Old 17th June 2005, 16:02   #16
Awaiting Email Confirmation

Originally Posted by GTO
But where is the real stuff i.e. FIRST HAND CAR INFORMATION!!

Hey its right here on TEAM-BHP.COM
Old 17th June 2005, 17:33   #17

NDTV's show is the best of the lot. Havent watched zee's "auto show", but
can imagine from the quality of zee news reports...
CNBC show was refreshing when it was launched....now it is a drooning bore.
Star's Show used to be good, until someone had a bright idea, that s**y legs
will get more eyeb**ls for the show....
but they did not reckon that many boys like cars more than girls...

Last edited by Conan : 17th June 2005 at 17:35.
Old 17th June 2005, 21:35   #18

Originally Posted by GTO
Recipe for another yet another mundane Indian car show :

1. Indian girl in short skirts - Knowledge of cars entirely unnecessary.
2. Good animation and intro music. Lift from any 1990 techno song
3. Additional Indian girl in short skirt. 1st girl covers cars. This one will do bikes.
4. Information clipped from news channels.
5. Good camera work on different angles of the car.
6. 10 p.m. slot on popular tv channel.
7. Yet another girl in tight attire or a short skirt
8. Bharat Petroleum "Speed" ads every 5 minutes.
9. Mention the top speed and fuel efficiency of every new car.
10. Finale on "what we will cover next week" by another chick in short skirts.

Its as simple as that.

But where is the real stuff i.e. FIRST HAND CAR INFORMATION!!

this aint no car show this is just skin show I loved the show shown in cnbc which had hormaz shorabjee in it and the show in bbc was also good

Last edited by kooldude : 17th June 2005 at 21:37.
Old 18th June 2005, 00:07   #19

I recently saw the US version of Top Gear called as Fifth Gear on Speed. Man the guys just killed the Opel Vectra/Vauxhall Vectra. From the looks to the interiors to the quality. I have never seen an auto show where they blast the cars with hard language like that. Is the Opel Vectra that bad? The car used in the show would not even open its boot using the remote opening button. It needed the good old key to open it.

Other auto shows in US focus mostly on modifying hot rods, and monster trucks. They are cool as well. May be Indian channels should have some shows on modifying desi cars, that would be cool.
-Prasadee
Old 18th June 2005, 02:17   #20

i dont know if u guys used to see that but there was a show on, i think star (before the advent of star1 and the ancillary channels) which was hosted by rally ace rahul khanna from delhi (oberoi hotelwallas grandson) i think he knew what he was talking, much like hormusd sorabjee on cnbc profit and he did a good show.
then someone got a bright idea to do a programme like top drive (no offence meant but it was baaaaaad), a few of which i (shamefully) saw, like the one with mukul dev in a 270cdi, and parizad zorabian in a wagonR, some moron couple in the suzuki suv etc etc. the producers got confused whether they want a travel show or a car show, and we had none of either. they actually had a photographer telling u what-e-car in one show. thats all she could say about the car coz thats where her knowledge of cars began and finished.
All these shows ape foriegn shows (arre baba ape to thik se karo yaar). they have constipated looking presenters who know nothing about cars and one show actually has a bumbling bafoon, mr. bean meets jeremy clarkson kindaguy who drives you up the wall.
SUGGESTION SUGGESTION::
i think tv channels should approach our site (possesive huh?) and get fellow BHPians to host these shows....say what buddies?
mai koi jhoot boliya?
Old 18th June 2005, 08:23   #21

The Car and Bike show is pretty good. And isn't Top Drive stopped now or it changed to Top Drive Getaway or sumthing. Wish someone like JC turned up
Old 18th June 2005, 12:14   #22

Yeah all the so called car shows are just for show and I really hated Top drive. Of all the shows only Car and bike show and Auto show are reasonably good.
Old 18th June 2005, 16:29   #23

Car Shows back here are useless...out of the lot NDTV gives an OK coverage....have you ever seen ZEE's, its aweful. Nothing to match Top Gear and Auto und Motor sport(DW TV).
Indian Shows:GET INSPIRED
Old 19th June 2005, 06:31   #24

We all hate these non tech car shows.....

I really liked the response u guys have given !! I was sure everyone hated these stupid cars shows!! dont know what the target audience is ??
What do u guys think of WRC on AXN ?
they are quite good - they always have some tech info everytime...
tyre compound..,traction, diffrentials etc etc.
and they let us hear the sound of the cars also, plus the camera angles are amazing...u can see the powerslides, cars flying over bumps ..
Old 25th September 2005, 20:55   #25

Nothing beats today's edition of the auto show on CNBC's Awaz channel.
This guy was testing a Porsche Carrera S. He comes up with statements like, "Like all European cars, this one has low ground clearance." and "Despite a price tag of Rs. 73 lakhs, it can't even carry 3 persons."
Now give me a break. Dude, for Heaven's sake, you're driving a 300km/h sports car and not a Toyota Land Cruiser to have 10 million mm ground clearance.
And about carrying 3 people? You buy a 2 door coupe for exclusivity, not to use as a school bus. Go get yourself a Maruti Omni!
Will these morons ever learn? I'm just so damned angry!
Old 25th September 2005, 21:05   #26

forget about top:drive,in top drive getaway one female described the terracan as an elephant!!! :WTF:
The show was sad!!
Old 26th September 2005, 00:08   #27

WTF?! I've seen a Carrera S with four people in it. They can't even get that right?!
Old 26th September 2005, 00:49   #28

Originally Posted by v1p3r
WTF?! I've seen a Carrera S with four people in it. They can't even get that right?!
i don't think Aditya was angry because of seating capacity wrongly mentioned
but rather about total lack of knowledge of reporter about sports cars
Old 26th September 2005, 01:23   #29

Absolute blunder... That show on aawaz is one of the worst I've ever seen. It's really sad that morons like these fellows get to drive such exclusive machinery. The other guy on the zee news show seemed like some victim of starvation and he was driving an SL500

Dippy
Old 26th September 2005, 06:58   #30

Originally Posted by Dippy
Absolute blunder... That show on aawaz is one of the worst I've ever seen. It's really sad that morons like these fellows get to drive such exclusive machinery. The other guy on the zee news show seemed like some victim of starvation and he was driving an SL500
Dippy
That skinny guy is a fool, I had seen that same guy give a reviews of a hero honda or something ... he should stick to 4 stroke 100 cc econo bikes...