Old 30th September 2011, 19:29   #2266

Re: New Mahindra SUV for 2011 - Pics on Pg. 109 *UPDATE* XUV500 launched at 10.8 lakh

Originally Posted by cediafan View Post
Congratulations on your purchase. This car seems to be generating an awesome response. At least 3 people in my company are trying to find out more about the exchange scheme for their Scorpio.

I hope M&M does'nt make the mistake of raising prices because then the VFM value will go down considerably. I think Aria has done a good job of opening up crossover segment but Mahindras have stolen their thunder, and how!!
I have a feeling they would do some trick with the price, like the standard package /accessories fragment of price is not displayed on crude price list and they might disclose it at time of confirming booking.
Has anyone received a call BTW from them as claimed in 48 hrs?
Old 30th September 2011, 19:29   #2267

Re: New Mahindra SUV for 2011 - Pics on Pg. 109 *UPDATE* XUV500 launched at 10.8 lakh

Some notes made on my Showroom visit today:

The size spec comparo between Scorpio and XUV

Sadly there is no Luggage / parcel roller shelf/ tray yet

Swanky Personal Accessories you can buy off their webstore www.mahindraxuv500.com

Ace Golfing Kit - zip pouch with a putter a hip flask a golf ball and an extendable putting hole.

More after a TD.

Thanks for the info but where on the site are the accessories mentioned? I couldn't find it! Also what are the interior trims/colours available?

Last edited by Y@SH : 30th September 2011 at 19:30. Reason: Spelling
Old 30th September 2011, 19:31   #2268

Originally Posted by zteg View Post
Mannu bhai, Which variant did u book ?? and are the prices for W8(2wd) and w8(awd) same as mentioned by abhishek or is there a change there as well?
Looking into the breakup and removing the Std Fitments, it would be around 32K cheaper than what I have quoted before.
abhisheksircar is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 30th September 2011, 19:32   #2269

This info is basis a special brochure that I got from M&M
it mentions these things.
the site given is mahindraxuv500.com - one has to find the e store on that site logon and buy.
thats what the brochure says

Originally Posted by Y@SH View Post
Thanks for the info but where on the site are the accessories mentioned? I couldn't find it! Also what are the interior trims/colours available?
Old 30th September 2011, 19:32   #2270

Originally Posted by tifosikrishna View Post
Chennai OTR price for W6 variant are as follows

EX - 1095683, Tax+Regn - 1,74,355, Ins - 34,153. Total - 13,04,191
Those who consider VLX scorpio/ Innova V/ Chevy Cruze/ Corolla diesel / Fortuner might migrate to W6 in significant numbers. If considering 15% migration on the total monthly volumes these models make 4.5+4.5K+1K+1K+1K= 12K units XUV an manage 1800 units monthly sales. If The majoity of migration out of this migration happens within Scorpio VLX then it will be interesting to see what happens to the introductory Prices
Old 30th September 2011, 19:33   #2271

Re: New Mahindra SUV for 2011 - Pics on Pg. 112 *UPDATE* XUV500 launched at 10.8 lakh

yessir i am still on the hunt!
might consider this XUV but only after deep thought and one more look at the Yeti new version when it comes
anyway next year has a lot in store - the Ford EcoSport, Duster, Yeti new version etc.
lets see.

Still looking for that elusive compact SUV? XUV is very Innovaish in its dimensions so I think drive-ability in the city should not be a big problem. If you want more compact then Duster might be the only option. However, the price of Duster would depend on what Renault honchos are smoking next year. If they do a Koleos and price it over 10 lacs then it is not worth it.
Old 30th September 2011, 20:02   #2272

Originally Posted by honeybee View Post
Though it may be a worthy competitor for the sedans like Vento, it's not a sedan and though it may be feature packed, it will never be able to provide comfort like a true sedan.
If it was a rugged off-roader, that statement would hold good. But from the reviews, this car has very less body roll - so comfort will be almost good as the sedans. And a higher sitting position will only add to it. If you are talking about cornering abilities, mind you, there are very few sedans in the same price bracket, which can do stunts of that type.

