480

So XUV stands for Xtreme Utility Vehicle ?? They have this qs running in their website
Old 25th September 2011, 17:43   #1481

^^^ Infact, Aria was targeted as a crossover, a mix between an SUV & sedan. Remember the ad?

Infact, I want/wish the XUV to be beefier & more muscular than the Aria. Somewhere, inspite of the body cladding & huge tyres & 4WD, the Aria still looks like a beefed up MUV. Someone spending 15-16 lacs on a Mahindra would want a vehicle with loads of street presence, something thats missing in the Aria. Hope M&M takes care of that.
Old 25th September 2011, 20:51   #1482
Zed

Originally Posted by driveanddrive View Post
Well, I feel customer's thinking will be different in case of XUV500 than it was for Aria. Aria is a MUV, was never marketed as an SUV. XUV500 is a SUV. So people might be willing to pay more for a SUV, be it a MM vehicle, than a MUV like Aria.
The XUV 500 has a monocoque body if im not mistaken? Not an SUV by definition - it is a cross over, pretty much like the Aria.

But then again, a majority of potential customers associate an SUV with a large vehicle that has a decent ground clearance and 'get out of my way' styling cues. The underpinnings are only important to serious off road customers, a minority if you look at the number of SUV or even UVs that are actually taken off road in India.

Looking back, Tata motors were the pioneers in the Indian Market with the Sierra, Sumo and the Safari but M&M did one better (in terms of sales volumes) with the bolero, Scorpio and Xylo. Perhaps history will repeat itself with the Aria and the XUV500.
Old 25th September 2011, 22:30   #1483

Originally Posted by mannubhai View Post
So XUV stands for Xtreme Utility Vehicle ?? They have this qs running in their website
X means crossover....just like Volvo XC 90 means, (X)cross country!

or just as we write Xmas instead of Christmas!
Old 25th September 2011, 23:36   #1484

XUV should be Crossover Utility Vehicle. But then X1 would be the CrossOne!!!

XUV500 is a monocoque for sure. But so is the new Pajero (Montero in India).
New Mahindra SUV for 2011 - Pics on Pg. 109 *UPDATE* XUV500 launched at 10.8 lakhs-pajero.jpg  

Old 26th September 2011, 06:38   #1485

Originally Posted by mannubhai View Post
A little of topic, but GMC used to call a version of its Envoy SUV as Envoy XUV. One could fold (a combination of slide the roof, fold some side panels and so on...) the rear of the SUV to convert it into pick up.