Team-BHP > The Indian Car Scene

Search this Thread
Old 6th July 2009, 22:07   #16
BHPian

Scary to say the least!

Hi!

I was evaluating a SKODA Laura. I am scared to go for it now! I would rather trust Toyota or Chvrolet for that matter. Man, I have been owning a FIAT for about 3 years, and I have been greatly happy with the post sales service (and people do not even take a minute to bash them for poor A-S-S). This story from SKODA is scary to say the least!
Old 6th July 2009, 22:20   #17
Senior - BHPian

Guys, tell me one thing, how many customers is Skoda willing to loose?

Last year, we were looking to buy a luxury vehicle and I quite liked the Laura, but did not even consider it due to the horror stories on this site.

Even now, I am willing to shell out 7 lacs + for a diesel hatch, but still I refuse to consider the Fabia.

Wake up Skoda!
Old 6th July 2009, 22:22   #18
Team-BHP Support

I am very very sorry for your situation. This is actually the first time that I feel so ashamed about plight of the consumer in this country, how can this company be allowed to do business in India.

I am almost scared to ask you this, but did the fine gentleman Mr Bapat die a natural death ?
Old 6th July 2009, 22:32   #19
BHPian

This has got to be the limits.

I was seriously contemplating on buying the new Laura petrol base model to replace the 6 year old Palio GTX I own at present and even saved up the cash for it but this issue is the last straw. I am going to invest this money I set aside in buying a new flat in Tripunithura, Ernakulam tomorrow morning. Thanks to Skoda my money is going to appreciate and not depreciate like it does when buying automobiles. I am in two minds as to whether to wait for the Chevrolet Cruze.
Chevrolet Cruze review - Telegraph

Check out the torque figures for the base petrol.
Skoda Laura :: Technical Specifications ::

Alas! though I crave for the Laura petrol engine this purchase is surely out of the window with this latest revelation.