Originally Posted by honeybee View Post
Though it will eat into the Scorpio's sales, existing Scorpio owners, specially those who have bought it in the last year or so are not likely to replace their vehicles with the XUV.

So the question is where is the XUV going to generate the numbers from?
C'mon, every month we have around 4K odd units of Scorpio, 2K units of Safari, 4K units of Innova, 1K Fortuners & around 1K of all other SUV / Softroaders selling ! In addition to it, the sedans too ! Now, is it really difficult to sell XUV 500 ? I believe 2K units per month is a very very realistic sales projection for this car.

Originally Posted by Ym-enjn View Post
Looking forward to Team-bhp official review. But on second thoughts M&M might not give a chance to Team-bhp to review its new vehicle so soon, after looking at the review of Thar..
T-Bhp can take the car from a showroom, or a t-bhpian can offer his / her ride [like new Swift review] & TD if required. If M&M gives the car, I will have more respect for them, and it will show how confident they are about the product. Not every product is perfect, its the manufacturer's willingness to accept / learn / correct the flaws that matters. I have negative marks to Maruti for that matter.

Originally Posted by abhisheksircar View Post
You could be right cause I have no clue what these STD FITMENT is. If I reduce it, it comes similar to the price you quoted.
Some extra accessories or package included as a rip off - like the TRD kit / chrome bits added by dealers on Fortuner? Didn't you enquire about that?

Last edited by swiftnfurious : 30th September 2011 at 20:04.
Old 30th September 2011, 20:08   #2273

Originally Posted by mannubhai View Post
I just booked my XUV500- W6 - Volcano Black.

Expected delivery in 6 weeks.
Originally Posted by Pankaj_Ahlawat View Post
I have booked W8 non AWD and in Black it would look like a 2 million rupees car
mannubhai & Pankaj_Ahlawat - Many congratulations to both of you on being the 1st movers on TBHP as far as booking the XUV500 is concerned!

One word of advice - do not hesitate to contact M&M customer care on their phone # / email if the dealer tries any hanky panky with your booking. M&M CC is quite responsive to genuine customer complaints and will definitely make the dealer toe the line.

Good luck and keep us updated!

Vikram
Old 30th September 2011, 20:12   #2274

Originally Posted by mannubhai

Nitin,
Just booked one ..did a good TD too..

Agree on the imposing looks
It may not be hving the best panel/finish, but having seen wat is at offer at that price range in other SUV's this is by far long way ahead..
Rear view is pretty good on the road.
Congratulations mannubhai!

I am probably one of those who play it safe and will wait for a t-bhp review and a self long TD (50+ )
and I would love to buy a Mahindra or Tata without the niggles because unless we buy we can't complain that they don't innovate.

As far as the rearview goes, I can safely presume that you use all three mirrors (even I do) but if I look at the IRVM in isolation then the view was pretty limited, my perception.
Old 30th September 2011, 20:16   #2275

Went to Sireesh Auto on Silk Board Junction here is the break up of OTR Bangalore

BS4 W6 FWD
Ex Showroom - 1090914
Road Tax + Handling - 212355
Insurance - 42494
Std Fitment - 74416
Total - 1420179

BS4 W8 FWD
Ex Showroom - 1207448
Road Tax + Handling - 234345
Insurance - 46695
Std Fitment - 32226
Total - 1520714

BS4 W6 AWD
Ex Showroom - 1301688
Road Tax + Handling - 252129
Insurance - 50092
Std Fitment - 32226
Total - 1636135

Any idea what is this Std Fitment?

The car looks good, there is enough and more space (Not in the league of Fortuner, but enough), with all three row seats up there is only enough space to keep small bags. The fit and finish looked decent.

Liked the small stick shift (Not a long dunda like in Scorpio), general feel of the car, seating position, The middle row and last row has AC vents on the sides (Not on roof top) not sure how effective it will be in cooling.

