Old 12th October 2010, 00:00   #856

Scoop :Ford/Hyundai New MUV clicked

Caught this test mule doing runs in Chennai a couple of days back.It was was way to fast so couldn't overtake it.The pickup was really impressive from stand still.My unicorn was no match to it.
Maybe this is the HyundaI Terracan/Sante-fe.If not it has to be a Ford
New Mahindra SUV for 2011 - Pics on Pg. 109 *UPDATE* XUV500 launched at 10.8 lakhs-01102010100.jpg  

New Mahindra SUV for 2011 - Pics on Pg. 109 *UPDATE* XUV500 launched at 10.8 lakhs-01102010101.jpg  

New Mahindra SUV for 2011 - Pics on Pg. 109 *UPDATE* XUV500 launched at 10.8 lakhs-01102010102.jpg  

New Mahindra SUV for 2011 - Pics on Pg. 109 *UPDATE* XUV500 launched at 10.8 lakhs-01102010103.jpg  

Old 12th October 2010, 00:21   #857

Note from Moderator: Thread merged. This Vehicle has been positively identified as Mahindra SUV, Please refrain from posting one-liners identifying the vehicle. Thanks.

Last edited by .anshuman : 12th October 2010 at 00:24.
Old 12th October 2010, 09:31   #858

i like the alloys. but IMO the car looks too wide & not too tall. does that mean mahindra is sacrificing the butch SUV look?
Old 12th October 2010, 10:25   #859

May be OT - With the Aria being launched between 13-16 lakhs. It would be very interesting to see how Mahindra prices this SUV. Though this SUV might not be compared directly with Aria which is a cross over. However, since they would be priced in the ball park it will be a very interesting battle between this SUV and the ARIA.
Old 12th October 2010, 16:29   #860

Originally Posted by raj_5004 View Post
i like the alloys. but IMO the car looks too wide & not too tall. does that mean mahindra is sacrificing the butch SUV look?
Not really. Our desi SUVs have always been more tall than wide which results in bad high speed dynamics and lesser interior space. A wider construction can hugely help matters on that front.
Styling issues can always be taken care of by making it look butch here and there.
Old 12th October 2010, 17:15   #861

true. by the way, the side profile looks really nice. those chunky tyres really help.
Old 12th October 2010, 20:36   #862

I feel this would be a ~15L segment car (like the tata Aria). Would anyone know whether M&M plans to launch newer version of scorpio in near future (ofcourse with additional features and fine-tuning?

Scorpio Fan
Old 12th October 2010, 20:46   #863

Guys, any idea when this one would be launched?

we are looking at the fortuner or captiva & i feel this one could be a worthy alternative...
Old 13th October 2010, 18:09   #864

Originally Posted by nkrishnap View Post
May be OT - With the Aria being launched between 13-16 lakhs. It would be very interesting to see how Mahindra prices this SUV. Though this SUV might not be compared directly with Aria which is a cross over. However, since they would be priced in the ball park it will be a very interesting battle between this SUV and the ARIA.
I sincerely hope Mahindra prices the W201 realistically. The Aria is severely overpriced & should NOT raise Mahindra's expectations.

Originally Posted by raj_5004 View Post
Guys, any idea when this one would be launched?
March - April 2011. Positively.
Old 13th October 2010, 21:25   #865

I sincerely hope Mahindra prices the W201 realistically. The Aria is severely overpriced & should NOT raise Mahindra's expectations.
Mahindra has a penchant for ugliness, however, their pricing is generally very competitive across all their products. I feel that the will price it aggressively compared to the Aria. Tata has never been able to really compete with Mahindra in the MUV/SUV segment just going by the numbers.
Old 13th October 2010, 21:36   #866
AWD

Originally Posted by 4x4addict View Post
their pricing is generally very competitive across all their products.
Well I can say that about the Xylo only & too because it was a relative failure in the market. Otherwise, slow & gradual price rise would have taken place in the name of raw material costs, taxes, etc.(which all do).

Regarding Aria's price strategy rubbing on to Mahindra, I think it will more likely give Toyota a reason to raise Innova's tag. Mahindra sure will follow suit. All in all a bad move from a consumers POV.

Last edited by AWD : 13th October 2010 at 21:39.
Old 13th October 2010, 22:10   #867

even i feel the same regarding the pricing. i have convinced dad to wait till 1Q of next year for the launch of W201.

i am sure it will be loaded to gills & will be priced much lesser than the bare basic fortuner, our next alternative. so, i feel this would be a good replacement for our ageing innova. yes, i dont care a damn about brand value!
Old 14th October 2010, 09:41   #868

Thats exactly what I meant. Will Mahindra follow the foot steps of TATA and Price it in the similar ball park.

Hope Mahindra proves my thought process wrong.
Old 14th October 2010, 10:24   #869

Originally Posted by AWD View Post
Well I can say that about the Xylo only & too because it was a relative failure in the market.
Off Topic, but can you please explain how you decided that Xylo is a failure in the market? Here are the sales numbers of MUV from the September Sales thread.

Toyota Innova : 4106
Mahindra Xylo : 3002
Tata Sumo : 1775
Chevrolet Tavera : 1577

Frankly, I am no fan of the XYLO and can never see myself owning one, but we have to accept the fact that it has been accepted by the market.
Old 14th October 2010, 10:28   #870

Originally Posted by nkrishnap View Post
Thats exactly what I meant. Will Mahindra follow the foot steps of TATA and Price it in the similar ball park.

Hope Mahindra proves my thought process wrong.
Still looking the specifications, the new SUV for sure cannot match the TATA's new offering, The Aria.

The space and styling when compared to the Aria, the new Mahindra SUV has lot of shortcomings.

The photos show the cabin to be too cramped.