Old 17th March 2009, 16:48   #16

Originally Posted by joslicx View Post
I saw one VW small car doing rounds in Delhi yesterday near Karol Bagh! There was no attempt at all at hiding the identity of the vehicle (The badge was very prominent at the back). It could be somebody's personal vehicle for all we know but somehow it seems strange that somebody would import a small VW! For that cost probably a Passat could be bought instead! I have actually seen VW small car many times in Delhi now (earlier last year in Mayur Vihar area).

No chance to click any pics though. No access to any camera.

I too saw a similar VW Polo (black color with no camouflages) here in Blr sometime last week. Interestingly it did not have an India registration no.
Old 25th March 2009, 04:24   #17

any idea on when it will be launched? I thought the golf was coming in first.
Old 25th March 2009, 17:56   #18

Current ACI issue as a lot details about Polo ,
they say that Jan'10 will be the launch and will be showcased in Delhi auto expo(when is that?)
Engines: 1.2 & and 1.4 MPI
1.2 & and 1.6 TDI
1.2 TSI
Power : 68/83/87/102bhp
Gearbox : 5-speed manual , 6-speed manual, 7-speed DSG

Happy time ahead for small hunters.
Old 25th March 2009, 19:48   #19

Auto Expo is usually in Jan - Fabia was launched at the 2008 Expo - basically get PR for free.

Can't wait to lay my hands on the Polo - the Auto Bild issue says that bi-xenons, sunroom and static turn lights will be made available as options - now what is static turn lights?

Old 26th March 2009, 10:05   #20

Originally Posted by diffsoft View Post
Auto Expo is usually in Jan - Fabia was launched at the 2008 Expo - basically get PR for free.

Can't wait to lay my hands on the Polo - the Auto Bild issue says that bi-xenons, sunroom and static turn lights will be made available as options - now what is static turn lights?

bi-xenons, sunroo[f]?? as far as i can tell, even the 'concept' bluemotion version shown at Geneva did not have a sunroo[f].

The Polo will be an interesting animal to watch, because I think it will have to be positioned where the top end Fabia is currently, and the Fabia has to go down market. There is no other way.

We can see the signs of it happening with the new Superb launch. The Laura has to go the same way to allow the Jetta/ Golf to make some headway. A similar story has to unfold with the Polo/ Fabia cousins, because there is no way a Polo can command much higher-than-current Fabia prices. There will be no market, otherwise!

The question will be, when the Polo arrives, will it be the sedan or the hatch, or both, and that said, whether we will be stuck with the 1.2 liter or whether there will be some decent engine options.
Old 1st April 2009, 05:04   #21

Volkswagen opens Pune plant

- Volkswagen will start assembling the Polo from next year.

- It will also introduce the Polo sedan as a variant model next year.

- For now the Fabia is rolling out from here first and will be followed next year by the Polo and its variants.

Full article: Volkswagen opens Pune plant- Automobiles-Auto-News By Industry-News-The Economic Times
Can't wait to see how the new Polo sedan looks!
Old 9th April 2009, 22:33   #22

Just read an article about Polo on the Autocar website. Looks fabulous must say. Really impressive design. Autocar mentions it would cost around 5 lakhs.
Great going.. I wonder what's gonna happen to Fabia.

:: AUTOCAR INDIA - CAR AND BIKE MAGAZINE ::
Old 10th April 2009, 18:37   #23

Originally Posted by Invinsible View Post
Just read an article about Polo on the Autocar website. Looks fabulous must say. Really impressive design. Autocar mentions it would cost around 5 lakhs.
Great going.. I wonder what's gonna happen to Fabia.

:: AUTOCAR INDIA - CAR AND BIKE MAGAZINE ::
I don't think the car would cost around 5 lacs.Since it's VW and nothing but the Skoda Fabia with a different chassis, it will probably be priced at around 6-6.5 lacs for the 1.2L.
IMO the Punto and the Jazz are hotter than the polo.
Old 10th April 2009, 22:26   #24

I nearly bought one in London about six years ago.

Looking at upper-mid-range (I can only be vague, now, but it was probably about 1.4, with higher-end trim) it came to just over ten grand UK pounds. And that was from a dealer offering a very good discount to up their end-of-year sales.

It was never a cheap small car...
Old 11th April 2009, 03:26   #25

boy would it be awesome to have the new polo gti in india!
EDIT: even the normal more practical polo has killer looks! lets hope it's priced without too much premium!

New Volkswagen Polo revealed-b2010vwpolopopping49e69e175aea.jpeg.jpg  

New Volkswagen Polo revealed-012010vwpoloconceptlive_580op.jpg  

Last edited by anekho : 11th April 2009 at 03:29.
Old 11th April 2009, 07:39   #26

Skoda India in an earlier press conference said that it would be launching a new car in the entry level. Price starting from as low as 3lac.

I think VW is planing to get more market shares by launching vehicles in the 3 lac to 10 lac range.
Old 11th April 2009, 13:27   #27

UK price overview: from just under £8,000 to nearly £13,000 here. That's a starting price of Rs.5.7 lakh. And import duty?

Sorry... but a 3-lakh VW is just a dream.

This could end up under the same heading as that ridiculously-priced Fiat 500.

Oh, sorry... did I say, "ridiculously-priced"? I meant Lifestyle, of course! But there is quite a large "lifestyle" element to owning a VW in UK
Old 11th April 2009, 14:01   #28

but won't the car be produced in india? ^^
Also as usual effective cost cutting methods will probably leave the basic model's price at 5-ish lakhs.

Old 11th April 2009, 16:14   #29

Would be great to have VW's here. VW designers have done a fabulous job with their new cars like the Polo and Golf. I just hope we can have the Golf GTI here someday.
Old 11th April 2009, 17:09   #30

Let's wait and see

...and hope! I'd be very happy with a VW Polo. On the other hand, if maintenance and servcing is going to be as expensive as Skoda, then I shall have to be disappointed again