Old 14th March 2009, 12:52   #61

one great effort by TATA, now only if they can make enuf of it. hopefully it will be built decently, you can't expect much for the price but still. i will buy one for sure
Old 14th March 2009, 13:10   #62

Originally Posted by sidindica View Post
and last of all, its a rear engined, rear drive small car. there is nothing else like it on earth.

Originally Posted by vittalnrv View Post
Also, it's the only RWD hatchback present on Earth,,

Originally Posted by iraghava View Post
Ummm....Sid you seem to have forgetten the Mk I & II Renault Clio V6:

Renault Clio V6 Renault Sport - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

And the Renault 5 Turbo:

Renault 5 Turbo - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
You forget the Smart for2.

Last edited by Steeroid : 14th March 2009 at 13:16.
Old 14th March 2009, 13:11   #63

Originally Posted by speedzak View Post
Both the cars seems to have mid engined, rear wheel drive setup. Not a complete rear engined, rear wheel drive setup. That's what I got to understand after reading the links provided.

Am I wrong?
No but fitting a V6 into a small car's boot is going to be a problem! And they are definitely not mid-engined, the majority of weight in these cars rests on the rear axle and like the 911 this is what makes them rather tricky to drive in the wet or on the limit.

Originally Posted by Steeroid View Post
True, I did forget that!
Old 14th March 2009, 13:22   #64

No but fitting a V6 into a small car's boot is going to be a problem! And they are definitely not mid-engined, the majority of weight in these cars rests on the rear axle and like the 911 this is what makes them rather tricky to drive in the wet or on the limit.
Rear-engine means the engine is mounted on and aft of the rear axle. Weight distribution has nothing to do with the classification. The Clio is mid-engined.

True, I did forget that!
Hmmm... how about the Porsche GT2, then?
Old 14th March 2009, 13:27   #65

Smart!
How could I forget that?

Seems like Nano has learnt a lot from it. Rear engined, rear wheel drive!
It's actually amazing how Tata blended all into this one lac wonder!
Old 14th March 2009, 13:41   #66

Tata should work with governments to get rid of messy, polluting and highly manoeuvrable auto rickshaws. Make it electric/CNG and get some concessions for exchange.
But then public transport itself could be improved...
Old 14th March 2009, 14:02   #67

Hmmm... how about the Porsche GT2, then?
Abey, it's a small car with a rear engine. You think the GT2 is small?
Old 14th March 2009, 14:27   #68

Quite a few oddities here and there to keep us all guessing at the ways Tatas have used the cost cutting tool on this cutie.
- 2 spoke steering wheel on the Base version and a 3 spoke steering on the other variants ? Thats a bit difficult to reason.
Also I think Tatas should had named the base variant as an AX or something. The 'base' version tag clearly points to its bargain basement positioning.
With only 3 options, Tatas are clearly trying to limit demand among first time car buyers and people looking to upgrade over from a 2 wheeler. I see more options coming up over a period of time that would look to move the car up on the value chain. Those versions could well target buyers looking out for second car that can serve as a city runabout.
Finally kudos to Tatas for the vision and its engineers for their persistent determination for this effort.
Old 14th March 2009, 14:38   #69

All my luck to the new owners of the NANO. With the experience of the V1 Indica buyers they will actually be doing the testing. Probably that is why the free serviceings are so bunched together. 10 Lakh bookings optimistic IMHO. if they manage 10,000 a month (400 per day) whew! the wait will be 100 months=8.3 years and interest @ say 10% pa. that is lot of money acruing to Tata by way of interest. This will translate to much higher cost to latter customers.
Old 14th March 2009, 16:25   #70

Originally Posted by goandude View Post
...10 Lakh bookings optimistic ...
Agree with this. 10L is actually optimistic. I don't see even production matching that demand (if such a demand actually exists). I really doubt the Indian market's potential to lap up this product. Not in terms of pricing but in terms of pride of ownership. Bike owners will find this a compromise when it comes to owning a four-wheeler. In India, a car is for Chunnu, Munnu, Papa, Mummy and dada dadi. Nano looks at changing the usage habit from a family product to an individual one (even for a couple).

There will be a demand, more than that for existing cars. But to say that Nano will swamp the market in one year is an optimistic statement. But if the higher end variants come with something revolutionary - like someone said about electric cars - then things will be entirely different.
Old 14th March 2009, 19:34   #71

wheels and tyres:

wheels: 12"
front tyres: 135/70 R 12 tubeless
rear tyres: 155/65 R 12 tubeless
spare: 1 tyre, 135/70 R 12 tubeless
With so little rubber to insulate the rim from the potholes, I'd expect to see a lot of bent rims on Nanos. A higher aspect ratio would suit the Indian roads more IMO.

What would be the consequences of fitting 155/65 on front wheels?
Old 14th March 2009, 20:52   #72

and the Mitsubishi i-car. BTW, both are mid, not rear-engined IIRC. The Elise is small too but not cheap.

Last edited by Mpower : 14th March 2009 at 21:58.
Old 14th March 2009, 21:24   #73

Originally Posted by Mpower View Post
both are mid, not rear-engined IIRC.
Dont know about the Mitsubishi, but my Smart was definitely rear engined. See the garage, there's a pic of the engine under the 'trunk' and inside the bumpers.
Old 15th March 2009, 02:03   #74

^^Smart is essentially the i-car a bit modified.
Old 15th March 2009, 06:49   #75
SuperSyn

tata nano-full specifications and features

battery: semi sealed under the driver's seat
"Honey, I had an accident. Yes, while going to office. No, I am not dead. Yes, the car is badly damaged. About Rs. 30,000 bad. Look at the bright side: I got permanent hair removal done on my legs for free!!"

service interval:
1st free: 1000 km or 1 month whichever is earlier
2nd free: 5000 km or 6 months whichever is earlier
3rd free: 10000 km or 1 year whichever is earlier

DEALERS ARE EXPECTING ABOUT 10 LAKH BOOKINGS

How on Earth are Tata going to service all these cars! They need to set up mini factories to handle the volumes!!