Old 11th September 2009, 13:36   #91

Originally Posted by mobike008 View Post
I read in TOI today that E-Class is being phased out in India as they normally do with a variant every 7 years. So this launch seems contradictory. Can someone clarify?
The w211 will be phased out to be replaced with the W212. They wont be phasing out the E class range completely as you understood it. There are discounts available for the w211 till stocks last.
Old 12th September 2009, 01:41   #92

Speedy, could you share the discounts being offered on the current 'E' class ?
Old 12th September 2009, 02:43   #93
Awaiting Email Confirmation

speedy, please share a few points about the discounts for the current W211. The guys at AutoHangar told me max. disc is of 3 lakhs though i have heard they were once ready to give 8-10 lakhs
Also can u please throw some light on the price hike of the W212 over the W211?
is it worth giving my 2007 E280 CDI Elegance against this new one?
if the price hike is a lot, then hopefully the resale value of the W211 wont plummet!
Old 12th September 2009, 15:56   #94

Originally Posted by ecclipse78 View Post
Speedy, could you share the discounts being offered on the current 'E' class ?
The discount offered is 3.8 Lakhs on the car right now and when the w211 upgraded version was getting ready for delivery was to raise the discount on the last few cars by throwing in freebies. So keep in touch with your mercedes dealer to know more.

Originally Posted by Akki_5 View Post
speedy, please share a few points about the discounts for the current W211. The guys at AutoHangar told me max. disc is of 3 lakhs though i have heard they were once ready to give 8-10 lakhs
Also can u please throw some light on the price hike of the W212 over the W211?
is it worth giving my 2007 E280 CDI Elegance against this new one?
if the price hike is a lot, then hopefully the resale value of the W211 wont plummet!
The Discount like you mentioned is of 3.8 lakhs. Like i mentioned to ecclipse they would throw in freebies and this raises the discount amount. Thats what they did the last time when the upgraded w211 was being released. The w212 is going for 63 Lakhs so do your maths Akki. i have a 07 e280 cdi as well and my friend working at Auto hanger told me to hold on to my car as the difference i would have to pay is 20 odd lakhs to upgrade. Check with Autohanger and the outside what your car is valued at. This would give you an idea of how much of a difference you would have to pay to upgrade. The W212 E 350cdi only releases next year in Febuary. I presume this is what you would go in for.
The resale value of the 280cdi would not plummet but would have a drop. It always happens when a new model comes in and the normal norms that apply to any second hand car.
Old 12th September 2009, 16:19   #95

Originally Posted by Cyrus43 View Post
I must say though, I prefer the Older car's shape. Much Much more elegant than this current one.
Second that. The front end looks like the C class. The rear tailights seem to be inspired by the BMW 3 series. The rear is almost, dare I say...boxy!
Old 15th September 2009, 11:52   #96

Akki_5 just found out the second hand price for the w211 07 280 cdi is around 30 to 35 lakhs depending on the condition of the car. Hope this helps you in decideing whether to keep your car or upgrade to the w212. Thank you.
Old 15th September 2009, 17:23   #97

Found an article on Overdrive India for the W212 with pictures. As per the pictures, the first model will indeed be E 350 non CGI version. Article says its the CGI version . Also note the alloys are 16 inchers in the ELEGANGE version and it does get the LED instead of the fog lamps.

Below is the link to the article. Enjoy.

Star power - Mercedes-Benz E 350 CGI Driven - First Drive : Overdrive

Found another article on the same in Autocar India.

:: AUTOCAR INDIA - CAR AND BIKE MAGAZINE ::

Last edited by neeld : 15th September 2009 at 17:36. Reason: Found another article
Old 15th September 2009, 17:55   #98

Confirmed: Launch on 23rd September

The Mercedes India website has the countdown for e-class launch

here is the link

Mercedes-Benz India -

p.s: mods, time to update the thread title. sorry if its been already posted.
W212 Mercedes E350 CGI in Pune EDIT : Launch on 5th October-eclass.jpg  

Old 16th September 2009, 09:45   #99

The car will be available in:
  • Iridium Silver
  • Cuprit Brown
  • Palladium Silver
  • Obsidian Black
  • Slate blue
  • Calcite white
  • Tenorite Grey
W212 Mercedes E350 CGI in Pune EDIT : Launch on 5th October-dsc01257.jpg  

