Old 1st October 2011, 22:50   #2401

Re: New Mahindra SUV for 2011 - Pics on Pg. 109 *UPDATE* XUV500 launched at 10.8 lakh

Compared to chassis based SUVs, the Monocoque SUVs have superior road manners and more composed ride but they lose out on off roading ability and ruggedness. Fortuner, Endeavour and upcoming Pajero sport are pick up truck derived versions, comparing the road manners directly head on with this monocoque SUV is not really a fair comparison.

Originally Posted by 4x4addict View Post
Omitting the 4WD Lock button is purely a Mahindra Quirk like removing the gear selector on the Scorpio Automatic.
AFAIK the AWD in Mahindra XUV500 can be locked, though it does not come with low range. Along with Traction Control System from ESP, it is good enough for a Monocoque Crossover.

Even crossovers like Yeti come with AWD system where the Haldex system sends power to rear differential only when slip is detected. Running on this type of system has it's benefits like better FE(and as a result lower emissions too) and less wear & tear.

Last edited by .anshuman : 1st October 2011 at 22:57.
Old 1st October 2011, 22:55   #2402

Re: New Mahindra SUV for 2011 - Pics on Pg. 109 *UPDATE* XUV500 launched at 10.8 lakh

I was one of those who was highly skeptical of the XUV500 and have even joined in the chorus of those mocking its monicker some pages ago.

But the pricing has been a real coup. 15 lac (OTR Pune) for the highest trim 4WD variant sounds like a good value proposition to me. Have booked a TD, though there is neither the inclination nore the budget to add to the garage right now.
Old 1st October 2011, 23:02   #2403

Took a small test drive of it today.

a) Exteriors are really good to look at and paint finish is top notch.

b) Interiors were not upto the mark in quality, felt like they could have done better with the plastics. The black plastic will be a pain to maintain as the foot prints and mud from the previous test drives were clearly evident on the doors.

c) LCD screen was tough to look in broad daylight. The vehicle information like kmpl, distance to empty, etc are only available on the center screen and not in the Drivers panel. Hence will be a bit distracting to search for it while driving.

d) Rear visibility is a real hindrance, hence reversing is a pain. Provision to attach a rear camera is built in, but the same is not standard with the vehicle.

e) Power is really good and accelerates well. Handles pretty well in traffic too.

f) 2nd bench leg room is very nice considering other cars in the same segment, but the same has been compromised heavily in the 3rd bench. Spacious in the 2nd row, three persons sat very comfortably.

g) Buttons felt flimsy, but layout of dash is good.

h) Steering can be adjusted for rake and reach, and once you find your sweet spot, its a joy to hold.

i) Turning radius is really good for such a huge vehicle.

j) Colors are freaking awesome on the vehicle. It looks exceptionally good in Silver (my fav), Black, Purple (my better half's fav) and Grey.

k) Waiting period of 6 weeks quoted, with bookings flying off the shelves.

l) Gear throws were not smooth as expected inspite of the vehicle being new.

m) Last but not the least, while waiting for the test drive, the previous test driver was telling the sales representative that Micro Hybrid failed just now. I am not much into these technical details, but saw that the vehicle was pulled off from the test drives.

Last edited by _raVan_ : 1st October 2011 at 23:13.
Old 1st October 2011, 23:12   #2404

Visited Koncept today and booked the W6 in Silver. I was the 176th person to book the XUV since yesterday. There was a Mahindra employee stationed at the dealership and he answered some questions:

-Mahindra is producing between 1500 and 2000 per month at the CHakan plant in 4 shifts to keep up with the demand!
-One lot has already been dispatched and production started a month before launch
-Bridgestone and JK Tyre are available both in w6 and w8 and what you get depends on your luck, although I have put in a special request for bridgestones
-Test drive cars are available from today and people were queuing up for a TD

Some pics
The rear wiper tank behind the third row of seats. You have to bend the seats to access this.

