Old 29th September 2011, 12:39   #1936

re: New Mahindra SUV for 2011 - Pics on Pg. 109 *UPDATE* XUV500 launched at 10.8 lakhs

Originally Posted by HappyRoadie View Post
And yes Merlin should be also be priced similarly or else I think it will not be a hit.
Merlin cant afford to be priced similar, instead they require to be priced lower and the Higher end being around 11.5Lac max to fight for its survival.
Old 29th September 2011, 12:42   #1937

re: New Mahindra SUV for 2011 - Pics on Pg. 109 *UPDATE* XUV500 launched at 10.8 lakhs

The prices provided are of Delhi isnt it? It will vary from city to city. Wonder whats the cost in Mumbai and Pune.

The features are excellent. It includes a laptop holder too on the dashboard And as Sam Kapasi would say, its got a umbrella holder too! Paisa wasool!!!

Last edited by _raVan_ : 29th September 2011 at 12:47.
Old 29th September 2011, 12:44   #1938

People who have bought scorpio's recently in last 4-6 months would feel like a near miss , even am tempted to sell my 8 mnth old car and upgrade just for the safety aspects like dual front airbags,abs with ebd , all disc brakes , better driving dynamics bcos of mono chasis , auto a/c , full folding seats all these for around 2lac more than what i paid ex-showroom for my SLE is definitely VFM .

Way to go M&M. Wish they could have priced Thar better.
Old 29th September 2011, 12:48   #1939

Killer Pricing! I called my local dealership to trade in my 4month old Scorpio VLX. The dealers haven't started bookings for the XUV nor do they know the local prices for it. They will get the prices and demo vehicles starting tomorrow I'm told. I really regret paying 11.3l for my Scorpio VLX now!
Old 29th September 2011, 12:48   #1940

I'm left amazed by the fantastic pricing strategy. Remember that Mahindra is to the UV segment what Maruti is to hatchbacks; it's the absolute king & Mahindra has once again demonstrated their deep understanding of the UV space. Previously, the only option for someone to upgrade from a Scorpio / Safari was the 17 - 20 lakh segment (Fortuner, Aria, Endeavour and gang). The XUV 500 (atleast on paper, will wait till our review is up) appears to offer a lot more for not much more money. Plus, remember, unlike other UVs, it is a PROPER monocoque. These are termed soft UVs and generally have superior ride & handling, as opposed to body-on-frames like the Endeavour or Fortuner (as an example).

Originally Posted by heman_369 View Post
GTO and Mods : when we can expect a review?
Soon. We need to spend atleast a full day with the XUV500 to properly understand it.
GTO is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 29th September 2011, 12:51   #1941

What's that in the circled bit in the picture below? Is it some paint or something else on the road? Or some sunlight peeping out? If yes, from where?

New Mahindra SUV for 2011 - Pics on Pg. 109 *UPDATE* XUV500 launched at 10.8 lakhs-311038_266537953380497_100000728839436_932549_1330310007_n.jpg

Edit:
Originally Posted by dinu2506 View Post
Could be condensed water from the AC.
Could be, but it looks like a bright circle, too bright to be just water.

Last edited by StarrySky : 29th September 2011 at 13:02.
Old 29th September 2011, 12:56   #1942

If they had some good exterior designers they could have removed that excess cheetah features and saved some dev/matl cost; and reduce the price even further! :-)
Old 29th September 2011, 12:57   #1943

Originally Posted by StarrySky View Post
What's that in the circled bit in the picture below? Is it some paint or something else on the road? Or some sunlight peeping out? If yes, from where?
Could be condensed water from the AC.
dinu2506 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 29th September 2011, 12:57   #1944

# compared to innova, top end XUV (W8 2WD) is cheaper than Innova VX even with all those features!

# compared to Aria, XUV W8 2WD is cheaper to Aria top end 2WD by 2 lacs & XUV W8 4WD is cheaper to Aria AWD top end by an astounding 4 lacs!!!
Old 29th September 2011, 12:59   #1945

I just picked up the October issue of the ACI. It has a rendering of the XUV 500 among the 'to be' launched cars. It is amazing how closely they had got it. In fact it looks better then the actual car (without the quirky bits)
Old 29th September 2011, 13:05   #1946

Real value for money

Front looks aggresive & good side profiles

I do not like the rear and to me looks cheap Chinese/Korean.

I know looks are very subjective
Old 29th September 2011, 13:06   #1947

Originally Posted by raj_5004 View Post
# compared to innova, top end XUV (W8 2WD) is cheaper than Innova VX even with all those features!

# compared to Aria, XUV W8 2WD is cheaper to Aria top end 2WD by 2 lacs & XUV W8 4WD is cheaper to Aria AWD top end by an astounding 4 lacs!!!
I think it would be helpful if we can compare the features list of the top end of 2WD and 4WD. It might help many in understanding exactly how much wrong TATA were.
Old 29th September 2011, 13:06   #1948

With this pricing it rings a death knell to many cars above and below in this segment. I think the Scorpio will go further down market and the people going for the top end Scorpio will opt for the XUV.
Old 29th September 2011, 13:17   #1949

What a pricing. This seems to straightaway come out of Arny movie, killing all right from own Scorpio, Safari, Merlin, Innova, Force One and classier looking Aria. The butch takes them all at one shot (in various variants). Waw! I doubt it will affect Endys and TForts. As said earlier, just wish they had not made the rear so Xyloish.

Did anybody see this fab color?

New Mahindra SUV for 2011 - Pics on Pg. 109 *UPDATE* XUV500 launched at 10.8 lakhs-mahindra-xuv500-purplesoil.png

Last edited by parsh : 29th September 2011 at 13:21.
Old 29th September 2011, 13:18   #1950

Originally Posted by NIP View Post
Well...the front is actually ok...I never thought it was THAT odd...but the orang-outan bum could have been done away with. But at this price, this is one amazing VFM SU..er..XUV !!
I was simply and the half of the office cubicle around me was looking at me with a surprised look! Been months, since I laughed like this .. and replying with still-watery eyes.