Did not like the Door handles, they felt like they would give away sooner than later.

No Test Drives today, they will start tomorrow, and i think i will go on Thursday to TD the car.

Last edited by mayankjha1806 : 30th September 2011 at 20:23.
mayankjha1806 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 30th September 2011, 20:21   #2276

Originally Posted by mayankjha1806 View Post
Went to Sireesh Auto on Silk Board Junction here is the break up of OTR Bangalore

what is this Std Fitment?
Wondering why Sireesh is charging this additional Std fitment. India Garage is not charging this.
Check previous posts for more details
Old 30th September 2011, 20:45   #2277

Hey friends, I went to the nearest Mahindra showroom today to check out the XUV500, here are my first impressions -

Goodies -
1) The car really feels special. The moment you sit inside, it feels like a much more upmarket & has a luxury feel, unlike what its price suggests.
2) Unlike mentioned in reviews, plastic quality of the dash, door pads, etc is similar to the innova.
3) There are a lot of special touches & attention to detail abound in the cabin, a few which i can recollect are mentioned below:
a) the glovebox has a damped release, like in VW Passat!
b) Even when you leave the spring loaded grab handle, it has a damped release!
c) Right from the twin gloveboxes to the box below the centre armrest to the storage box on top of the screen, all storage spaces are felt lined !!!
d) Even the interior door handles have a soft rubber base finish on the insides which gives a premium feel when you hold it.
e) The way the tools are neatly arranged in the boot, it deserves an applause.
f) When you turn on the ignition, the central infotainment display shows a nice graphic to welcome you. Touch screen is good & responsive. However, I dint try the GPS because I dint drive the car.
g) Mood lighting (red LEDs) is amazing... its best experienced than read. They have lighting behind interior door handles, below it focusing on the bottle holder below & on the roof.
4) Third row seating is better than Aria but not as good as Innova. The middle row does not have rails.
5) Third row occupants have got their own AC vents & AC air volume control!
6) This car actually has cornering lamps! Superb!

Gripes -

1) Bonnet does not have an hydraulic lift.
2) LED DRLs are not actually DRLs!

Other points:
I started the car & revved it till 3000 rpm. This is the same sweet mHawk engine & has the same characteristics. However, I felt engine noise to be lower than the Scorpio.

Listen to this , when you turn on the ignition, both the speedometer & tachometer swing all the way to top speed & redline respectively & come back, like in superbikes! Fancy yet sweeeeet ! Wish I had a video to share. When you start the car, this excercise is repeated once more... get set whooosh...

First, the exteriors:

Unlike in the pics, the car manages to look really well in flesh. It looks very mean & brawny head on & has that edgy design theme all over. Its hate it or love it styling. I "like" it!

Significant points -

* The external door lock is an eyesore.

New Mahindra SUV for 2011 - Pics on Pg. 109 *UPDATE* XUV500 launched at 10.8 lakhs-dsc_0652.jpg
* Twin rear washers, so total of 4 water jets!

New Mahindra SUV for 2011 - Pics on Pg. 109 *UPDATE* XUV500 launched at 10.8 lakhs-dsc_0634.jpg

* LEDs are not actually DRLs but they are parking lights/city light/evening lights! When you turn on the LEDs, the rear lamp also turn on.

Notice the cornering lamps!

New Mahindra SUV for 2011 - Pics on Pg. 109 *UPDATE* XUV500 launched at 10.8 lakhs-dsc_0628.jpg
New Mahindra SUV for 2011 - Pics on Pg. 109 *UPDATE* XUV500 launched at 10.8 lakhs-dsc_0629.jpg
New Mahindra SUV for 2011 - Pics on Pg. 109 *UPDATE* XUV500 launched at 10.8 lakhs-imag0295.jpg
New Mahindra SUV for 2011 - Pics on Pg. 109 *UPDATE* XUV500 launched at 10.8 lakhs-imag0296.jpg
New Mahindra SUV for 2011 - Pics on Pg. 109 *UPDATE* XUV500 launched at 10.8 lakhs-imag0301.jpg

* Love this detailing on the bonnet.

