Old 3rd September 2009, 11:13   #31

Originally Posted by sidindica View Post
diesel 2.0 VCDi
[*] max torque: 330 NM@ 2600 rpm
No one finds that odd? Torque in the diesel comes in at 2600rpm? I repeat. 2600rpm? Isn't that too high in the rpm range?

To add to it, the engine peaks at 4000rpm.
Old 3rd September 2009, 11:19   #32

I guess thats Max torque... 250 Nm of torque should be available from around 1800 rpm is my guess..
Old 3rd September 2009, 12:06   #33

Thanks for the info. Sid. This car interests me, might just get one after TDing.
I guess Skoda's(Octy/Laura) would be the worst affected.
Old 3rd September 2009, 12:18   #34

Pricing dud - Cruze Missile will fizzle out

If the pricing stays the same then this will not be a huge hit.
Setting it at 13L for a Manual Petrol will make it instantly less desirable than the Civic and the Altis. What are they thinking?

Suggestions:
Offer A/T in both Petrol and Diesel @ 13L
Price the base level variant M/T at 11 -11.5 L
Grand Launch offer - financing or some other goodies
Pay me a small commission (Marketing startegist )
Old 3rd September 2009, 12:35   #35

The car looks good overall but the brand image would act as a barrier for people to go for it against Honda and Toyota.
Moreover Chevrolet has an image of poor resale value & expensive maintaineance.
If the 3 year service plan is offered then it may act as a boost.
Old 3rd September 2009, 12:50   #36

great scoop Kid. I would consider this car as a better buy compared to Laura.

First impression is that this car is overpriced. Right price range would have been 11-13 range. GM just doesn't have the brand image to handle the slight premium pricing. Why do they have to overprice it, and later reduce prices 6 months down the line due to poor sales and thus tick off early adopters?
Old 3rd September 2009, 12:56   #37

Recent issues of horrible A$$ of Skoda may help GM. Laura and Sonata are the only competitors of Cruze in this segment and I think GM holds an edge over both of them in diesels. Cruze design is fresh, comes loaded and has better A$$ and possibly cheaper spares than Skoda.
However, initial pricing is the key.
Old 3rd September 2009, 12:58   #38

Awesome scoop. The diesel at 15 lacs should be quite VFM. The interiors rock. Looks like a batombile.
Old 3rd September 2009, 12:59   #39
Shivashara

I think, it should not cross 10 lakh for good volume.
Sorry but features are quite same as Linea only differance is the Engine capicity and for that 5, 6 lakh extra, no no

Old 3rd September 2009, 13:34   #40

The car overall seems be good, however I don't particularly fancy the grey/white interior colours and it definitely needs to be cheaper than 13-16, there's civic and Altis and IMHO unless I have a diesel preference I won't but the Cruze for more than Civic, so it would have to be cheaper than Civic or deliver more value at the same price.

Last edited by raul : 3rd September 2009 at 13:35.
Old 3rd September 2009, 13:36   #41

Originally Posted by Shivashara View Post
I think, it should not cross 10 lakh for good volume.
Sorry but features are quite same as Linea only differance is the Engine capicity and for that 5, 6 lakh extra, no no
I think around 13-13.5L ex showroom will be a good price for the diesel LTZ version.This car consists of Sunroof which i think will cost around a lakh if done outside.The quality of Optra is much much better than that of Linea.This car will have much better quality than optra or atleast will mach the quality of optra.So please dont compare linea which is in a lower segment.

Last edited by stable rock : 3rd September 2009 at 13:37.
Old 3rd September 2009, 13:37   #42

Originally Posted by amit View Post
No one finds that odd? Torque in the diesel comes in at 2600rpm? I repeat. 2600rpm? Isn't that too high in the rpm range?

To add to it, the engine peaks at 4000rpm.
It is not odd according to me. Torque peaks at 2600 rpm does not mean that it would produce too less torque at, say, 1750 rpm. Even Linea produces max torque at 2500 rpm and power peaks at 4000 rpm.
Old 3rd September 2009, 13:50   #43

the diesel sounds like the same one doing duties on the captiva. A spruced up version of the one on the optra magnum..
Old 3rd September 2009, 13:53   #44

Great scoop Sid I think that this car will be a hit at the price positioning that GM is thinking of.

Guys think about it this way, you're getting way more kit than you do in the Japs. One of the main things that caught my eye apart from styling is that there are rear AC vents.

In our market where majority of the customers of cars in this bracket are chauffeur driven, this feature alone might sway sales in favour of GM!

[quote=tanwaramit;1463950]Why do these manufacturers (except Hyundai) not consider auto boxes for Indian customers I fail to see.[quote]

Sir, I fail to understand you're argument, Honda, Toyota, and even Mahindra offer AT options on their cars. Also the Optra had an AT variant, the Captiva got one soon after launch, this car too will definitely have an AT, if not at launch then surely a couple of months down the line.
Old 3rd September 2009, 13:53   #45

GM needs to undercut the Altis and Civic to succeed.I dont think Cruze is fit enough to be pitted against Laura in terms of brand , though it defnitely looked good against Laura on Paper. Let's hope it is priced right may be 10 - 14 bracket ...Cheers!!