Old 28th September 2011, 06:55   #1531

re: New Mahindra SUV for 2011 - Pics on Pg. 109 *UPDATE* XUV500 launched at 10.8 lakhs

The morning newspaper is a few minutes away, hoping to see a full page add or something for the launch
Old 28th September 2011, 07:13   #1532

re: New Mahindra SUV for 2011 - Pics on Pg. 109 *UPDATE* XUV500 launched at 10.8 lakhs

I guess puddle lamps serve the purpose of indicating the position of car or door. When you open the door, you always have the cabin lights which can light up the area where you are going to step out. Also there might be an option of a light on the bottom of the door [like Safari] to light up the area when you open a door.
Originally Posted by raj_5004 View Post
Its not a parking light, but a puddle lamp. When you unlock the car with remote, this light will glow thus showing you the area near the driver's & front passenger's door.
A puddle light :- When you unlock or open your door they illuminate the ground by your vehicle to warn of a puddle you might inadvertently step in.

Now if the Puddle light is on the ORVM, how will it throw light to area where you Ingress / egress. As the focus of the light when you open the door will be away from this area.

Hence i have no doubt that it is a Parking light rather than a Puddle Lamp, unless M&M have found a way for the light to pass the Door and light up the Ingress / egress area.

Originally Posted by sachinayak View Post
May seem like a dumb question, but what use would the puddle lamp be with the door closed? Wouldn't activation on door open make more sense than activation on lock/unlock?
Sachin, Thats why it has to be a parking light not a Puddle Light.
Old 28th September 2011, 07:49   #1533

e-paper Sign-in

New Mahindra SUV for 2011 - Pics on Pg. 109 *UPDATE* XUV500 launched at 10.8 lakhs-untitled.jpg

The car launch in 2 days !! cortesy times of india today

Last edited by geeash : 28th September 2011 at 07:51.
Old 28th September 2011, 08:19   #1534

Originally Posted by geeash View Post
The car launch in 2 days !! cortesy times of india today
I think the XUV500 would be launched today as per their website
Mahindra XUV500| Guess the Price contest | Win an XUV500

Venki
Old 28th September 2011, 08:47   #1535

May seem like a dumb question, but what use would the puddle lamp be with the door closed? Wouldn't activation on door open make more sense than activation on lock/unlock?
Hi Sachin,
Consider this, you have parked your car in a dark parking lot, in the rains and there is mud all around. When you press the unlock button from a distance, the puddle lamp will illuminate to show you the area around the driver's door so that you can see clearly and avoid the puddles (hence the name puddle lamp!).
It does have a usage, especially in dark conditions and currently only high end cars flaunt this feature, BMWs, Mercs, Laura L&K etc.
This is probably the first time that an Indian car will adopt this (however I think Aria may also have this, but am not sure!)

PS: News from Rushlane is that the launch is at 7:30 pm in Pune, so the details will be available only in the night. I hope that TBHP members and Mods are attending this launch and will be able to send live pics!

PS: Latest news from Steeroids.in - seems they have gotten a detailed preview!

"Mahindra wants to showcase that they are capable of manufacturing a PREMIUM SEGMENT SUV. The 12.8 BILLION $ company has taken the initiative of an image revamp in the automotive sector and the further the customer centric organization is taking the pain to revamp its after sales service and customer satisfaction is the top most priority. “MAHINDRA RISE”

The car is being said to be a CHEETAH inspired design, The stance that is ready to pounce and the grille is like its teeth apparently,but realistically its very similar to the Mitsubishi Outlander apart from front he grille and the bumper. The car will have every feature in the book available and in its rivals brochure along with some innovative features as well, To be powered by the 2.2ltr M-HAWK producing 140 bhp and 330nm torque the car will come with 4X2 and 4X4 gear box with 6speed manual, Its TRANSVERSELY mounted with primary power to the front wheels hence the cable linked shifter cutting down vibration in the gear lever

This has quite alot of things that are a Mahindra first. The chassis is monocoque design for superior comfort, the suspension is fully independent front and 5link rear independent. Projector headlamps with Static bending lamps that come on at a 45deg turn, Parking lights are LED DRL alike. The 4wd is coming with INTERACTIVE TORQUE MANAGEMENT interpreting that rear wheels are powered according to the need basis. Standard features list ABS,EBD,ESP with hill hold and hill decent control. All 4 disc brakes and 17″ ALLOYS with 235 Section rubber on them.

The door handles will be one of its kind for any car. Once you get in the car a 3D Design instrument panel will sweep and displays every warning light a driver will need. The steering wheel is comes with audio mounted controls and cruze activation and is 4way adjustable. The car comes with 3ROW seating with 3 row A/C with fully automatic climate control. The interior is twin tone and the leather seat also come with lumbar support.

7″ Color TFT INFOTAINMENT system come fully loaded along with GPS navigation from mapmyindia, DVD,MP3,RADIO,USB,IPOD,BLUETOOTH,6 speakers,Tyre pressure monitor, Reverse parking sensors. The system will also give you service alerts. Audio functions are also voice activated. Center arm rest comes with a CHILLER to keep the bottles cool, Also innovative lipstick holder has been provided to please the female customers, 3charging points are a key feature along with twin glove compartments. Unique introduction of “MOOD LIGHTING” the car has several places in the cabin lit up by leds to give the car the lounge feel also the brightness is controllable. Very innovative Camping light has been giving in the boot door and an umbrella holder in the front door pad drive side.Light and Rain sensors can control the headlamps and wipers. Follow me home and Lead me functions are also present in the car. The orvm’s are electric and fold automatically once the engine is shut.

