Old 16th August 2009, 21:27   #1

Delhities beware: Surprise Autorickshaw strike can cause massive morning traffic jams

An union of autorickshaw drivers have called for a surprise strike (update on 17th and 18th august)-cum-chakka jam in the coming 2 days to protest against police harassment regarding permit rules and impound of vehicles.

An appeal to all persons living in Delhi-NCR-if possible, try to carpool to office tomorrow and day after and beware of long traffic jams that may be in store for you in the morning, so plan your office trip in advance.

Spread the message to all your relatives/ peers living in Delhi.

Last edited by sidindica : 16th August 2009 at 21:36.
Old 16th August 2009, 21:31   #2

No one has the right to cause jam and hold public traffic.

Bring in the Army and Tanks and teach them a lesson!

You have the right to hold a strike, but not hold traffic jam.
Old 16th August 2009, 21:35   #3

Originally Posted by aerohit View Post

Not at all possible!
If it had been some harmless students, etc, the Army/Tanks would come in!
Here, it is a part of the Vote bank and major source of corruption!

Keep us updated Delhiites!
Old 16th August 2009, 21:35   #4

Hear hear! One tank at full throttle towards them and they'll scurry back with their tail between their feet.
Old 16th August 2009, 21:44   #5

Great. Now what about minister that do the same ? Forget them, I have seen certain people from government travel in luxury cars ( like Skoda Octavia ) with police car in front and sirens blazing.
Do you think that they have a right to do such things on public roads ? Do they deserve such treatment ?

And here before jumping the gun remember that they are protesting against police, an institution that itself is not reputed for honesty.

I am not blindly supporting them, but there are worse people in India that without doing anything or after doing negative activities end up blocking public roads or arrogantly using public roads.
Old 16th August 2009, 21:52   #6

+1 to that!
I am reminded of the thread started by GTO few weeks back when some parents were protesting against a school and were blocking the traffic in Mumbai!
Old 16th August 2009, 22:40   #7

Originally Posted by sidindica View Post
An union of autorickshaw drivers have called for a surprise strike (update on 17th and 18th august)-cum-chakka jam in the coming 2 days to protest against police harassment regarding permit rules and impound of vehicles.

An appeal to all persons living in Delhi-NCR-if possible, try to carpool to office tomorrow and day after and beware of long traffic jams that may be in store for you in the morning, so plan your office trip in advance.

Spread the message to all your relatives/ peers living in Delhi.
Thanx for the info Sid..if they really come up to chakka jam.. then God help us.. I still remember the day when there was waterlogging at Dwarka underpass... about 2 weeks back and it took me 4 hours to get till Sohna rd, Gurgaon from West Delhi (45kms)...moreover, complete Delhi was in mess.. I hope theres no traffic jam tomorrow..
Old 16th August 2009, 23:32   #8

Sadly for Indians democracy means "Freedom to do what ever you like, burn trains or buses, harrass or even kill innocent passengers at the slightest provocation, block traffic, loot public money, even spend thousands of crores to make memorial parks, create statues of so called leaders ..... and the list will go on into few pages.

We need tanks to crush at least a lac of such people, then rest of India will become the Golden India.
Old 17th August 2009, 08:20   #9

Why don't you actually do something the moment Bengaluru auto walas go on strike, instead of such idealistic posts.

I mean, LOL. Most of us middle class people just shrug and avoid loss. You can't go and wrestle with the pigs - votebank pigs at that!

Army .. Tanks ..

@Sid: Thanks for the headsup!
Old 17th August 2009, 10:09   #10

I am wondering...what will cause more jams; them doing a chakka jam or them plying their autos on the roads. It may not be a bad idea to have them off the road for a couple of days after all
Old 17th August 2009, 10:20   #11

The buggers are merrily waltzing around & adding to the usual confusion. Wish they'd gone on strike!
Old 17th August 2009, 11:23   #12

As a resident of Delhi for almost all my life, perhaps very few people would have any sympathy for the auto-rickshaw drivers. Nearly all either refuse or do not charge by the meter. Sad that only CWG has forced the authorities to open their eyes and make a half hearted effort. The number of rickshaws are far in excess of what is licenced. To see their driving habits (driving at 40 kmph in the far right lane, two rickshaws driving side by side with the rear rickshaw using the front rickshaw as a foot rest) is to lose any sympathy for them.
Old 17th August 2009, 11:36   #13

It is quite troublesome for people who are travelling in and out of the city. Reaching the airports or railway stations in time becomes a task.
Old 17th August 2009, 15:25   #14

I do ardently wish that the army brings in 3 battle tanks and deputes them across Delhi. Failure of the rickshaws to move after warning would mean automatic permission for the tanks to drive over them. Boy O Boy would I not mind getting stuck in traffic if that was happenin!
Old 17th August 2009, 17:17   #15

Thanks Auto Guys. I reached my Barakhamba Office 45mins late