Old 7th September 2009, 15:22   #91

One can't get best of all worlds, EVER. Cruze as of now is all about sheer performance at value. No car as of now comes close to Cruze in equipment and raw power in this price segment (10-12 Lacs).

Last edited by 1-Testosterone : 7th September 2009 at 15:23.
Old 7th September 2009, 15:36   #92

Chevy Cruz if priced at 13L OTR Bangalore fully loaded (LTZ, I guess) will definitely shake up the diesel trio of under powered Octavia/Laura/Sonata. GM needs to get its pricing right the first time and not shoot its foot/customers with repeated price cuts like they are used to....

Chevy India was always associated with bankrupt GM and hence the sales of Optra Magnum never took off. also the earlier Magnums never came with ACC that was a shameful omission. LTZ comes with sun/moon roof and is loaded to the brim.

SRV - was more a show than go, it miserably fell short of the target buyer expectation on power/FTD factor.

the chevy cruze can come in with this good package and price of Rs 13 lacs
but unfortunately it lacks the "premium" feel that Skoda managed to bring with it.

Chevy isa badge that not many people will pay a premium for however good the car looks and may actually be - (remember the good-looking SRV?) Despite the good value that the Optra Magnum provides, we still dont see as many of them on the roads as we see Hondas and Toyotas.

GM in India has blotted its copybook several times over and that kind of thing takes time to erase from people's memories.

I for one, would prefer to wait and watch the success of Chevy Cruze before hazarding a comment about its envisaged success etc.

According to me, it will have its work cut out to match Honda and Toyota as well as the Skoda's of the world. its advantage against the Honda's and Toyota's of the world will mainly be that the Diesel engine.
Old 7th September 2009, 17:51   #93

Yep Auto would come by Feb latest, but it's already overpriced if at 13.5-14.5L, they need to be lower than Civic & altis to sell well. Looks dont alone sell in India.
Old 9th September 2009, 01:30   #94

Originally Posted by nissan View Post
Chevrolet's Diesel Engine is not like that. It is very reliable(also used in Captiva). It is going to be most powerful and most reliable engine & the Car is going to be most advanced in its segment(just like Superb did with TSI).SO you don't have to remember those days of Astra and Corsa-they are History. Though History repeats itself but this time it won't repeat with GM.
its not just about reliability.
GM has earned lot of bad credits in the past.
Poor resale value and expensive A.S.S.
i know its not fair on my part to think about the resale value of the car even before its launch but still buying a car for Rs15lakhs and selling it for Rs3lakhs in three years are so it very low and also waiting for ages for someone to buy the car is also pathetic and thats one reason why kept away from optra magnum even though i couldnt find anything wrong with the car.it tempted me very badly.
Old 9th September 2009, 09:57   #95

I think its the perceived resale which I still dont get it. A 2 yr old Octavia L&K 13L OTR sells for 9L while a similar Optra Magnum LT 11L OTR sells for 7L. Both top end models lose 4L on resale. Octavia TDI returns good mileage but is offset by the service costs.

I think its the branding - Skoda (had?) has better acceptance than Chevy.

Originally Posted by fuhrer View Post
its not just about reliability.
GM has earned lot of bad credits in the past.
Poor resale value and expensive A.S.S.
i know its not fair on my part to think about the resale value of the car even before its launch but still buying a car for Rs15lakhs and selling it for Rs3lakhs in three years are so it very low and also waiting for ages for someone to buy the car is also pathetic and thats one reason why kept away from optra magnum even though i couldnt find anything wrong with the car.it tempted me very badly.
Old 9th September 2009, 11:02   #96

Ah.. seems GM is interested in making a style statement in India.

The most interesting thing i found about the Cruze is the Start/Stop button which is supposedly located on the left side of the driver/ steering.
No keys needed - a first for the segment !

Exterior look wise its definitely imposing. Clear masculine lines - a handsome looking car no doubt.
Old 9th September 2009, 15:45   #97

guys, check this out:

Old 9th September 2009, 16:31   #98

Check this one too.

Tubaah: Let's go cruzing!
Old 9th September 2009, 17:34   #99
nissan

Originally Posted by sidindica View Post
The car hits the showrooms September 20th.
SO, you did it again. ANd every time you do this , you must be remided of BS SOng-OOPS! I did it AGAIN.

Old 9th September 2009, 17:42   #100

Originally Posted by mkc15 View Post
Check this one too.

Tubaah: Let's go cruzing!
What kind of a review was that? Going on and on about aggressive this and bold that and nothing about handling, 0-100/40-100 figures. What a load of bull that was!
Old 9th September 2009, 19:40   #101

Originally Posted by AirWind View Post
I think its the perceived resale which I still dont get it. A 2 yr old Octavia L&K 13L OTR sells for 9L while a similar Optra Magnum LT 11L OTR sells for 7L. Both top end models lose 4L on resale. Octavia TDI returns good mileage but is offset by the service costs.

I think its the branding - Skoda (had?) has better acceptance than Chevy.
resale value in the first 2years is always reasonable for most of the cars. But its from the third year which counts. Huge difference will be there. I can accept a 50% loss on cars resale after 3-4years but beyond that is pathetic.
whereas with Ford escorts and Opel astras and corsas the loss was 60-70% over the same period of time, even with very less mileage and it was very much the same story with petrol optras, i have no clue about diesel variant. According to my knowledge GM has a poor resale value world wide.

And one thing i forgot to mention was the model getting discontinued in the case of opel, but that was few years back now people are fine with 5year old modals going out of market.
Old 10th September 2009, 12:43   #102

I saw a white cruze on western exp highway here in Mumbai a few days ago, duct taped at all the right places to conceal its manufacturer. It definitely looked stunning, has good road presence. The front is very imposing with the large split grill, the back is a little uninspiring. I was on my bike so I couldn't really keep up with it, but did catch a glimpse of the interiors when the lane was choked. It had a large LCD screen on the centre of the dashboard, can't comment on the quality of fitments but has lots of illuminated buttons to keep the driver busy. I don't know if that is the model that is going to be launched or that was just for testing. Personally, I like the civic for its looks, but this car definately stands over the altis for raod presence and overall appeal. Length and breadth wise, looks more or less similar to the laura.
Old 10th September 2009, 17:02   #103

Some more basic info on the Cruze:
Chevy Cruze missile fired in a Team of BHPians-untitled1.jpg  

Chevy Cruze missile fired in a Team of BHPians-untitled2.jpg  

Chevy Cruze missile fired in a Team of BHPians-untitled3.jpg  

Chevy Cruze missile fired in a Team of BHPians-untitled4.jpg  

Chevy Cruze missile fired in a Team of BHPians-untitled5.jpg  

Chevy Cruze missile fired in a Team of BHPians-untitled6.jpg  

Chevy Cruze missile fired in a Team of BHPians-untitled7.jpg  

Old 10th September 2009, 18:50   #104

Looks great from exterior and if we are getting the same interior its gonna be awesome!
Civic,Altis may feel the heat(Civic more if we consider the features cruze is offering)
Old 11th September 2009, 10:25   #105

The difference in the interiors of this one and Indian one is huge. Cost cutting is always the justification given for that. I wonder how much do such interiors cost on a 14 Lakhs car that the manufacturers dont give them to us here.