New Mahindra SUV for 2011 - Pics on Pg. 109 *UPDATE* XUV500 launched at 10.8 lakhs-c360_20111001120323.jpg

Optional chrome accessories and luggage rack(which looks hideous)
New Mahindra SUV for 2011 - Pics on Pg. 109 *UPDATE* XUV500 launched at 10.8 lakhs-c360_20111001121437.jpg

New Mahindra SUV for 2011 - Pics on Pg. 109 *UPDATE* XUV500 launched at 10.8 lakhs-c360_20111001121354.jpg

New Mahindra SUV for 2011 - Pics on Pg. 109 *UPDATE* XUV500 launched at 10.8 lakhs-c360_20111001121405.jpg

New Mahindra SUV for 2011 - Pics on Pg. 109 *UPDATE* XUV500 launched at 10.8 lakhs-c360_20111001121445.jpg

New Mahindra SUV for 2011 - Pics on Pg. 109 *UPDATE* XUV500 launched at 10.8 lakhs-c360_20111001121228.jpg

JK Tyres

New Mahindra SUV for 2011 - Pics on Pg. 109 *UPDATE* XUV500 launched at 10.8 lakhs-c360_20111001120610.jpg

Bridgestones

New Mahindra SUV for 2011 - Pics on Pg. 109 *UPDATE* XUV500 launched at 10.8 lakhs-c360_20111001120455.jpg

The key

New Mahindra SUV for 2011 - Pics on Pg. 109 *UPDATE* XUV500 launched at 10.8 lakhs-c360_20111001115713.jpg

Grey colour

New Mahindra SUV for 2011 - Pics on Pg. 109 *UPDATE* XUV500 launched at 10.8 lakhs-c360_20111001121307.jpg

New Mahindra SUV for 2011 - Pics on Pg. 109 *UPDATE* XUV500 launched at 10.8 lakhs-c360_20111001121322.jpg

Purple colour

New Mahindra SUV for 2011 - Pics on Pg. 109 *UPDATE* XUV500 launched at 10.8 lakhs-c360_20111001120848.jpg

New Mahindra SUV for 2011 - Pics on Pg. 109 *UPDATE* XUV500 launched at 10.8 lakhs-c360_20111001120901.jpg
LastActionHero is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 1st October 2011, 23:16   #2405

I walked into Sireesh Auto showroom on Hosur Rd today. Man..it was like a Mela there. So much crowd it reminded me of those consumer electronics shops. There were around 8-10 families checking it out and the sales guys didnt have time guys who came in alone :-). They had 4 display vehicles all filled with guys/families sitting in them.

Though the promo photos make the vehicle look aggressive, the vehicle looks very neutral in flesh and i am sure M&M has a winner.

Looking at the response to it...i guess either of the two things will happen 2-3 months down the line:
a. The success gets to M&M and they increase the prices
b. M&M retains the price and the others are forced to reduce it.

Lets see what happens
Old 1st October 2011, 23:18   #2406

i got this XUV500 Brochure from my friend, i think this was for printing purpose
File Type: pdf XUV5OO_Brochure.PDF (2.22 MB, 895 views)
Old 1st October 2011, 23:28   #2407

I could experience the XUV stationary today. The pictures dont do justice to really understand its size, shape, matter and its stand. It looks much smaller than imagined but has an imposing and intimidating stand. You do get swayed by just looking at it. There are just too many facets of this car need to be seen, understood and assessed in detail and all the Autocar, Overdrive video and written reviews do not seem to do any justice to it from both positive or negative facets. I am happy Team-BHP gang is taking its sweat time to check it in and out and not out with the review so soon.