New Mahindra SUV for 2011 - Pics on Pg. 109 *UPDATE* XUV500 launched at 10.8 lakhs-dsc_0657.jpg

* Tail Lamps look smart.

New Mahindra SUV for 2011 - Pics on Pg. 109 *UPDATE* XUV500 launched at 10.8 lakhs-dsc_0663.jpg
New Mahindra SUV for 2011 - Pics on Pg. 109 *UPDATE* XUV500 launched at 10.8 lakhs-dsc_0664.jpg
New Mahindra SUV for 2011 - Pics on Pg. 109 *UPDATE* XUV500 launched at 10.8 lakhs-imag0305.jpg

* Foldable key

New Mahindra SUV for 2011 - Pics on Pg. 109 *UPDATE* XUV500 launched at 10.8 lakhs-dsc_0679.jpg
New Mahindra SUV for 2011 - Pics on Pg. 109 *UPDATE* XUV500 launched at 10.8 lakhs-imag0316.jpg

* The gem - 140 bhp mHawk

New Mahindra SUV for 2011 - Pics on Pg. 109 *UPDATE* XUV500 launched at 10.8 lakhs-imag0318.jpg

Other Random Pics -

New Mahindra SUV for 2011 - Pics on Pg. 109 *UPDATE* XUV500 launched at 10.8 lakhs-dsc_0627.jpg
New Mahindra SUV for 2011 - Pics on Pg. 109 *UPDATE* XUV500 launched at 10.8 lakhs-dsc_0644.jpg
New Mahindra SUV for 2011 - Pics on Pg. 109 *UPDATE* XUV500 launched at 10.8 lakhs-dsc_0645.jpg
New Mahindra SUV for 2011 - Pics on Pg. 109 *UPDATE* XUV500 launched at 10.8 lakhs-dsc_0646.jpg
New Mahindra SUV for 2011 - Pics on Pg. 109 *UPDATE* XUV500 launched at 10.8 lakhs-dsc_0656.jpg
New Mahindra SUV for 2011 - Pics on Pg. 109 *UPDATE* XUV500 launched at 10.8 lakhs-dsc_0661.jpg
New Mahindra SUV for 2011 - Pics on Pg. 109 *UPDATE* XUV500 launched at 10.8 lakhs-dsc_0662.jpg
New Mahindra SUV for 2011 - Pics on Pg. 109 *UPDATE* XUV500 launched at 10.8 lakhs-dsc_0666.jpg
New Mahindra SUV for 2011 - Pics on Pg. 109 *UPDATE* XUV500 launched at 10.8 lakhs-dsc_0667.jpg
New Mahindra SUV for 2011 - Pics on Pg. 109 *UPDATE* XUV500 launched at 10.8 lakhs-dsc_0668.jpg
New Mahindra SUV for 2011 - Pics on Pg. 109 *UPDATE* XUV500 launched at 10.8 lakhs-imag0293.jpg

Interior shots to follow...

Last edited by raj_5004 : 30th September 2011 at 20:49.
raj_5004 is offline   (8) Thanks
Old 30th September 2011, 21:02   #2278
//M

Some random pics of the XUV500. Pics taken at India Garage, St.Marks Road, Bangalore.
New Mahindra SUV for 2011 - Pics on Pg. 109 *UPDATE* XUV500 launched at 10.8 lakhs-dsc00103.jpg  

New Mahindra SUV for 2011 - Pics on Pg. 109 *UPDATE* XUV500 launched at 10.8 lakhs-dsc00105.jpg  

New Mahindra SUV for 2011 - Pics on Pg. 109 *UPDATE* XUV500 launched at 10.8 lakhs-dsc00107.jpg  

New Mahindra SUV for 2011 - Pics on Pg. 109 *UPDATE* XUV500 launched at 10.8 lakhs-dsc00108.jpg  

