RJK

Very easy..the Octavia TDi.
accent CRDI is pretty silent too
Believe me Sahil, its NOT !
Old 20th May 2005, 00:21   #17

I am wondering why the benzes are not in this voting thread ... No voting on the 200 CDI, 220 CDI, 270 CDI .. These are indian cars too !!!!
Old 20th May 2005, 00:25   #18

I am wondering why the benzes are not in this voting thread ... No voting on the 200 CDI, 220 CDI, 270 CDI .. These are indian cars too !!!!
Since when did we start getting those for under 12 lakhs?

Drifter
Old 20th May 2005, 00:26   #19

Originally Posted by EVO6
the topic title says
"The most silent diesel sedan (under 12 lac category)"

EDIT : Drifter already replied

Last edited by adya33 : 20th May 2005 at 00:28.
Old 20th May 2005, 00:27   #20

Second hand ... Now a days go for some rediculous prices drifter ...
The W210's are there now a days at 10-12 Lacs!!!!!
Old 20th May 2005, 00:27   #21

Originally Posted by drifter
Since when did we start getting those for under 12 lakhs?

Drifter
may be third or fourth hander?
Old 20th May 2005, 00:31   #22

Ya maybe ... My friend bought a 2nd hand 1997 E 250D W124 35000Km for 4.5 Lacs ... incredible price rite .. Anyone interested will try to find from the company for refurbished ones
Old 20th May 2005, 00:33   #23

Second hand ... Now a days go for some rediculous prices drifter ...
The W210's are there now a days at 10-12 Lacs!!!!!
Agreed, you might get used ones.

Drifter
Old 20th May 2005, 00:37   #24

Originally Posted by speedsatya
but i have seen the elantra.it very silent as well.about the maruti and accent diesels ,u dont need a horn.its that silent.

maybe thats becasue these 12 lac cars cannot be afforded by everyone
Old 20th May 2005, 01:17   #25

As far as the quietest of the diesel engines are concerned , the elentra CRD-i is in a league of its own , it is more quieter than the octavia 1.9 tdi .

So , if i am to choose a quiet diesel engine between these , i would go in for elantra Crd-i but as far as the inside(cabin) is concerned , yes the octavia takes the cake coz the elantra is not that well insulated .

Least noisy engine : Elantra Crd-i

Quietest cabin (inside) : Octavia 1.9 tdi
Old 20th May 2005, 03:56   #26

OCTY and then the CRDi's....
Old 20th May 2005, 04:03   #27

Originally Posted by ported_head
The 1.9Tdi in the Octy isn't a Pumpe-Deuse engine, right? Atleast the one planted in Indian cars right?
Nope its not. its just a regular Tdi (rotary pump). The Tdi PD is 115hp and up....its even noisier than the Tdi........might show up in the Octy II.
Old 20th May 2005, 05:40   #28

Definately the Octy. The Elantra seconds up though...
Old 20th May 2005, 12:45   #29

Silent diesels? For me it is the Octavia by far. But I think the CRDI and the Petra are decent too.
Old 20th May 2005, 22:29   #30

petra noway,its has to be either octavia or the elantra,i feel its the elantra because the skoda tends to get boomy at times.