Old 2nd July 2009, 14:45   #16

Originally Posted by Guna View Post
According to Autocar, the 1.5L will be a lakh more and auto version will be pricier by almost another lakh.
Then a fully loaded Jazz for another extra lac. I hope Jazz fails. I think the i20's and the GP's will surely give a kick on the backside to the Jazz.
Old 2nd July 2009, 15:10   #17

above 1.2L for the 1.5 L
pricing of the 1.5L
1.5L at the same price
with the 1.2L
The 1.2L and 1.5L here refers to Lakhs right? See what Honda's pricing startegy is doing to me!
Old 2nd July 2009, 15:21   #18

well, lets see -

Jazz (7.5 lac) + 1.5 Litre engine excise duty (1.5 lac) + auto tranny (1 lac) = 10 lac

In case someone is very KEEN on buying a HATCHBACK ONLY, to put things in perspective, throw in a couple more lacs and this is what you might get -

PRESENTING the 2009 MERCEDES BENZ A-CLASS
Jazz with 1.5L coming-2009mercedesaclassspecialedition.jpg  

Jazz with 1.5L coming-2009mercedesaclassspecialeditionimage.jpg  

Jazz with 1.5L coming-2009mercedesaclassspecialeditionpicture.jpg  

Jazz with 1.5L coming-2009mercedesaclassinterior.jpg  

Old 2nd July 2009, 15:44   #19

Originally Posted by sgiitk View Post
We must not forget the 1.5 will attract far higher excise. So it is not only the avarice of Honda to be blamed.
Hmmm, I agree that the 1.5 will attract a higher excise than the 1.2, but then Honda did not pass on the advantage of lower excise to buyers of the 1.2, did it?

So, It appears to me that Honda is trying to price its products at the maximum possible price that the market is willing to pay. Not sure if you can call it avarice, but these rates definitely take it outside my budget for a hatch.

However, I guess the Indian consumer is lapping it up even at these prices. I've already seen 5 registered Honda Jazz cars while on my way to work today. Damn, I must be grossly underpaid.
Old 2nd July 2009, 15:51   #20

Complicates matters for Honda completely, launching a 1.5 Jazz, wouldn't it? A hatch at the price of its entry level sedan, now who will buy what! I guess if at all they launch the 1.5, it might mean a price cut for the 1.2 and 1.5 comes at the current 1.2 jazz price. Which means a lot of people who were Honda faithfuls (read the present crop of buyers for the Jazz), would feel cheated, like the civic hybrid customers would've felt.
Old 2nd July 2009, 15:58   #21

Originally Posted by vineethvazhayil View Post
Complicates matters for Honda completely, launching a 1.5 Jazz, wouldn't it? A hatch at the price of its entry level sedan, now who will buy what! I guess if at all they launch the 1.5, it might mean a price cut for the 1.2 and 1.5 comes at the current 1.2 jazz price. Which means a lot of people who were Honda faithfuls (read the present crop of buyers for the Jazz), would feel cheated, like the civic hybrid customers would've felt.
Price cut within a month? I doubt that. No manufacturer would do such a thing. Its more likely that they'll launch it and price it bang in City territory.
Old 2nd July 2009, 16:37   #22

Originally Posted by gitartha View Post

In case someone is very KEEN on buying a HATCHBACK ONLY, to put things in perspective, throw in a couple more lacs and this is what you might get -

PRESENTING the 2009 MERCEDES BENZ A-CLASS
Are they launching it in India? If they do, I dont see it priced less then 16 lakhs.

Last edited by Guna : 2nd July 2009 at 16:39.
Old 2nd July 2009, 17:32   #23

Cartradeindia is speaking rubbish. I doubt the Jazz 1.5 will ever come. The 1.2 is overpriced, despite excise benefits for the small petrol. A 10 lakh rupee 1.5 liter hatch? I don't think so.
Old 2nd July 2009, 18:05   #24

Honda is already digging a pit with the Jazz pricing. IF they are to release a 1.5, they will be digging themselves a grave and with an earth-mover.
Old 2nd July 2009, 19:54   #25

if this car ever gets launched, i can see this thread turning into another honda bashing thread ! that will be fun :-)
Old 2nd July 2009, 22:10   #26

Originally Posted by jassi View Post
if this car ever gets launched, i can see this thread turning into another honda bashing thread ! that will be fun :-)
You mean we haven't started the bashing yet?
Old 2nd July 2009, 22:18   #27

Even the current Autocar (July edition) talks about a possible launch in 2010 (page 43). However they have been contemplating a Fiesta 1.6 TDCi since ages.

Ideally speaking a hatchback shouldn't cost too less to manufacture in comparison to its corresponding sedan. The price differences that we usually see are mainly due to differences in tax structures and some market positioning done by the manufacturers.
Old 2nd July 2009, 22:44   #28

Originally Posted by centaur View Post
well thats pretty optimistic I must say. 1.5L at the price of a 1.2L that too from Honda.
Probably the 1.5 is the IDSI engine that did the duty on the NHC?
Old 3rd July 2009, 10:03   #29

okie now so pidly autocar and taxi car mag will decide who is going to launch what and when?? dont you get it,its just the stunt to keep the gossip going on forever and sell those pages
Old 4th July 2009, 01:45   #30

Amazing forum is this. Isn't it? A car is just launched with 1.2L engine & people have already started about talking 1.5L engine.