The car looks exciting on papers waiting for further updates after the launch. Pricing is a rumor around 18lakhs for top variant the mileage is claimed to be 13kmpl in diesel by ARAI, So it has a mileage of a hatch,features of a sedan and the muscle of a SUV"

Behemoth

Last edited by Behemoth : 28th September 2011 at 09:16.
Behemoth is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 28th September 2011, 09:26   #1536

Looks like a trendsetter given all the features that would be available. Twin glove boxes, umbrella nook, mood lighting are some interesting touches.

Let's just hope that the pricing is decent. It would be interesting to know what options the base variant gets and if all the bells and whistles would be worth the additional money for the top end version.
Old 28th September 2011, 09:26   #1537

If you were to unlock your vehicle from a distance and a lamp illuminates the ground, you can avoid any puddles that you may step into (or, in our country, perhaps even animal droppings!). If you had to reach the door to turn on the puddle lamp, you would have already stepped into the puddle (or, God forbid, in that stuff that animals leave behind).
Old 28th September 2011, 10:28   #1538

That's actually on the door & does NOT activate till the door is open. The one on XUV 500 is on the OVRM & will activate mostly on vehicle lock / unlock.
I believe certain variants of Merlin got the puddle lamp integrated in OVRM.
Old 28th September 2011, 10:35   #1539

Isn't this something that the current generation Tata Safari has, right from the base version?? Saw it on the website Tata Safari
For that matter, even the scorpio has lights on the footsteps but those are not bright & hence not effective.

Safari's lights are on the inside of the door & is more effective when you are sitting inside & open the door. Its useless when you are walking towards your car to sit inside.

Behemoth has answered this perfectly. Check out this feature in Merc, BMWs, Lexus & Audis.

Originally Posted by rajchetan View Post
Sachin, Thats why it has to be a parking light not a Puddle Light.
Please understand that parking lights are amber in colour & blink whcih is used to indicate a car which is parked or stationary.

If you got us right, we are talking about the white coloured light below the ORVM.

I am particularly excited about these features:

1) 2.2 ltr mHawk with 140 bhp & 330 NM torque
2) Projector headlamps with static bending lamps
3) LED DRL alike parking lights
4) Hill hold
5) Hill descent Control
6) 3D design instrument panel
7) 4 way adjustable steering
8) 7" color TFT infotainment with GPS
9) DVD, MP3, Radio, USB, Ipod, Bluetooth, 6 speakers
10) Voice activated audio functions
11) Centre armrest with chiller to keep drinks cool
12) "MOOD" Lighting
13) LED lighting in cabin to give "lounge" feel with brightness control
14) Camping light on boot door
15) Umbrella holder in driver's door
16) Electric ORVMs with auto fold when engine is shut

Last edited by raj_5004 : 28th September 2011 at 10:53.
Old 28th September 2011, 10:47   #1540

Safari's lights are on the inside of the door & is more effective when you are sitting inside & open the door. Its useless when you are walking towards your car to sit inside.

Isnt this useful when you are getting out of the car?
How useful are the mirror mounted puddle lights in this regard? When you open the door, the mirror also turns along with the door.
Old 28th September 2011, 10:55   #1541

Originally Posted by zteg View Post
Isnt this useful when you are getting out of the car?
How useful are the mirror mounted puddle lights in this regard? When you open the door, the mirror also turns along with the door.
Please read Behemoth's post on why mirror mounted puddle lamps are useful -

Originally Posted by Behemoth View Post
Hi Sachin,
Consider this, you have parked your car in a dark parking lot, in the rains and there is mud all around. When you press the unlock button from a distance, the puddle lamp will illuminate to show you the area around the driver's door so that you can see clearly and avoid the puddles (hence the name puddle lamp!).
It does have a usage, especially in dark conditions and currently only high end cars flaunt this feature, BMWs, Mercs, Laura L&K etc.
This is probably the first time that an Indian car will adopt this (however I think Aria may also have this, but am not sure!)
Old 28th September 2011, 11:03   #1542

Please read Behemoth's post on why mirror mounted puddle lamps are useful -
Boss, I understand each and every word mentioned by Behemoth.

Consider this, It is raining heavily and pitch dark. You need to get out of your car. So is the mirror mounted light of any use here????
The mirror mounted and the door mounted lights has its own advantages and disadvantages.

Last edited by zteg : 28th September 2011 at 11:08.
Old 28th September 2011, 11:09   #1543

Beautifully written
Lets now see the pics when they arrive and Iam waiting for the vehicle to arrive at nearby dealer for a detailed look.
Looks like it will suck away and feast on the attention gained by Force 1 initially and then people would start comparing price per kg of feature rich metal offered, but we really needed this kind of competition in the mid premium SUV market

Note from the Team-BHP Support Staff: Kindly remove images from original post if quoting a reply. This causes inconvenience to the dial-up users.

Last edited by Rudra Sen : 28th September 2011 at 13:07.
Old 28th September 2011, 11:09   #1544

Originally Posted by Behemoth

Hi Sachin,
Agree that this is one scenario, and puddle lamps under the mirrors would be useful in this case. However this scenario is rather limited in frequency. In my experience it is more often that one would find puddle lamps useful when stepping out of the car at night, wherever one may have parked, because there may be puddles or other unmentionables that would not be seen if there is insufficient ambient lighting or a power cut.

Therefore I think the puddle lamps at the bottom of the doors are more useful, although I won't complain if both are present

Launch is being streamed at the car website, right?
Old 28th September 2011, 11:10   #1545

Originally Posted by zteg View Post
Consider this, It is raining heavily and pitch dark. You need to get out of your car. So is the mirror mounted light of any use here????
The mirror mounted and the door mounted lights has its own advantages and disadvantages.
Mirror mounted and door mounted puddle lamps are needed in different situations. Mirror mounted lamps are useful when you are approaching the car from outside and door lamps are useful when you are getting out of the car. I guess the XUV500 will have both.