6-8 KPL 13 9.70%
8- 9.5 KPL 27 20.15%
9.5- 11 44 32.84%
11 + 50 37.31%
Voters: 134. You may not vote on this poll

Old 28th April 2014, 23:28   #91

Re: What is the fuel consumption of your SX4 ( average kya hai)

Mine is a 2009 non VVT ZXi version. The mileage varies a lot by driving style. Constant cruising with gradual speed changes will give in excess of 15. The lowest achieved is around 8.5-9 in summer, Bangalore traffic and continuous AC. Also my car isnt regularly driven so the average FE is around 10 in the city and around 14 on the highway, with a medium aggressive driving.

My cousin has a 2013 version ZXi, the latest one and his daily commute of NICE road in the morning and electronic city + bannerghatta road + BTM layout signals gets him an impressive 13kmpl. I guess if he used NICE road both ways, it will again cross the 15kmpl mark since whatever is gained in the morning journey will be heavily lost when he returns in the horrible traffic.

In the poll I see that most owners have voted for the 11kmpl category whereas others have voted based on hearsay. My message for owners as well as prospective used car buyers is the car is no way a fuel guzzler. For its segment it gives decent FE. Since its a Drive by wire car, if one is aggressive with the throttle, the car happily accelarates, but at the cost of more fuel. Be light on the throttle and no matter the conditions, you will get better FE.

Another request to people who don't own the car and claim single digit figures is to blame their/the driver in question's driving style. My father used to be lazy to change gears and used to push the car in the same gear, such as fifth by flooring the throttle. The car can pick up no doubt, but we never used to get more than 13 on the highways. Now that he downshifts as the car slows down and goes easy on the throttle, he too manages 14+kmpl figures.
Old 12th May 2014, 09:03   #92

Originally Posted by audioholic View Post

Another request to people who don't own the car and claim single digit figures is to blame their/the driver in question's driving style.
My dad's SX4 never used to give above 12kmpl be it any style of driving which used to make him crazy seeing those figures. The Honda city (1.5L I-DSi) never delivered below 15 kmpl.

Anurag.
a4anurag is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 12th May 2014, 11:26   #93

We now have both, a Petrol and Diesel SX4 at home. The figures that we're getting are:

June 2009 SX4 ZXI Petrol (odometer: 60K | 100% A/C)
  • City: 10-11 kmpl (worst ever: 7 kmpl, best ever: 13 kmpl)
  • Highway: 14-15 kmpl (worst ever: 12 kmpl, best ever: 17 kmpl)

May 2011 SX4 VDI Diesel (odometer: 50K | 100% A/C)
  • City: 15-16 kmpl (worst ever: 13 kmpl, best ever: 18 kmpl)
  • Highway: 20-21 kmpl (worst ever: 15 kmpl, best ever: 23 kmpl)
Old 12th May 2014, 11:46   #94

Originally Posted by maglev View Post
We now have both, a Petrol and Diesel SX4 at home. The figures that we're getting are:

June 2009 SX4 ZXI Petrol (odometer: 60K | 100% A/C)
  • City: 10-11 kmpl (worst ever: 7 kmpl, best ever: 13 kmpl)
  • Highway: 14-15 kmpl (worst ever: 12 kmpl, best ever: 17 kmpl)

May 2011 SX4 VDI Diesel (odometer: 50K | 100% A/C)
  • City: 15-16 kmpl (worst ever: 13 kmpl, best ever: 18 kmpl)
  • Highway: 20-21 kmpl (worst ever: 15 kmpl, best ever: 23 kmpl)

My Sx4 ZDI, (2012)

Summer City : 14-15 kmpl (100% ac)
Summer Highway: 17-18 kmpl (100% ac)

Winter City: 17-18 kmpl
Winter Highway: 19-20 kmpl

Figures concluded on tankful method.

I have never achieved more than 20 kmpl on the highway, even though i am using synthetic oil.

A

Last edited by amitpunjani : 12th May 2014 at 11:47.
Old 12th May 2014, 11:46   #95

I own a March 2011 ZXi and on average I get around 10 in the city and about 13 on highways. The AC is on at least 80% of the time.

I sparingly use the car so I am not overly concerned about the fuel efficiency. In a couple of months it will become a daily runner and I will probably feel the pinch then. But judging by the posts here I don't think the fuel consumption is too bad.

Parik
Old 13th May 2014, 00:33   #96

Originally Posted by amitpunjani View Post
My Sx4 ZDI, (2012)

Summer City : 14-15 kmpl (100% ac)
Summer Highway: 17-18 kmpl (100% ac)

Winter City: 17-18 kmpl
Winter Highway: 19-20 kmpl

Figures concluded on tankful method.

