Old 29th September 2011, 11:15   #1891

re: New Mahindra SUV for 2011 - Pics on Pg. 109 *UPDATE* XUV500 launched at 10.8 lakhs

I just went through all posts from Page 112 and people who were just bashing M&M for XUV5OO wild boar look and now saying WOWW

Their view changed in less than 12 Hrs!!

But the pricing of XUV5OO is actually WOW..They have actually done maket research in pricing their product. M&M does not have that snob value where customer will pay 16-18lac for their product and they learnt that in ARIAAA way..

This product is definitely the Value for Money. I would love to have it in my garage at that price..
<Badguy> is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 29th September 2011, 11:17   #1892

re: New Mahindra SUV for 2011 - Pics on Pg. 109 *UPDATE* XUV500 launched at 10.8 lakhs

I Agree Badguy ... but dose anyone confirm this price tag ?
Old 29th September 2011, 11:20   #1893
NIP

Well...the front is actually ok...I never thought it was THAT odd...but the orang-outan bum could have been done away with. But at this price, this is one amazing VFM SU..er..XUV !!
Old 29th September 2011, 11:21   #1894

I heard that W6 base variant comes with ABS, Dual Airbags & a ok audio and w8 with ABS, 6AB, GPS navigation and a very good audio system....

Can someone confirm?
Old 29th September 2011, 11:24   #1895

So, the pricing closed all of our mouths about the comments about the vehicle front design and interiors. If it doesn't have all those niggling quality issues of the Scorpio (after a period of 1 yr wait and watch), I would move do this one.

If a Scorpio or a Safari owner wants to jump up to another SUV, The closer product would be Endeavour, almost were 8-10 Lakhs upward. Now we have a product that fills up the void.

I am still wondering why a Maruthi or a Hyundai was never serious about this segment, Even Toyota doesn't seem to have any plan to reap up this segment, we have fans of SUV with a decent budget in India.

I wish M&M all success with this product. My only request is to rethink about the front bumper design, which is going away inconsistently, and someone compared it to the Predator design (that reminds me the Walrus teeth for Scorpio). :-)

Question to M&M: Scorpio came up with several small and good revisions that gave a punch always with the sales, and Is the Xylo department never thought about it? It certainly needs a face lift. Is it in the cords?

Last edited by agbenny : 29th September 2011 at 11:26.
Old 29th September 2011, 11:26   #1896

Excellent pricing Mahindra!! With this kind of pricing, most of us would be willing to ignore the overdone styling touches(can be corrected to an extent). More than Space or Equipment, i am curious to know about the dynamics of this vehicle. I am sure the excellent m-hawk engine in a superior state of tune won't disappoint us, now only if they strike a good balance between Ride and Handling they have a winner in their hands.

When is the Automatic version coming out? Any details on AWD system, will it come with Low range?

Last edited by .anshuman : 29th September 2011 at 11:27.
Old 29th September 2011, 11:28   #1897

Tata will probably announce that they are scrapping the Merlin.. Kudos to Mahindra for such a pricing.
Heard that the XUV will be offered in 8 colour options and this initial offering will be available only in the metros. Is it true ?
Old 29th September 2011, 11:29   #1898

Specs
Engine mHawk140, Direct injection diesel engine5th generation Variable Geometry Turbocharger (VGT) Cubic Capacity 2179 cc Max Gross Power 140 Bhp(103kW) @ 3750 rpm Max Gross Torque 330 Nm @1600-2800rpm Gear Box 6 speed synchromesh manual Tyres P235/65 R17, Radial Tubeless Suspension Independent Suspension Front McPherson type with anti-roll bar Rear Multilink type with anti-roll bar Brakes All Disc brakes Front Disk & Caliper type Rear Disk & Caliper type Fuel Tank Capacity 70 Litres Turning Circle Radius 5.6 m Gross Vehicle Weight 2450 Kg Vehicle Dimensions Wheelbase, mm 2700 Overall width, mm 1890 Overall length, mm 4585 Overall height, mm 1785
msinghal80 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 29th September 2011, 11:29   #1899

Tata will probably announce that they are scrapping the Merlin..
Kudos to Mahindra for such a pricing.
Heard that the XUV will be offered in 8 colour options and this initial offering will be available only in the metros. Is it true ?
Old 29th September 2011, 11:31   #1900

Pricing is spot on but Mahindra could have done much better job with the front bumper, rear hatch, air con vents and could have avoided 'hump' between B and C pillar.

God knows who approved the front bumper design

Straight entry to weird & Wacky thread!!
Old 29th September 2011, 11:31   #1901

Excellent pricing by Mahindra. XUV 500 is going to give sleepless nights to Toyota Fortuner and TATA Aria.
Old 29th September 2011, 11:32   #1902

Originally Posted by .anshuman View Post
More than Space or Equipment, i am curious to know about the dynamics of this vehicle....

... if they strike a good balance between Ride and Handling they have a winner in their hands.
Check out this reply from Vinod....

Originally Posted by vinod_nookala View Post
I have been fortunate to drive and test this beast and believe me this is not only the best handling Mahindra ever made, but also the best handling SUV ever made at this price!! Plus this vehicle has looks to die for!
Old 29th September 2011, 11:33   #1903

This thread is testimony to the fact we Indians are suckers for reasonable pricing, everything else be damned

I haven't seen the vehicle in person, so I can only comment on what the pics show. M&M went overboard with the bling everywhere, and the car looks the automobile equivalent of starting with an Armani and 'tapori'-fying it
Old 29th September 2011, 11:35   #1904

The official site is up with the specs. The dimensions - length 4585, width 1890 mm - are compact than Aria and Safari. They have not mentioned the kerb weight but the gross weight is 2450 kg (again less than Aria). Safety features in all models and very well equipped.
On the downside, the wheelbase is less when compared to Aria.

Last edited by cediafan : 29th September 2011 at 11:41.
Old 29th September 2011, 11:35   #1905

Wonderful pricing... must say that the price enough to blow away, any Aria, Marlin, Safari, GV, Captiva, Endy & even the top models of Scorpio. It will ensure that the production facilities at M&M will work overtime now.

Hope the revision of prices (since these are introductory prices) does not prove to be a dampener for enthusiasts.

Mr. Anand Mahindra do us a favour again after few months.

I only found the frond end (including headlights) quirky rest is acceptable to good to my eyes. A good bull guard & few decals can surely take care of the front looks.

The interiors look good in black & plum combination & Silver (+Grey) are my fav shades.

Few questions:
Any idea on the dimensions....; &
Mods, when are we going to have the TBHP detailed report on this?

PS : I will definitely stretch my budget for this one