Old 15th September 2009, 18:19   #286

Honda City, which is priced between Rs 8.37 lakh and Rs 10.24 lakh (ex-showroom Delhi), aiming to cash in on the upcoming festival season.
A Yahoo news
I am sure that city sale will drop from 4000 to 3000 for this month.
Old 15th September 2009, 18:48   #287

Originally Posted by oops View Post
Now compare the Prices. So, Think:"Is Honda really pricing City Wrong?"
I advise you to not go down this path. It only ends up with you getting infracted. Trust me, I have experience. No one really wants to read anything positive about Honda.
Old 15th September 2009, 18:57   #288

Originally Posted by ImmortalZ View Post
I advise you to not go down this path. It only ends up with you getting infracted. Trust me, I have experience. No one really wants to read anything positive about Honda.
Burned fingers
I like to read positive about Honda and most of the things are positive except pricing.
Imo Honda makes excellent cars and durable engines but in India they are indeed taking customers for a ride in pricing dept.

@oops- Nice analog.
The prices are almost same as 02. However in 02 honda had only competition with Lancer in city segment and now there are many options. Lesse how people regard this price increase.

Last edited by harry10 : 15th September 2009 at 18:59.
Old 15th September 2009, 19:22   #289

Toyota Corrola Altis 1.8J: 10.52 lacs City's engine is much better than Altis

Skoda Octavia 1.8 TPi: 10.94 lacs - Discounts + free service
(same engine as the erstwhile Octavia RS) Octavia sells only because of its Diesel Engine. Its petrol engine hardly sells. Even high cost of maintenance of Skoda.

Mitsubishi Cedia Spirit: 10.60 lacs - Discounts Interiors & Exteriors are not up to the mark.

Chevrolet Optra 1.6 LT: 10.17 lacs - Eternal Discounts Very Bad Petrol Engine. Very poor FE.

Chevrolet Optra 2.0 TCDi LS: 10.03 lacs - Eternal Discounts Good engine but doesn't sell because of GM's image.

So, City 09 is the Clear WInner.

I have Oct 02 Autocar Mag. It says:
1.3 Dx: 6.84L
1.5Exi: 8.08L
1.5Exi AT: 8.70L
1.5Vtec: 9.06
(All Prices Ex-Showroom Delhi). (1.3was 90Bhp,1.5 was 100Bhp and Vtec was 106Bhp)
And Today's Prices: (Today's 1.5 iVtec is 116 Bhp)
1.5 iVtec S: 8.37L
1.5 iVtec V: 8.82L
1.5 iVtec AT: 9.54L

NHC at launch was priced at Rs 6.67 lakhs Exi, Rs 7.07 lakh Gxi and Rs 7.67 lakh Gxi AT (ex-showroom Delhi).

The way Honda is going people will start deserting them for other cars. A colleague looking to buy a new car saw the ANHC prices today and decided to buy an Innova instead of the ANHC AT. I know that some here will smirk and say that they are two entirely different cars and not comparable: sedan-minivan, petrol-diesel, AT-manual. But if someone has to make a decision with their wallet alone then the ANHC pricing opens up a whole wide world of options.

Last edited by StarScream : 15th September 2009 at 19:24.
Old 15th September 2009, 19:51   #290

City's engine is much better than Altis
That's a rather sweeping statement without any numbers/stats to prove it. Both are Japanese with solid reliability and both brands have high value in India. If it comes to status symbol, Corolla is a segment higher than City. So I pay about 1.5L more over a V-MT and get a Corolla. The difference is too less to not be tempted for the Corolla.

(All Prices Ex-Showroom Delhi). (1.3was 90Bhp,1.5 was 100Bhp and Vtec was 106Bhp)
Yes, nothing's changed much. VTEC had boring alloys with some very ordinary interiors and features less than what then competitor Lancer used to offer (like door open warning, seat belt warning).
Old 15th September 2009, 19:54   #291
oss

Interesting. How many city's were they selling then?