Just want to give a XUV versus Scorpio perspective

New Mahindra SUV for 2011 - Pics on Pg. 109 *UPDATE* XUV500 launched at 10.8 lakhs-p1070880.jpg

Last edited by parsh : 1st October 2011 at 23:34.
parsh is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 1st October 2011, 23:30   #2408

The prices released are indeed introductory prices and we might see a surge in prices if the 500 is received well.
Old 1st October 2011, 23:48   #2409

Originally Posted by Anarchy83 View Post
d) The tyres are a little smaller than I thought they'd be, but it suited the car to the T.
I think the car you saw is a W6 which comes with 16" wheels, hence you may have felt that the tyres are small.
Old 1st October 2011, 23:59   #2410

Originally Posted by raj_5004 View Post
I think the car you saw is a W6 which comes with 16" wheels, hence you may have felt that the tyres are small.
There is no differentiation on Tyre Size between W6 and W8. Both models have same 17" tyres.

Also in reference to the interior color combination, The interior color combination/theme is based on what color car that you choose e.g. W6 Silver has Black and Brown interior while W8 White has Beige interior.
Old 2nd October 2011, 00:05   #2411

Originally Posted by LastActionHero
Optional chrome accessories and luggage rack(which looks hideous)

The key
M&M has certainly put in a lot of effort into incorporating everything they thought the potential buyer in a higher price range might want, and they've succeeded pretty well. But seriously - Chrome Accessories? Erm, thanks but I think the car is eye-catching enough already

Like the keys. Almost Skoda like, although they could be "Blacker" if that makes sense? Nice touch, providing two with controls and folding keys.

I watched the Autocar initial report, where the reviewer said the car was very powerful, pulled cleanly till redline, is extremely quiet inside and the second row is super spacious. Also the ride is a massive improvement over previous Mahindras, though a proper test is pending since they drove it on a test track. Not so nice interior wise were the browns or plum shades, central console buttons and the silver accent on the central console that caused a reflection on the windscreen. She also thought it looks sexy... Okay.

Ps. Have been seeing "cling wrapped" XUVs on the ORR opposite the water treatment plant near Marathalli for the last couple of nights. They were being driven around and loaded into containers. Or maybe unloaded, though it looked otherwise. Don't know if the cling wrap is a VW kinda protective thing or if these are to hide the vehicle's identity. I noticed cos the tail lights are unmistakable.
Old 2nd October 2011, 00:26   #2412

this is a really good offering by Mahindra. frankly speaking there is no competition at present! SUV's a segment above have something to fear about!

I need to know few very important things which i didn't read anywhere..

1) Does it have lumbar support and if yes then on both front or only the driver seat?

2) Does it have electric adjustments for front seats or manual? and how many ways is the front seats adjustable?

3) Does it have auto dimming or dimming rear view and ORVM's?

4) Does it have any tray behind the front seats for the middle row passengers where they can keep laptop or something?

5) Is the Sat-Nav by Mapmyindia or someone else? as mapmyindia is reportedly the best in india so far..

6) how is the underthigh support and general comfort for the middle row passengers?

7) Does it have follow me home lights or any other option which is usually present in the 20 lac car ?! ;-)

I hope if anyone who has the right info and had a TD can answer these questions..

Thanx.

Last edited by magikrider : 2nd October 2011 at 00:28.
Old 2nd October 2011, 00:42   #2413

Car And Bike Show NDTV Review
Old 2nd October 2011, 00:49   #2414

Originally Posted by parsh View Post
Just want to give a XUV versus Scorpio perspective

Attachment 819497
New Mahindra SUV for 2011 - Pics on Pg. 109 *UPDATE* XUV500 launched at 10.8 lakhs-p1070880.jpg
I hope they up the game with Scorpio too.. Come up with THE ALL NEW SCORPIO, much bigger longer wider, more powerful with more features including Sunroof AT etc and price it above XUV 500 in range of 12 to 16 lakhs.. They have all the means to do that. They should think of making it a Big brand and keep it their flagship model.. They can do to Scorpio what Toyota did to Land Cruiser.. Come On Mahindra.. You can do it..
Old 2nd October 2011, 00:51   #2415

Dual zone climate control in XUV 500 - Is it for the driver and passenger side or is it referring to front and rear HVAC settings

If it refers to the latter, How does one change the HVAC settings for the rear?