Old 30th September 2011, 10:11   #2146

Re: New Mahindra SUV for 2011 - Pics on Pg. 109 *UPDATE* XUV500 launched at 10.8 lakh

I like the fact that the 2nd and 3rd row seats fold completely flat and that the back of the seats are made of the same durable fabric that covers the boot (it seems so from the pictures). There is a lot of useful space to carry luggage or for the odd time you have to move some furniture.

This is a first for M&M and a much improved design over the Scorpio and Xylo.
Old 30th September 2011, 10:14   #2147

Re: New Mahindra SUV for 2011 - Pics on Pg. 112 *UPDATE* XUV500 launched at 10.8 lakh

Originally Posted by kedarwalke View Post
I just saw the video review on Utv bloomberg and must admit that the XUV looks really attractive.
Can you please post the link? I was not able to google it out.
Old 30th September 2011, 10:15   #2148

Re: New Mahindra SUV for 2011 - Pics on Pg. 109 *UPDATE* XUV500 launched at 10.8 lakh

I had actually posted this info before.

Chennai Price is about 15.3 on road.
Bangalore will be around 15.5 on road or 15.6 - Top end version.
Guess the top end will cross 16. Just checked the price of cruze in bangalore. 12l cruze in bangalore costs ard 15.3 onroad.
W8 AWD might cost ard 13.5 ex in bangalore..So it may go well above 16.
Old 30th September 2011, 10:17   #2149

Road taxes in Bangalore for this level of vehicle are 18.67%

Originally Posted by 2500cc View Post
Prices will be out by 1PM today. Ex showroom prices may be in the range of 50-60K but wht hurts the most is the Road tax, in delhi it is 7% and in Bangalore it is 15%
still acceptable in my opinion

Originally Posted by zteg View Post
Guess the top end will cross 16. Just checked the price of cruze in bangalore. 12l cruze in bangalore costs ard 15.3 onroad.
W8 AWD might cost ard 13.5 ex in bangalore..So it may go well above 16.

Last edited by Vid6639 : 30th September 2011 at 10:51. Reason: merging posts
Old 30th September 2011, 10:23   #2150

Guys, Cost of ownership has just gone up from today in Delhi. Delhi government has rasied the registration tax on diesel vehicles by 25 % on the existing registration rate from Thursday.
Please add another 30-35K to arrive at the on-road price.
XUV5OO will entail a registration charges of 12.5%.

Cough up more for diesel cars (in Delhi) now - The Times of India

Last edited by dinesha : 30th September 2011 at 10:25.
Old 30th September 2011, 10:25   #2151

Any confirmation on 205 mm ground clearance? not that it matters much. I am already tempted to sell my 2 year old scorpio :-) Any details on the 'attractive' exchange offer would help.
Old 30th September 2011, 10:29   #2152

Originally Posted by 2500cc View Post
Cool, but if i get a good offer, I wouldn't even TD it coz:

1. Same Scorpio mHawk engine with different tune
2. Monocoque chasis am sure offers a better ride and handling dynamics
3. All Disks & ABS are from Scorpio (Guess)
4. Loads of bells and whistles (these are actually bonus for me)

And above all it is M&M, brand loyalty Eh... ?

Dude!! If I'm not mistaken, you got your Scorpio SLE only in June this year, right? Got bored so soon?

Back on topic - Hope that M&M dealers in other cities follow the dealers in Bangalore in offering decent prices if a Scorp owner is interested in upgrading to a XUV500.

Vikram
Old 30th September 2011, 10:37   #2153

A fairly unbiased review.
Mahindra XUV 500 – Review | Photos & SlideShows | Vicky.in

• However the crude plastics and levers (parking lever, inside door handle) spoils the party.
  • Slot in the gears, dab the throttle to the floor, XUV 500 motor is electronically limited to 4800rpm. As typical of any Mahindra, all you get is the brute force it never lets you down. Refinement may not be upto the international standards but the thrill is there to excite youWe managed to hit upto 125kmph at the chakan track and the XUV 500 moved like a breeze without any strain.
  • 3rd row is not an adult seat but it is not only a child seat either. The drawback is second row seat lacks the rail which means you can’t give extra space to third row passenger.
  • we found during hard braking the mean machine sways to-and-fro like in the Scorpio
  • XUV 500 = rugged exterior of Scorpio + comfort and convenience of Xylo.Mahindra has also priced it very aggressively. The minor sore points are the plastic quality and fit and finish. Also it is only marginally better than Scorpio in handling and refinement, lots of room still exist to cover.
Old 30th September 2011, 10:40   #2154

Originally Posted by comfortablynumb View Post

Dude!! If I'm not mistaken, you got your Scorpio SLE only in June this year, right? Got bored so soon?

Back on topic - Hope that M&M dealers in other cities follow the dealers in Bangalore in offering decent prices if a Scorp owner is interested in upgrading to a XUV500.

Vikram
Am certainly not bored, but Kya karoon yaar, control nahi ho raha hai . This is so tempting tht my heart is drooling like a waterfalls
Old 30th September 2011, 10:44   #2155

a 2700 wheel base is a welcome and looking at the height of the vehicle should handle better than Scorpio. Need to also look at the rear suspension. a 6 speed MT is new for Mahidra. Is it M&M's in house design or has it been bought? The pricing is attractive, the 2 WD W8 will be be most selling in my view.

Any idea when the TD's start?
Old 30th September 2011, 10:52   #2156

Originally Posted by dinesha View Post
Guys, Cost of ownership has just gone up from today in Delhi. Delhi government has rasied the registration tax on diesel vehicles by 25 % on the existing registration rate from Thursday.
Please add another 30-35K to arrive at the on-road price.
XUV5OO will entail a registration charges of 12.5%.

Cough up more for diesel cars (in Delhi) now - The Times of India
This is a bit OT. But, it would be applicable all across, to all Diesel cars and variants so that is something somebody buying a car from Delhi will have to anyway bear. As is speculated, people buying from outside of Delhi in Gurgaon/Noida etc and drive in Delhi will only increase.
Old 30th September 2011, 10:56   #2157

Just noticed that the beast comes with the option of Beige interiors as well. I think its good, somehow am not a fan of that Plum shade, feels like sitting in a fruit cart
Old 30th September 2011, 11:04   #2158
An1

With a nice packaging..very well put together interiors (especially the centre console) and the killer pricing..my hunch is that even higher segment SUV's including the T-Fort are going to feel the pinch from XUV500.

There was no really stylish SUV below Captiva / Outlander / Fortuner.
XUV500 changes all that.. I just wish they give XUV500 a better streamlined bumper and better door handles in the near future.

BTW saw a Red XUV in Chnakayapuri area today morning on the way to office.. The car does have road presence.
Old 30th September 2011, 11:07   #2159

I am surprised with the pricing strategy of Mahindra.
On one side they have the bare bones thar,that doesnt even have an AC for 6L ex showroom,and they have the XUV,a totally modern platform,with a better engine,all bells and whistles for 10.8L
akshay4587 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 30th September 2011, 11:11   #2160

Originally Posted by akshay4587 View Post
I am surprised with the pricing strategy of Mahindra.
On one side they have the bare bones thar,that doesnt even have an AC for 6L ex showroom,and they have the XUV,a totally modern platform,with a better engine,all bells and whistles for 10.8L
Thar is a niche vehicle and hence priced accordingly. XUV is not - Mahindra must expect XUV to do good volumes so pricing reflects that