Not to forget the component prices have become competitive over the period and the localisation content has also gone up over the years.
Old 15th September 2009, 19:59   #292

Nothing will happen even if Hyundai / Ford introduce car in that segment. For Indians, HONDA= Status Symbol
and Hyundai/Ford= VFM.
& most of Indians go for Status Symbol
I don't think that is true. In the currently economy quite a few people will think with their head rather than their heart. When I came back from a year long stint in January I decided to wait for the Jazz. I would have considered it at 6.5 lakhs OTR and even stretched to 7 lakhs. But I don't think 8 lakhs OTR in Pune brings it even into consideration. And I admit I love Honda cars. I look around in my work environment and my community of friends and most of them think in a similar manner. And most would not have thought so a year back. So if ANHC with its limited features sold a year back, it does not mean the ANANHC will sell now. With this pricing its sales are sure to go only one way i.e. down.
Old 15th September 2009, 20:50   #293

(same engine as the erstwhile Octavia RS) Octavia sells only because of its Diesel Engine. Its petrol engine hardly sells. Even high cost of maintenance of Skoda.

Mitsubishi Cedia Spirit: 10.60 lacs - Discounts Interiors & Exteriors are not up to the mark.

Chevrolet Optra 1.6 LT: 10.17 lacs - Eternal Discounts Very Bad Petrol Engine. Very poor FE.

Chevrolet Optra 2.0 TCDi LS: 10.03 lacs - Eternal Discounts Good engine but doesn't sell because of GM's image.

Are you diabloo's brother by any chance .

The Altis has a 130HP 1.8 and the City has a 116HP 1.5. How is the latter better than the former?

Its obvious you've never been inside one else you'd never even think about making that comment. Cedia is the best built Japanese car in its price range by not an insignificant margin.
Old 15th September 2009, 21:00   #294

Sttus Symbol man!

Altis's petrol is VVTi, as do iVTEC on City.. 132 bhp to 115 bhp and Altis base model has more features than City's big brother.. so where does City 09 wins.. Seems to me, someone is on a new ID to come out of the infraction!
Old 15th September 2009, 21:14   #295

I remember when ANHC was relieved it was priced 50K more than the existing one.

I don't believe in these prices quoted above.
Old 15th September 2009, 21:14   #296

how about on road price of the honda city in bangy ? How much is the increase ? How does it compare with the Altis ?
Old 15th September 2009, 21:38   #297

Originally Posted by Sudan NFS
I don't believe in these prices quoted above.
The prices quoted are correct and now published on the Honda website. Honda Car Prices India | Own a Honda in India | Honda Car costs

Oh, I now feel great for having bought ANHC last month, that too with a discount of ~20K on then price.

Last edited by psp62in : 15th September 2009 at 21:48.
Old 15th September 2009, 23:31   #298

Originally Posted by vasudeva View Post
Any thoughts as to how much incremental sales Civic will achieve with the new features and the new price.
May be it'll break Aveo Sales record
Old 16th September 2009, 08:00   #299

Originally Posted by KeepItSimple View Post
how about on road price of the honda city in bangy ? How much is the increase ? How does it compare with the Altis ?
I was told something like 11.5 OTR for the V-AT. You can get an Altis 1.8G for 13.3 OTR. Toyota can make a killing the way Honda has positioned it's cars. Can't understand why they want to hike prices - perhaps some kind of brotherly sentiments for their Jap competitor.
Old 16th September 2009, 09:43   #300
ashwinpak

Originally Posted by KeepItSimple View Post
A thumb rule for Bangalore is to add 20% to the ex showroom price. Around 11.5 Lacs is seriously huge money. For a Thai car (It is more Thai than Jap) with not-so-good handling, bad steering (EPS) and crap interiors, it is not worth paying this price. However, the paddle shifters are the ones to die for. That is the only reason why I am still reading these Honda threads.