Old 9th July 2005, 00:20   #1

which is the fastest car on indian roads...???

Which is the FASTEST car on indian roads....how fast have u driven..???(don't forget to name the model)
Old 9th July 2005, 00:25   #2

i love the Opel Vectra coz that car can beat most of the cars on indian roads.

i have touched the 210km mark(in Vectra)on the Jaipur highway but i guess thats not the actual speed it must be less.
Old 9th July 2005, 00:36   #3

this side of 20lacs it has to be the Octavia rally sport. Best car to have come on the indian shores. Otherwise I believe sl500 which is also available in India does a sprint to the ton in around 7 secs. Top speed is also a India whooping 289Kmph
Old 9th July 2005, 00:41   #4

there is already topic named top speeds in collection of best threads
http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/showth...4&page=1&pp=15
Old 9th July 2005, 00:46   #5

Top speed is also a India whooping 289Kmph
The SL500 here is electronically limited to 250kmph.

Shan2nu
Old 9th July 2005, 01:00   #6

all the cars which are imported to india are electronically limited to 250kmph as Shan2nu correctly said because according to the import policy all car companies have to limit the speed to 250km/h
Old 9th July 2005, 02:05   #7

I think the QUICKEST car is more relevant unless you live in the land of autobhans.

From that point of view, I think Octavia RS is the fastest under 20 lakhs. 0-100 times are as follows

Octy - 8 secs
Corolla - 9 secs
Accord 2.4 manual - 9 secs
OHC Vtec - 9.9 secs

eyond that, anything is importable for a price, so lets not go there.
Old 9th July 2005, 02:18   #8

Octy - 8 secs
Corolla - 9 secs
Accord 2.4 manual - 9 secs
OHC Vtec - 9.9 secs
Don't make it look so bad dude.

RS - 8.97
Accord 2.4 - 8.98
Accord V6 - 9.58
Corolla - 9.82
Vtec - 9.92

All within a sec of each other. the Corolla and the Vtec lose out due to the extra shift they require to get to 100.

After 100kmph, the bigger engined Accord V6 takes off.

Shan2nu

Last edited by Shan2nu : 9th July 2005 at 02:22.
Old 9th July 2005, 02:20   #9

dude the city vtec is is not as fast as you mentioned. it takes more than 10 secs. 10.54 to be precise(bsmotoring.com). Autocar puts it at 10.01 if i remember correctly.

About the top speed .Yeah my mistake in reading the figures from the website. Axually this car is internationally limited to 150miles. The top speed I mentioned belongs to the sl55.

I never knew about this 250 km/hr rule in India though. good information here.

Last edited by devarshi84 : 9th July 2005 at 02:33.
Old 9th July 2005, 02:36   #10

just for records the new HONDA CR-V M/T also 100km/h in just 9.83secs which is very good for a car of that size
top speed 183km/h
Old 9th July 2005, 02:43   #11

Originally Posted by Vikas Mawandia
just for records the new HONDA CR-V M/T also 100km/h in just 9.83secs which is very good for a car of that size
top speed 183km/h
Thats really quick.Its fast than the Vtec and Accord 3.0,and very very close to the Corolla.Quite remarkable for that size.

X
Old 9th July 2005, 03:55   #12

Originally Posted by Vikas Mawandia
Damn....Honda has 4 cars in the top 6. Honda rocks man.
Old 9th July 2005, 10:40   #13

are you people talking about stock cars?
Old 9th July 2005, 10:49   #14

dude the city vtec is is not as fast as you mentioned. it takes more than 10 secs. 10.54 to be precise(bsmotoring.com). Autocar puts it at 10.01 if i remember correctly.
Contact GTO, he'l show you how fast it is. How does 0-96 in 8.93 secs sound?

Shan2nu
Old 9th July 2005, 11:04   #15

are you people talking about stock cars?
Completely stock cars.

Shan2nu