Old 29th September 2011, 15:46   #2011

Re: New Mahindra SUV for 2011 - Pics on Pg. 112 *UPDATE* XUV500 launched at 10.8 lakh

Originally Posted by cool_dube View Post
I guess W6 is manual transmission and W8 is auto transmission, correct? If yes, looks like we do not have a 4WD variant in manual transmission which will be missed, I am sure.

Another query - I believe the third variant is a AWD and not a (part time) 4WD, which means low range will not be there. Is that correct?
Hi, there's nothing much to guess since most of the information is available in Mahindra XUV500 | Price, Review, Videos, Test Drive, Photos and Specifications | Latest SUV in India

W6 - 6 speed manual.
W8- will have 2wd/awd, there's no info about auto tranny.
Old 29th September 2011, 15:47   #2012

Re: New Mahindra SUV for 2011 - Pics on Pg. 112 *UPDATE* XUV500 launched at 10.8 lakh

Excellent pricing, I would say. There are certain quirks, for e.g. saw that the windshield wiper (front LH), looks so similar to the one in logan. The much discussed odd joints. pic attached courtesy zigwheels.
New Mahindra SUV for 2011 - Pics on Pg. 109 *UPDATE* XUV500 launched at 10.8 lakhs-mahindraphotofeat_10_560x420.jpg  

Old 29th September 2011, 15:48   #2013

Man, I was spot on on the contest I guess. I put it at 11,95,000 Ex-show room. That's M&M for you. That is really master stroke to gate-crash the market like this. As all here opined, the thing has to be stripped down by none other than our Team-bhp expert(s) to really know if this is just another 'glittering Soap Box' or it makes real SUV sense.
Old 29th September 2011, 15:48   #2014

Originally Posted by akhilesh View Post
I am sorry but the looks are plain disgusting. It gives a whole new meaning to being "over the top". It seems that they just couldn't stop designing, a line here, a crease there and then some more and even more.
Secondly, not many manufacturers around the world are able to do a monocoque SUV, they are mostly soft roaders. Remember this is first monocoque entirely from Mahindra so I have my doubts on the longevity, stiffness of the chassis.
Not too impressed with the pricing too - at 12.88 Lakhs Ex Delhi for the top end all wheel drive variant is expensive. If this is VFM pricing, Aria in my mind is priced well too.
Monocoque vehicles do not have chassis .. being a spaceframe doesnt means that the vehicle will disintegrate within some years of usage.. the webcast had shown the agencies / consultants with whom Mahindra has tied up for the development of this vehicle, and the names were some of the best in the auto industry..
As far as the creases and the styling lines are considered, these are the renditions of a running cheetah..
pricing , design , grill etc.etc. love it or hate it.. but take my word , when u sit behind that steering , all ur inhibitions will be flushed out.. i am lucky enough to have an early experience of the beast and it is nothing but a Wow !!
Old 29th September 2011, 15:52   #2015

XUV500 Pics

Originally Posted by BurningHeart View Post
Found this on the Zigwheels

I just turned artistic. Has anyone got a close-up?

BH.
Hi Burning Heart,

An image of the Tail lamp for you showing the Tribal Motif!New Mahindra SUV for 2011 - Pics on Pg. 109 *UPDATE* XUV500 launched at 10.8 lakhs-xuv5001_cr.jpg

(Picture courtesy Shrawan of IAB).
He has posted a very nice set of pics on Flickr on the link below.
IMG_5689 | Flickr - Photo Sharing!

Behemoth
Behemoth is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 29th September 2011, 15:55   #2016

I have always been a Safari admirer (Tata), however Mahindra has earned my respect for taking this bold step... Such a pricing without compromising on the SAFETY features only shows that Mahindra has kept the Indian customer at par with Global customers !!!

Kudos to Mahindra & Mahindra and eagerly look forward to the initial test drive reports form the Team-bhp veterans. Hope this turns out to be the SUV i have been waiting to possess !
Old 29th September 2011, 16:00   #2017

Originally Posted by _raVan_ View Post
What is the tyre size of it? And where are the rear ac vents? On the roof?

*EDIT* Got the tyre size: P235/65 R17, Radial Tubeless

Anyone on the ac vents?