New Mahindra SUV for 2011 - Pics on Pg. 109 *UPDATE* XUV500 launched at 10.8 lakhs-dsc00110.jpg  

New Mahindra SUV for 2011 - Pics on Pg. 109 *UPDATE* XUV500 launched at 10.8 lakhs-dsc00111.jpg  

New Mahindra SUV for 2011 - Pics on Pg. 109 *UPDATE* XUV500 launched at 10.8 lakhs-dsc00112.jpg  

New Mahindra SUV for 2011 - Pics on Pg. 109 *UPDATE* XUV500 launched at 10.8 lakhs-dsc00113.jpg  

New Mahindra SUV for 2011 - Pics on Pg. 109 *UPDATE* XUV500 launched at 10.8 lakhs-dsc00115.jpg  

New Mahindra SUV for 2011 - Pics on Pg. 109 *UPDATE* XUV500 launched at 10.8 lakhs-dsc00118.jpg  

//M is offline   (7) Thanks
Old 30th September 2011, 21:03   #2279

Time for some interior shots -

Third row legroom, I am 6'2". I could not manage in the Aria, here it is manageable, but Innova is comfier by a small margin.

New Mahindra SUV for 2011 - Pics on Pg. 109 *UPDATE* XUV500 launched at 10.8 lakhs-dsc_0626.jpg

The way the tools & jack is neatly arranged

New Mahindra SUV for 2011 - Pics on Pg. 109 *UPDATE* XUV500 launched at 10.8 lakhs-dsc_0636.jpg
New Mahindra SUV for 2011 - Pics on Pg. 109 *UPDATE* XUV500 launched at 10.8 lakhs-dsc_0638.jpg

Boot space with seats in place & then folded

New Mahindra SUV for 2011 - Pics on Pg. 109 *UPDATE* XUV500 launched at 10.8 lakhs-dsc_0639.jpg
New Mahindra SUV for 2011 - Pics on Pg. 109 *UPDATE* XUV500 launched at 10.8 lakhs-dsc_0640.jpg

Third row AC vents with individual air flow control

New Mahindra SUV for 2011 - Pics on Pg. 109 *UPDATE* XUV500 launched at 10.8 lakhs-dsc_0641.jpg
New Mahindra SUV for 2011 - Pics on Pg. 109 *UPDATE* XUV500 launched at 10.8 lakhs-dsc_0671.jpg

Third row mobile charger

New Mahindra SUV for 2011 - Pics on Pg. 109 *UPDATE* XUV500 launched at 10.8 lakhs-dsc_0642.jpg

Provision for filling water for rear washer is in the boot!

New Mahindra SUV for 2011 - Pics on Pg. 109 *UPDATE* XUV500 launched at 10.8 lakhs-dsc_0643.jpg

Legroom with front seat fully back & fully front

New Mahindra SUV for 2011 - Pics on Pg. 109 *UPDATE* XUV500 launched at 10.8 lakhs-dsc_0647.jpg
New Mahindra SUV for 2011 - Pics on Pg. 109 *UPDATE* XUV500 launched at 10.8 lakhs-dsc_0648.jpg

Middle row AC vents, the vents had a nice quality feel

New Mahindra SUV for 2011 - Pics on Pg. 109 *UPDATE* XUV500 launched at 10.8 lakhs-dsc_0649.jpg

Airbags on the seats & B pillar

New Mahindra SUV for 2011 - Pics on Pg. 109 *UPDATE* XUV500 launched at 10.8 lakhs-dsc_0650.jpg
New Mahindra SUV for 2011 - Pics on Pg. 109 *UPDATE* XUV500 launched at 10.8 lakhs-dsc_0651.jpg

Third row legroom

New Mahindra SUV for 2011 - Pics on Pg. 109 *UPDATE* XUV500 launched at 10.8 lakhs-dsc_0653.jpg
New Mahindra SUV for 2011 - Pics on Pg. 109 *UPDATE* XUV500 launched at 10.8 lakhs-dsc_0654.jpg

Interesting warning!

