Old 26th September 2011, 19:02   #1501

re: New Mahindra SUV for 2011 - Pics on Pg. 109 *UPDATE* XUV500 launched at 10.8 lakhs

confirming that I ve got the same info from one of my pals in the local dealership

Originally Posted by Bhargava_sr View Post
Got an info from one of the MM showroom guy in Bangalore that XUV500 is launched on 28th SEP and will be available for TD.

There are only two variants W6 and W8 with Approximate On Road Pricing between 16L-18L.

I will be visiting the showroom for the TD and will post the Pics/TD Review.
Old 26th September 2011, 20:12   #1502

re: New Mahindra SUV for 2011 - Pics on Pg. 109 *UPDATE* XUV500 launched at 10.8 lakhs

Since this is supposed to be a world car, why they could not have launched it internationally, say in Frankfurt motor show?
Old 26th September 2011, 21:10   #1503

The Steering Wheel revealed!
Looks like the black and plum combination from the Aria! I would prefer all black interiors.

Old 26th September 2011, 21:14   #1504

Got an info from one of the MM showroom guy in Bangalore that XUV500 is launched on 28th SEP and will be available for TD.

There are only two variants W6 and W8 with Approximate On Road Pricing between 16L-18L.

Sir, W6/8 means its got a W engine layout? Well, if in that case, that will be a real good eye catchy factor for the five-uhh-ohh
Old 26th September 2011, 21:41   #1505

@ Alphakilo,

Don't know whether you are being sarcastic or not but the engine will not be a V config let alone a W.

16-18 lacs is a lot more than anticipated, if the rumors are true. Perhaps these are the 4WD top end variants. If that is the case then theres more hope for 2WD less loaded variants in the 11-12 lac range. Wait and watch I guess!!
Old 26th September 2011, 21:48   #1506

I am eagerly waiting for the Launch. Any idea where it would be launched and any links to any Podcasts / Live Streaming video ?

The key thing will be its pricing. I am looking at 18-19 lakhs for the Top end.
Old 26th September 2011, 22:28   #1507

Just a day more for launch. I am already excited! Will there be a live streaming of it's launch on the website?

Similar to Xylo's E6 & E8 eh? So i guess W2 & W4 will be launched later.

Originally Posted by Y@SH View Post
The Steering Wheel revealed!
Looks like the black and plum combination from the Aria! I would prefer all black interiors.
I actually like the plum & black interiors, even in the Aria. Black/silver & beige/wooden is too passe now.
Old 26th September 2011, 22:34   #1508

Originally Posted by shortbread View Post
16-18 lacs is a lot more than anticipated, if the rumors are true. Perhaps these are the 4WD top end variants. If that is the case then theres more hope for 2WD less loaded variants in the 11-12 lac range. Wait and watch I guess!!
Looks like Mahindra is doing an Aria and launching the top models first. Which means that they'll have models beginning from the 11-12L range, and will be launched later to attract disappointed buyers. Don't understand the strategy, unless it is due to production constraints.

18L OTR for a vehicle comparable in size and (possibly) road-presence to the TFort seems like a good deal. Especially since the XUV500 should be loaded with more features.

Originally Posted by raj_5004 View Post
Similar to Xylo's E6 & E8 eh? So i guess W2 & W4 will be launched later.
Exactly, naming convention seems to be similar to the Xylo with W replacing the E (more up-market, since E equates to Economy to most ).

Last edited by VeluM : 26th September 2011 at 22:35.
Old 26th September 2011, 22:38   #1509

So Bangy figures of 18L OTR translates to 14L Ex Showroom for the top-end?? That looks good if its a 4WD top end variant. Worth the cash since its got the size & appeal [hopefully]. I cant wait !!!
Old 27th September 2011, 09:59   #1510

Originally Posted by VeluM View Post
Looks like Mahindra is doing an Aria and launching the top models first. Which means that they'll have models beginning from the 11-12L range, and will be launched later to attract disappointed buyers. Don't understand the strategy, unless it is due to production constraints.
I guess it is indeed a strategy. Get the interest in the vehicle built up for those who cannot reach the 18-19 lac range. Thus when the lower versions are launched, the guys who missed on the higher range suddenly start seeing an opportunity to own their dream vehicle at a much lower cost, albeit lower on features.

Well, in either case, it doesn't matter. Each company will work on some strategy to increase sales, I guess. I am really looking forward to this launch and if this vehicle is anywhere sub-15 levels with decent features then I am happy. Let's wait and watch.

And am looking forward to the official review on Team-BHP soon.
Old 27th September 2011, 10:21   #1511

They really love taking us for a ride, don't they.

I always suspected that their "UNLOCK THIS VIEW" thing was a sham for the simple reason. Would they actually reveal a teaser image before the launch? and lo and behold, after waiting and holding my breath for most of last week as the I saw the required numbers of UNLOCKS go down to just 5000 yesterday. Going by an average of about 10,000 unlocks since the day it came up, one would expect them to keep their end of the bargain and show a teaser image at least. But of course, The joke's on me (and I guess anybody else who expected that thing to work )

Always thought it was good marketing strategy but now,I just feel cheated.
Old 27th September 2011, 11:02   #1512

It is indeed a marketing gimmick. They will not reveal the picture before the launch, come what may. Even if we manage to get those 5000 clicks, There is no way we will get to see the car before launch. Couple of days back i clicked the button, but it remained at the same count as it was before i clicked the "like" button.

It is just to keep the interest level high. And even if there are less than 5000 clicks, They will reveal it on the day of launch.
Old 27th September 2011, 11:16   #1513

I hope there is live streaming of th launch on the website as I cannot watch TV in my office!
raj_5004 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 27th September 2011, 11:29   #1514

A day left for its launch,and there are no proper pics of it anywhere
I am really surprised at this.
Just hope that its worth it
Old 27th September 2011, 14:26   #1515

I do not know if you guyz have seen this, they have rendered few pics(atleast few interior pictures seems to be real though exterior are photoshop).

The all-new Mahindra XUV 500!

The all-new Mahindra XUV 500! - Rediff.com Business

Last edited by arun_kun : 27th September 2011 at 14:28.