Old 29th September 2011, 10:17   #1846

re: New Mahindra SUV for 2011 - Pics on Pg. 109 *UPDATE* XUV500 launched at 10.8 lakhs

Guys! I am not sure about you all, but I have been waiting for this car for very long. Agreed the design could have been better, but its not a disappointment. I will be booking this car as and when the bookings open, my pick would be AWD version. I think it will complete my garage which already has Cruze LTZ AT and Santro What say?
Old 29th September 2011, 10:18   #1847

re: New Mahindra SUV for 2011 - Pics on Pg. 109 *UPDATE* XUV500 launched at 10.8 lakhs

Starting at 10.8 lacs? Wow.. I really wish my boss gives me a sensible hike this october! oh god pls....... pls......

I think after letting my earlier night's feelings let go, XUV500 or "Predator" 500 seems to be a winner overall. The pricing has set it right. I can foresee more and more XUV500's "whoooshhhing" on the highways now. Politicos switching to XUV500 than scorpio. And yes, we can expect a lot more used Scorpios in the used-car market.
Old 29th September 2011, 10:19   #1848

WHAT superb PRICING! I guess Mahindra learnt a thing or two from the Aria's market failure, and is looking at more than just 200 - 300 units a month.

I guess these prices are ex-Delhi? The Aria 4x2 starts at 11.6L and goes up all the way 15.9 lakhs. Tata should learn from Honda. Cut the price and enjoy the resultant volumes.

The XUV500's pricing seems too good. It even overlaps with the top-end Mahindra Scorpio.
so GTO pls do a favour, pls elaborate a TD for Force vs XUV and tell me which one to give my cheque to before the beeline of customers goes a mile long I keep see sawing between the two - Force for sheer awesome endy at lower price and XUV for comparative strong mahindra A.S.S and reliability
Old 29th September 2011, 10:20   #1849

Originally Posted by needforspeed88 View Post
Count me in too .I think it looks imposing although the front bumper looks a little over done. I think pictures don't do justice to this beast . It has a very good stance and looks mean and masculine .
I agree. The launch yesterday started with the front view and all lights on. That was an amazing stance. I feel we are too caught up in the lines and flow of vehicles, we tend to miss the connection with the Cheetah which is the design inspiration.

Give it some time and this design will certainly grow on you.
Old 29th September 2011, 10:22   #1850

Perfect pricing.. It do justice to both XUV500 as well as tried and tested Scorpio. Now they can up the game in Scorpio also. But first with this price the XUV becomes an attractive proposition.

It can very well become the Bolero of City people. The way Bolero serves rural market this one will serve as a rugged horse for Urban market..

Test Drive time..
Old 29th September 2011, 10:24   #1851

Believe it or not, I had given 10.8L as ex-delhi in the contest along with Cheetah. I only failed to answer what 500 is. I thought its 500 rather than 5 oh oh and gave an answer like no of features including everything right from sensors to AWD

Excellent pricing from M&M and this really gonna impact Merlin like anything. I hope TATA would give it thought.
Old 29th September 2011, 10:25   #1852

Originally Posted by dinesha View Post
2 Version Launch
W6-Manual
W8-AWD

Ex-Delhi price
Price of XUV500 W8: Rs. 11.95 Lakhs
Price of XUV500 W6: 10.80 Lakhs
Oh my god what a Sensible pricing.
Definitely I'll buy XUV500 W8 by March 2012.
Whether they reduce the scorpio price to give way to XUV500.
Current Scorpio Ex-Showrrom price in Chennai.
VLX
BS4
2WD-HE1038700BS4
2WD-HE-Air Bag1059200BS4
4WD-HE1138600BS4
4WD-HE-Air Bag1157900
VLX AT
BS4
2WD-HE1121200BS4
2WD-HE-Air Bag1141500BS4
4WD-HE1219900BS4
4WD-HE-Air Bag1240200

Last edited by aks_karthik : 29th September 2011 at 10:26.
Old 29th September 2011, 10:26   #1853

Guys , this vehicle looks awesome in real and according to me pics just dont do justice to the actual stance of the vehicle! I have been fortunate to drive and test this beast and believe me this is not only the best handling Mahindra ever made, but also the best handling SUV ever made at this price!! Plus this vehicle has looks to die for!

See this vehicle in real , compare it to the competition (India & abroad) and you will know what iam talking about!
vinod_nookala is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 29th September 2011, 10:29   #1854
SRK

Great vehicle by Mahindra..

Exterior design is good but has too much going on in it.
Could have been a bit better if they had used some clean lines.
If I had a choice, I would choose the Aria only based on the exterior design (looks clean and classy)

Looking at the pics feel the last row space would be very limited. Size looks similar to Mitsubishi's Outlander.

Interior looks great, probably one of the best in the market today. Love the Dials.

Lights are really nice, they look futuristic.

By the way, Mahindra introduced the bunny tooth with the Xylo and now they have showcased a Bunny tail on the XUV.

Whatever we say, it is a good product and people will grown on the design after, these will sell in good number, which is quite possible considering the pricing that have been announced.

And as far as design changes are concerned I am waiting to see something from the Mahindra Customization team.
Hope they don't create something weird like the Blue Bolero they had done some time ago. Hoping to see a tricked out version at the AutoExpo.
Old 29th September 2011, 10:32   #1855

The pricing has been announced. Two versions as of now W6 and W8. The W8 with all features is priced at 11.95 lacs ex Delhi. The W6 version is around 10.8 lacs. These are promotional prices and will be valid for around 2 to 3 months.

The vehicle will be launched in south Africa tomm.

Whether the front end looks good or not is debatable, but with this pricing they have hit the bulls eye. I appreciate mahindra's sincere effort to keep it real and affordable.
Old 29th September 2011, 10:34   #1856

Originally Posted by rkbharat View Post
This is what zigwheels says
Pricing Ex-showroom Delhi -

Rs. 10.80 lakhs for W6 two-wheel drive
Rs. 11.95 lakhs for W8 two-wheel drive
[b]Rs.12.88 lakhs for W8 four wheel drive

[
For me, I forgive Mahindra for that horrendous grille, and the weird thingy on the rear hatch. Perfect pricing, IMHO.

BTW, the red vehicle on Autocar site doesn't look as bad as in other pictures elsewhere, or is it my ageing eyes?
Old 29th September 2011, 10:36   #1857

Yesterday's unveiling pretty much shot it down as a flop due to it's over-aggressive front. Today the pricing has tamed this drawback to an extent. Looks like they've left some margin for guys who don't like the looks - buy them and get a mod front bumper after market for ~50 grand. For all you know Mahindra might start selling a classy/simple bumper for all of us who don't like the current front bumper. It's surely a double whammy for them.
Old 29th September 2011, 10:38   #1858

ohh boy, amazing pricing by M&M. Hate it for that front design but love it for the price modify the front bumper and we have a great SUV at around 12L!

Eagerly waiting for the official review!
Old 29th September 2011, 10:39   #1859

Originally Posted by benbsb29 View Post
This is what i would have approved as the final design. Wonder why cohesiveness is always ignored by the M&M design team. After the ugly looks of the Xylo's front and outcry over it, one wold think they would do better. But, maybe they will never learn.

Attachment 817434
Absolutely, this is how it should've looked. With the addition of fog lamps, it should look even better.
Old 29th September 2011, 10:44   #1860

According to the press briefing, this pricing is introductory, and the prices might go up soon! So book it while the prices are low, guys.

@hormazdsorabjee: XUV pricing is introductory and may go up after 2-3 months!
https://twitter.com/#!/hormazdsorabj...74785002889216