I have never achieved more than 20 kmpl on the highway, even though i am using synthetic oil.

A

I'm also on fully-synthetic and that 23 KMPL is the result of constantly driving at 65-70 KMPH along with trying to hyper-mile at every possible occasion. Me and my brother wanted to see how much we could extract.

But I'd like to add one thing here in favour of the SX4 Diesel, its an amazing car and is great fun behind the wheel. I don't know how but the Fiat Multi-Jet engine with VGT just feels a lot larger than 1242CC.
Old 13th May 2014, 10:06   #97

Originally Posted by maglev View Post
I'm also on fully-synthetic and that 23 KMPL is the result of constantly driving at 65-70 KMPH along with trying to hyper-mile at every possible occasion. Me and my brother wanted to see how much we could extract.

But I'd like to add one thing here in favour of the SX4 Diesel, its an amazing car and is great fun behind the wheel. I don't know how but the Fiat Multi-Jet engine with VGT just feels a lot larger than 1242CC.
I fully agree with you, Sx4 Diesel is great car to drive, above 1800 RPM, the engine has different story altogether. Apparently Fiat wisely played with the gear ratios Fiat, that is why its hard to believe its 1.3 MJD engine.

I will soon approaching 30k, just out of curiosity, wanted to know did you perform EGR clearning @ 30K?

A
Old 13th May 2014, 10:12   #98

Apparently Fiat wisely played with the gear ratios Fiat, that is why its hard to believe its 1.3 MJD engine.

I will soon approaching 30k, just out of curiosity, wanted to know did you perform EGR clearning @ 30K?
Isn't it engineers at Maruti who played around with the gearing and IIRC they also did something with the ECU (correct me if I'm wrong) to get better power any torque figures. Right?

EGR cleaning is advised if you feel a drop in power or drive-ability. The cleaning doesn't give any great feel of change while driving but just mental satisfaction.
Anurag.
Old 13th May 2014, 10:25   #99

I fully agree with you, Sx4 Diesel is great car to drive, above 1800 RPM, the engine has different story altogether. Apparently Fiat wisely played with the gear ratios Fiat, that is why its hard to believe its 1.3 MJD engine.

A
The EGR valve or Exhaust Gas Re-circulation Valve allows for some amount of exhaust gas to be mixed with the air-fuel mixture, and reduces nitrous oxide (NOX) emissions by preventing the engine from becoming too hot.

If one doesn't get the EGR cleaned, it could lead to: rough idling, hesitant / surging acceleration, knocking and ultimately reduced engine life.

I did get it done from MASS about a year ago and it cost around 3K.

Originally Posted by a4anurag View Post
Isn't it engineers at Maruti who played around with the gearing and IIRC they also did something with the ECU (correct me if I'm wrong) to get better power any torque figures. Right?

EGR cleaning is advised if you feel a drop in power or drive-ability. The cleaning doesn't give any great feel of change while driving but just mental satisfaction.
Anurag.
That's what I've also read / heard.

Last edited by maglev : 13th May 2014 at 10:49.
Old 13th May 2014, 10:43   #100

I have a 2010 ZXi, done 63,000 kms till date. Usage is 50% highway and 50% town, AC on always. Getting ~10kmpl. Have never gone beyond 12kmpl, even on long road trips.
Old 14th May 2014, 17:26   #101

I own August 2012 model ZDI SX4.

Very impressive figures.....in City I have got 18 km average many a times with 80% A/C

On Highway, of course it's less, because of speed...I had got 14 average (100% ac) last 2 times and last week also I took it for a long drive for almost 4K km, it gave me 15 with 100% A/c but with mobil oil and Nitrogen in Types!

I love my SX4 for its speed and in particular the confidence it gives on the highway driving! It clocked 35K kms as of now.

As somebody stated here, after 2000 rpm the vehicle's character changes!

Thumbs up for the Fiat Engine plus Maruti's tuning!
Old 15th April 2015, 01:41   #102

Note: All figures are with 100% AC

CITY : My fuel efficiency is anywhere between 9.5 - 11.5 kmpl.
Also office is 7 kms and it takes almost 2 kms for the engine to reach its required temp. So the rpm is always at the higher side during this time.

HIGHWAY : This one is interesting.
If the car is not loaded i.e. on 2 people, negligible luggage, driving at 100 km/h the car returns 16-17 kmpl.

Loaded car i.e. atleast 4 people, driving at 100-110 km/h car returns only 12 kmpl (Same figure for my 3 last 1100 km trips)