W212 Mercedes E350 CGI in Pune EDIT : Launch on 5th October-dsc01258.jpg  

W212 Mercedes E350 CGI in Pune EDIT : Launch on 5th October-dsc01259.jpg  

W212 Mercedes E350 CGI in Pune EDIT : Launch on 5th October-dsc01260.jpg  

W212 Mercedes E350 CGI in Pune EDIT : Launch on 5th October-dsc01262.jpg  

W212 Mercedes E350 CGI in Pune EDIT : Launch on 5th October-dsc01265.jpg  

W212 Mercedes E350 CGI in Pune EDIT : Launch on 5th October-dsc01266.jpg  

W212 Mercedes E350 CGI in Pune EDIT : Launch on 5th October-dsc01268.jpg  

W212 Mercedes E350 CGI in Pune EDIT : Launch on 5th October-dsc01269.jpg  

W212 Mercedes E350 CGI in Pune EDIT : Launch on 5th October-dsc01272.jpg  

W212 Mercedes E350 CGI in Pune EDIT : Launch on 5th October-dsc01275.jpg  

W212 Mercedes E350 CGI in Pune EDIT : Launch on 5th October-dsc01277.jpg  

W212 Mercedes E350 CGI in Pune EDIT : Launch on 5th October-dsc01278.jpg  

W212 Mercedes E350 CGI in Pune EDIT : Launch on 5th October-dsc01279.jpg  

Last edited by sidindica : 16th September 2009 at 09:59.
Old 23rd September 2009, 01:29   #100
Awaiting Email Confirmation

Originally Posted by speedy View Post
Akki_5 just found out the second hand price for the w211 07 280 cdi is around 30 to 35 lakhs depending on the condition of the car. Hope this helps you in decideing whether to keep your car or upgrade to the w212. Thank you.
Hey speedy, thanks for the bit of info. I think mine should go for 35 as it is in low-mileage and awesome condition. Luckily i have parking inside my house so that keeps jealous people and pranksters away!
I am definitely planning to keep this one atleast until the cdi is out in february or so.
oh btw, do u know any guy in Bombay who can handle the three-pointers apart from AutoHangar. My car is due for service and the sad thing is that AutoHangar charges exorbitantly for these things. Plus, i dont feel convinced that my car is serviced unless i see it get serviced (i am a little skeptical on whether dealerships even change the oil during service! ) and i dont think AutoHangar will let me be with my baby when they work on it! so if you know of any third party equally good or better with these beauties, kindly let me know.
thanks mate.
Old 23rd September 2009, 09:11   #101

Akki- get in touch with GTO, I remember him mentioning of a good garage in south Mumbai.
Old 23rd September 2009, 10:55   #102

The media launch is today between 12:00-3:00 at Hyatt hotel Bikaji Kama Place, Delhi. Anyone going there?
Old 23rd September 2009, 12:28   #103

Originally Posted by Akki_5 View Post
Hey speedy, thanks for the bit of info. I think mine should go for 35 as it is in low-mileage and awesome condition. Luckily i have parking inside my house so that keeps jealous people and pranksters away!
I am definitely planning to keep this one atleast until the cdi is out in february or so.
oh btw, do u know any guy in Bombay who can handle the three-pointers apart from AutoHangar. My car is due for service and the sad thing is that AutoHangar charges exorbitantly for these things. Plus, i dont feel convinced that my car is serviced unless i see it get serviced (i am a little skeptical on whether dealerships even change the oil during service! ) and i dont think AutoHangar will let me be with my baby when they work on it! so if you know of any third party equally good or better with these beauties, kindly let me know.
thanks mate.
Thats the price of the car today akki, tom shall be a new day. so expect the price to fall by feb. Most of the cars have covered parkings and there are few who wholeheartedly use the cars so dont hold the 35 lakhs as the end and beyond. If at that time the car value drops to 30 or less in the market then that is what you shall get.
My car goes to the Auto Hanger and the only other place i can think of where i would send my car is Mid Town. The next time you do want to send it to autohanger and be present as well give me a shout and you can spend time not only with your car but with others as well.

Originally Posted by Sahil View Post
Akki- get in touch with GTO, I remember him mentioning of a good garage in south Mumbai.
, contact GTO.
Old 23rd September 2009, 15:15   #104

Just checked out the Mercedes Benz India website. The timer for the launch has stopped but still no updates . Does anyone have more information ?

W212 Mercedes E350 CGI in Pune EDIT : Launch on 5th October-picture-1.png
Old 23rd September 2009, 15:31   #105

They have started sending out mailers. Received one by post yesterday notifying the launch on 26th.