Old 15th September 2009, 12:50   #256

Originally Posted by beejay View Post
A notch above the Scorpio cannot be priced at 10L.

Should fall somewhere between 15 to 20L.
I think >15 will put it too close to Fortuner territory. Since the most expensive Scorpio is in the 11 lakh range, I think this will be priced from 11 - 15. There is a gaping hole in this segment which many of us can afford.
Old 15th September 2009, 15:57   #257

I think I saw the test mule on the Kotagiri highway this afternoon. Came right at me on a bend. Honked and someone waved and drove on.

Was not able to click any pictures. Bearing Tn37Bc plates. I am not sure if it was the same though. The rear lights looked more Indicaish.

Last edited by beejay : 15th September 2009 at 15:58.
Old 18th September 2009, 13:53   #258

Spotted the test mule near Tumkur on 14th Sept. Notice the dual exhausts.
New Mahindra SUV for 2011 - Pics on Pg. 109 *UPDATE* XUV500 launched at 10.8 lakhs-01mahindra.jpg  

New Mahindra SUV for 2011 - Pics on Pg. 109 *UPDATE* XUV500 launched at 10.8 lakhs-02mahindra.jpg  

Last edited by Dippy : 18th September 2009 at 14:55.
Old 18th September 2009, 14:48   #259

that thing beers an uncanny resemblence to jeep cherokee!
Old 18th September 2009, 14:55   #260

Infractions: 0/3 (12)

excellent set of comments and observations
Im with you all the way

Originally Posted by ACM View Post
The Prices of indian Grown SUV's seem headed for a significant hike in the next 2 years.

Yep the Xylo and Scorpio are priced / repriced very effectively.

But the nex scorpio / New Safari / Xover etc all seem headed to be priced in Innova and beyond territory.

Rather than refining the current well priced options to acceptable levels the efforts seem to be towards completely new offerings that can go global.

From business perspective this probably makes sense for them, but from the indian consumer point of view it would have been ideal if the still existent rough edges in the existent variants itself were tweaked first.
Old 18th September 2009, 15:09   #261

whoa! that thing has dual exhausts.

and that too oval shaped at the end. seems like the development is already at advanced stage
Old 18th September 2009, 15:20   #262

did i read quality top notch and better then flagship model scorpio and mahindra still would sell it below 10 lacs is something to be seen from this new vehicle.Also what ACM stated perfectly that yes surely now indian companies are eying global markets but then what about indian buyers who are asking for firstly better quality and fittings and then to compete with japs price range.
Old 18th September 2009, 15:25   #263

good pics here, can anyone do a photoshop and try out different looks please
Old 18th September 2009, 16:55   #264

ohh, even this thing has dual exhausts like the tata indicruz/xover? am i looking at some 150-160 bhp?

it is indeed a mahindra- Mh 15 number & scorpio's tail lights. i am impressed with the size & presence of the vehicle, hope they dont mess up the styling as they did with the xylo.

i am eagerly waiting for this car.
Old 18th September 2009, 17:07   #265

Size and presence seemed very good,

The dual exhausts are indicative of 150-160 bhp

The state of the camoflage is indicative of a min of 9-12 months till release.

Could be styled like a large captiva, seems more rounded and larger than a xylo, all of which would be good but they need to price within a max of 13L for top end automatic model, else it is in trouble, and would not meet the needs of the masses out here, the interest in Scorpio would go down with a large mahindra suv available from the same stable.
Old 18th September 2009, 21:58   #266

Hope Mahindra hits the sweet spot with the vehicle features and pricing. I would really like to shove it up the Captivas, Pajeros, endy's etc who have been ripping us of for ever.
Old 18th September 2009, 23:48   #267

with what i have seen in the scoop pics, i really loved the dashboard & the instrument cluster looks really futuristic. most interesting feature was the rear Ac vents on the B pillar.

of course, cruise control, automatic AC & wiper, tyre pressure monitoring system, etc. can be expected. what i really wish to see is dual airbags & ABS with EBD. and of course, 4WD with LSD!

how about fully powered driver's seats, 6 speed auto transmission as option, xenon lights, hill descent control & traction control??!!! am i asking too much?
Old 19th September 2009, 08:54   #268

Raj:

Given Mahindra's lack of enthusiasm with 4WD, I don't you will see 4WD until a few years down the line,

But I think the rest of your wishes will come true. If you look at how aggressively they have kept updating the Scorpio/Bolero Mahindra is generally on top of their products. Unlike their nearest competitor in the MUV space.
Old 19th September 2009, 09:05   #269

true. but i feel since now scorpio 4WD is easily available, the new SUV priced much higher should have it. and of course, off roading is in mahindra's DNA!
Old 19th September 2009, 12:14   #270

Cant agree more with you ACM, seems like prices of even Indian SUV's are getting out of reach for people like me. But then most non Indian SUV's got a bigger price tags due to 100pc import duties on CBU's (Mauthi Grand Vitara being one example). So a Vitara without import duty would be roughly in same range as a scorpio. So I hope the home grown SUV manufactuers alteast improve reliablity and ownership experience along with price increase.

Originally Posted by ACM View Post
The Prices of indian Grown SUV's seem headed for a significant hike in the next 2 years.

Yep the Xylo and Scorpio are priced / repriced very effectively.

But the nex scorpio / New Safari / Xover etc all seem headed to be priced in Innova and beyond territory.

Rather than refining the current well priced options to acceptable levels the efforts seem to be towards completely new offerings that can go global.

From business perspective this probably makes sense for them, but from the indian consumer point of view it would have been ideal if the still existent rough edges in the existent variants itself were tweaked first.