New Mahindra SUV for 2011 - Pics on Pg. 109 *UPDATE* XUV500 launched at 10.8 lakhs-dsc_0655.jpg

Driver's controls

New Mahindra SUV for 2011 - Pics on Pg. 109 *UPDATE* XUV500 launched at 10.8 lakhs-dsc_0672.jpg

Storage spaces are felt lined! Neat.

New Mahindra SUV for 2011 - Pics on Pg. 109 *UPDATE* XUV500 launched at 10.8 lakhs-dsc_0673.jpg
New Mahindra SUV for 2011 - Pics on Pg. 109 *UPDATE* XUV500 launched at 10.8 lakhs-dsc_0678.jpg

Touch screen is nice. DVD/USB/AUX/MP3 & Bluetooth!

New Mahindra SUV for 2011 - Pics on Pg. 109 *UPDATE* XUV500 launched at 10.8 lakhs-dsc_0674.jpg
New Mahindra SUV for 2011 - Pics on Pg. 109 *UPDATE* XUV500 launched at 10.8 lakhs-dsc_0675.jpg
New Mahindra SUV for 2011 - Pics on Pg. 109 *UPDATE* XUV500 launched at 10.8 lakhs-dsc_0676.jpg

Legroom with yours truly in the seat, I am 6'2"

New Mahindra SUV for 2011 - Pics on Pg. 109 *UPDATE* XUV500 launched at 10.8 lakhs-imag0307.jpg

Camping light??? Bleh! Joke!

New Mahindra SUV for 2011 - Pics on Pg. 109 *UPDATE* XUV500 launched at 10.8 lakhs-dsc_0669.jpg
New Mahindra SUV for 2011 - Pics on Pg. 109 *UPDATE* XUV500 launched at 10.8 lakhs-imag0310.jpg

Superb steering feel... Punto like, very nice to hold.

New Mahindra SUV for 2011 - Pics on Pg. 109 *UPDATE* XUV500 launched at 10.8 lakhs-dsc_0677.jpg
New Mahindra SUV for 2011 - Pics on Pg. 109 *UPDATE* XUV500 launched at 10.8 lakhs-dsc_0632.jpg  

New Mahindra SUV for 2011 - Pics on Pg. 109 *UPDATE* XUV500 launched at 10.8 lakhs-dsc_0633.jpg  

New Mahindra SUV for 2011 - Pics on Pg. 109 *UPDATE* XUV500 launched at 10.8 lakhs-dsc_0665.jpg  

raj_5004 is offline   (7) Thanks
Old 30th September 2011, 21:09   #2280

Dials have GEAR position indicator

New Mahindra SUV for 2011 - Pics on Pg. 109 *UPDATE* XUV500 launched at 10.8 lakhs-imag0312.jpg

New Mahindra SUV for 2011 - Pics on Pg. 109 *UPDATE* XUV500 launched at 10.8 lakhs-imag0315.jpg

Accessories - chrome fittings & 16" alloys for base variant

New Mahindra SUV for 2011 - Pics on Pg. 109 *UPDATE* XUV500 launched at 10.8 lakhs-dsc_0659.jpg
New Mahindra SUV for 2011 - Pics on Pg. 109 *UPDATE* XUV500 launched at 10.8 lakhs-dsc_0660.jpg

Touch screen monitor in showroom to explain all the features of the XUV. apart from that, each sales executive has a tablet!

New Mahindra SUV for 2011 - Pics on Pg. 109 *UPDATE* XUV500 launched at 10.8 lakhs-dsc_0658.jpg

The crowd the XUV is puuling

New Mahindra SUV for 2011 - Pics on Pg. 109 *UPDATE* XUV500 launched at 10.8 lakhs-dsc_0635.jpg

Scorpio & bolero feeling lonely?

New Mahindra SUV for 2011 - Pics on Pg. 109 *UPDATE* XUV500 launched at 10.8 lakhs-imag0308.jpg
raj_5004 is offline   (12) Thanks