Old 29th September 2011, 10:44   #1861

re: New Mahindra SUV for 2011 - Pics on Pg. 109 *UPDATE* XUV500 launched at 10.8 lakhs

Man!! This is the first time in my life I am drooling over a Mahindra vehicle. With that price tag, I will love to forget the exteriors and some of the interiors of XUV. Bad design but Exceptional pricing. This vehicle would do numbers, Mango people love Mahindra too much.
Old 29th September 2011, 10:45   #1862

re: New Mahindra SUV for 2011 - Pics on Pg. 109 *UPDATE* XUV500 launched at 10.8 lakhs

Originally Posted by schitre05 View Post
Two models W6 & W8
W6 ex-showroom price 10.80L
W8 ex-showroom Price 11.95L

Ex showroom Delhi according to the webcast
Cheers!!
Originally Posted by rajchetan View Post
Overall this is a great effort from M&M.

Feel Sad this will go the Aria way, if price anything above 12lac.
WOW! The pricing is on target, this is what i taught after seen the pics, and pleasantly surprised that Done justice to the people of INDIA.

TML you were sleeping well after yesterday photo show, must be tearing their Hair off. Could we see a price correction on the ARIA shortly.
The pricing of XUV put its right against the Safari, so the 1000units/month for Safari are under danger now. Could we see a sharp fall in numbers for Safari and Aria. I guys yes.
Old 29th September 2011, 10:46   #1863

Originally Posted by dinesha View Post
Live telecast of press conference on XUV5OO between 9-11AM at:
Mahindra XUV500 | Mahindra XUV site
The above link shows error, found the below link working and the webcast has not begun yet

Mahindra XUV500 Launch : Live Webcast : Powered by : 24 Frames Digital
Old 29th September 2011, 10:46   #1864

What were they thinking!! The front end looks like it has come off a design study rather a production ready car. Some one way up in Mahindra who approved this design has a very bad taste.

I liked the rear, especially in white. Looks butch. The side stance is also good. Good leg room in the second row. The interiors also looks good.

All right they, have a third row seat, now where is the leg room!!

Ah man, the front end still haunts me. Don't know why, the first thing which came to my mind when I saw it was Pontiac Aztek (I still don't understand how that car came to production).
Old 29th September 2011, 10:47   #1865

The front view isn't that good, but I think I'm the only one who actually likes the overall look of XUV500. Atleast compared to the Scorpio and Bolero. The side gives it a nice montero kinda look. Don't kill me please for saying that :-)
Old 29th September 2011, 10:49   #1866

I am thrilled
Bangy OTR ~13 for Base is what im dreaming all these days . Any idea the features missing in w6 compared to w8?
Does this means Merlin will surely be under 10 -11 lacs ? what will happend to current Dicor and scorpio price ?
Lot of questions , especially for a budget SUV looker.
Old 29th September 2011, 10:51   #1867

Originally Posted by vinod_nookala View Post
Guys , this vehicle looks awesome in real and according to me pics just dont do justice to the actual stance of the vehicle!
Thanks Vinod for your inputs. I had an almost same feeling after seeing the reactions from many auto netizens out here, that the pictures do not to justice to the road presence of this vehicle.

Overall the XUV (Would rather like to call it a MUV, Mahindra Utility Vehicle), gives an indication that the Indian auto designers have arrived at the international scene. None of the vehicles designed by the Indian manufacturers (TATA and Mahindra) had this appeal to stand against the competition.

This is a marked change in the right direction towards automotive design in India ... (although I do admit that the overstyled front wouldn't have too many buyers, but the overall shape and stance of the vehicle is upto the competition)

Specially with the pricing and the type of interiors this vehicle promises, I am an aspirant. After owning 3 cars, I think it is time to "swap my ride" for one of these beasts.
Old 29th September 2011, 10:51   #1868

Originally Posted by sharninder View Post
The front view isn't that good, but I think I'm the only one who actually likes the overall look of XUV500. Atleast compared to the Scorpio and Bolero. The side gives it a nice montero kinda look. Don't kill me please for saying that :-)
You are not the only one mate. IMO the overall looks are better compared with Scorpio and Bolero, especially the side profile.
Old 29th September 2011, 10:52   #1869

This will be another winner for Mahindra after the Scorpio. Finally Innovas are going to feel the heat, though a different segment. Seems to be super quality, and if it lives upto expectations, then there is nothing to beat this! Looks are bound to grow on you if the package has value. Just that I felt the dash color was a bit disappointing, atleast from pictures. Maybe it looks great in real.
Old 29th September 2011, 10:52   #1870

Killer pricing I must say.
So the 10.8L ex showroom for manual transmission is for the AWD version, right?
If so, then Tata is going to have a tough time selling the Merlin.
It will be history repeats itself kind of thing.
Scorpio whips the safari in terms of sales/month, and this will whip the Aria and Merlin.
Old 29th September 2011, 10:58   #1871

It's 2wd. Other variant priced at 11.95 is also 2wd.

Going by the guesstimates doing round here I thought base variant will be minimum 12L+, but beating it 1.2L is a real surprise. I was on the way to office and dealer called me to inform the price, I just didn't believe him and asked him to check the price again.
Hope the base version doesn't look like Leyland truck out of the factory...
Old 29th September 2011, 10:58   #1872

If so, then Tata is going to have a tough time selling the Merlin.
It will be history repeats itself kind of thing.
Scorpio whips the safari in terms of sales/month, and this will whip the Aria and Merlin.
I dont think so tanveer,10.8 is for W6 FWD version
AWD W8 is 12.88 Ex showroom.
Old 29th September 2011, 10:59   #1873

:O I take back everything bad I said about the exterior. Mahinidra bribed me with the pricing!
Killer pricing! This is gonna sell like hot cakes, I am pretty sure!
You watching Tata? oh and Ford too!
Old 29th September 2011, 10:59   #1874

Great pricing for the features it offers! Mahindra has a winner in its hands.

A good approach to pricing by the Mahindra, something that people at Tatas' need to learn.

Definitely it will outsell most vehicles (Aria in particular) and might go on to beome the Bolero of the 10+L segment vehicles.
Old 29th September 2011, 11:00   #1875

Originally Posted by agbenny View Post
//Umbrella holder in driver's door

I read somewhere the Bentleys got this feature. ;-)
And also the Superb.

Last edited by .anshuman : 29th September 2011 at 11:19. Reason: Quote tags fixed. Thanks