Team-BHP - Honda Jazz rollout in June

-   -   Honda Jazz rollout in June (https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/indian-car-scene/54984-honda-jazz-rollout-june.html)

Honda Siel Cars India (HSCI), the Indian entity of Japanese car manufacturer Honda, is set to launch its hatchback Jazz in the second half of this year.

It will have an engine specifically made for the Indian market. We are looking at a June-July launch, Masahiro Takedagawa, HSCI president and CEO, said on the sidelines of the launch of the upgraded Accord V6 at Greater Noida.

The Jazz will be produced at Honda’s Greater Noida facility, with nearly 70 per cent of the components sourced locally.

The car, which shares its platform with the new Honda City, is expected to be powered by a 1200cc petrol i-VTEC engine.

Analysts said it was likely to be priced between Rs 5.5 lakh and Rs 6.5 lakh.

The ca will be competing directly with the Skoda Fabia, Hyundai i20 and the yet-to-be-launched Fiat Grande Punto.

We have studied the market and are quite confident about our selling abilities. In Thailand, the Jazz is priced higher than our City model, said Jnaneswar Sen, vice-president (sales and marketing), HSCI. The City is Honda’s best-selling model in the country.

Though we don’t expect the Jazz to take over volumes of our City model, the hatchback will still create some volume for us, said Takedagawa.

Source: The Telegraph - Calcutta (Kolkata) | Business | Honda Jazz rollout in June

With Grande Punto coming soon to hit the roads in Mid-2009, Honda seems to be prepared for its Jazz launch in the same period :)

Cheers~

Is that the price? The resident valuators here have put the price at 8.5L.

Originally Posted by rudrah (Post 1211873)
Analysts said it was likely to be priced between Rs 5.5 lakh and Rs 6.5 lakh.

With recent hike they have made space for a higher priced Jazz. And like they said in some markets Jazz is higher priced than City, currently City is 9 plus for the lowest model in Mumbai so Jazz is unlikely to be anything less than 7.5 on road. Honda commands a premium here and they are unlikely to squander that in the Jazz pricing. However I will be glad to be proved wrong.

Competing with Fabia and i20 I don't know, even in UK it sits in its own space and starts at 9k pounds but this is a 1.5 I think, plus lots of reviewers and users really like the Jazz for the space, design and practicality. That's going to appeal to lots of folks here too. It not going to be cheap.

I heard that the car will roll out in July end. Earlier it was expected in March but due to continuous impact of recession the launch of was pushed back. I now think that Honda will soon launch its small cars because other car manufacturers are also pacing their new car launches.

I feel customers in India will be required to pay at least a 50k premium to get a "straight H" instead of the slanting one.

Originally Posted by diabloo (Post 1211918)

Are the prices launched officially?
I think its written analysts and not company people who speculated the 5.5-6.5 price.
It wont be below 7 imo.

Originally Posted by diabloo (Post 1211918)

+1
The neatness in which they priced the Accord v6, I dont see it any cheaper than 8L OTR!

Already being discussed here:-

http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/indian...unch-soon.html

@Mods, Kindly do the needful