How cud someone miss those church window vents ?? Rear vents are on the pillars.
Old 29th September 2011, 16:01   #2018

Really ? You might need to do some background work before claiming the price is ridiculous ! This car at almost 2-3L lesser offers better / more features than Aria!
Did I said its ridiculous? I merely said its expensive in MY OPINION. I still don't like what I see of XUV 500. There is no language or sense to the design... its merely a mish mash of a million curves thrown around carelessly.

Last edited by GTO : 30th September 2011 at 16:34. Reason: Do NOT post in a RUDE manner, especially when addressing other BHPians
Old 29th September 2011, 16:02   #2019

Re: XUV500 Pics

Originally Posted by Behemoth View Post
Hi Burning Heart,

An image of the Tail lamp for you showing the Tribal Motif!Attachment 817787
What are those slots just above the tail lamps?
Old 29th September 2011, 16:02   #2020

Just read the reviews on zigwheels. I am shocked to say the least. More than eagerly waiting for the tbhp review of it.
On paper, looks a hulk. More than features, its the interior color combinations that is mind numbing. It will not only eat up 10-15L SUV bracket but even the C and C+ segments if all thats written comes out true.
Funnily its a case of sleepless nights for competitors as well as potential customers
Old 29th September 2011, 16:13   #2021

Just WOW! Except some exterior bits that i find bad, the car is fully loaded even the Entry Varient! I am just attracted to this car now! 11L for this is a steal, especially with the features included in the base varient! Now who all were thinking about buying the Force one? LOL!

Originally Posted by rahul_sinha View Post
Just read the reviews on zigwheels. I am shocked to say the least. More than eagerly waiting for the tbhp review of it.
On paper, looks a hulk. More than features, its the interior color combinations that is mind numbing. It will not only eat up 10-15L SUV bracket but even the C and C+ segments if all thats written comes out true.
Funnily its a case of sleepless nights for competitors as well as potential customers
Agree completely!
But What interior color combinations?

Note from the Team-BHP Support Team: Please use the "edit" button if posting within 30 minutes of the first post, instead of creating another back-to-back post.

Last edited by .anshuman : 29th September 2011 at 20:21. Reason: Back to Back post within 30mins, Please use Multi-quote button when quoting more than one post. Thanks
Old 29th September 2011, 16:16   #2022

You need to keep your fanboyism in check. Did I said its ridiculous? I merely said its expensive in MY OPINION. I still don't like what I see of XUV 500. There is no language or sense to the design... its merely a mish mash of a million curves thrown around carelessly.
I respect your opinion, but just want to understand, if you are talking about the looks or the VFM pricing ?

In the previous post, you had mentioned about VFM and now about looks...??
Old 29th September 2011, 16:17   #2023

You need to keep your fanboyism in check. Did I said its ridiculous? I merely said its expensive in MY OPINION. I still don't like what I see of XUV 500. There is no language or sense to the design... its merely a mish mash of a million curves thrown around carelessly.
He wasnt sounding like a fan boy,but you for sure are sounding like a Aria Fanboy..
12.88 Ex-showroom for W8 AWD,seems overpriced to you,can you please elaborate?
Old 29th September 2011, 16:25   #2024

And what would be the correct price as per you Sir?

Would 8 Lakhs be OK for a car with ABS/AIRBAG et al or do you want it further lower?

May be on that yardstick Safari should be 5 Lakhs and Fortuner 10 Lakhs.

What say?

Originally Posted by vinjosep View Post
Excellent pricing, I would say. There are certain quirks, for e.g. saw that the windshield wiper (front LH), looks so similar to the one in logan. The much discussed odd joints. pic attached courtesy zigwheels.
That's to accomodate shift to LHD without changing many components.

Last edited by MileCruncher : 29th September 2011 at 16:27.
Old 29th September 2011, 16:31   #2025

New Delhi On-Road Price Quote W6

Ex-Showroom New Delhi10,80,000(A)RTO1,20,000(B)Insurance42,533(C)O n Road Price12,42,533(E=A+B+C-D

On-Road Price Quote W8

Ex-Showroom New Delhi11,95,000(A)RTO1,31,500(B)Insurance46,751(C)O n Road Price13,73,251(E=A+B+C-D)

On-Road Price Quote W8 AWD

Ex-Showroom New Delhi12,88,000(A)RTO1,40,800(B)Insurance50,162(C)O n Road Price14,78,962(E=A+B+C-D)

source Car Wale
Mark my words , you wont find it at this price even 6 months down the line. Its like dream come true .
One year from now you may even see this touching 16.5 - 17 Lac.