Old 24th September 2009, 17:27   #121

Originally Posted by KRf1 View Post
As always the TDCI Diet Diesel will win the most customers . A measly 1.2 petrol ? Give us some josh with a 1.6 version !
I don't think they will put the 1.6 mill into it as they are targeting it as a mass product. 1.6L can be a thirsty engine and may brand the car as low on FE.
You know Aam Admi's first question is always "average kitna hai" ?

Ford will certainty would not take such a chance, hence hold on your horses for a while.
Old 24th September 2009, 17:54   #122

Originally Posted by tj123 View Post
1.6L can be a thirsty engine and may brand the car as low on FE.
Bad assumption. Most people who own a 1.6 Fiesta claim FE of 11-13kmpl with ac on. To put that in perspective, my Santro with a 1.1 engine gives 12.5-14 kmpl with ac on.

Ford's 1.6 Duratec is a great engine all said and done. Great performance and great FE- it'd be a pity if Figo doesn't get one inside.
Old 24th September 2009, 18:33   #123

Neat lines and sure going to give the Punto's and Polo's a run if they get the price band right.Why the secrecy with interiors ? Is ford still in the process of procuring Ch=CHEAP plastics for us ?

Was the dispaly a RHD or LHD ? any sneaks ?
Old 24th September 2009, 18:37   #124

Heres the link to the complete coverage to the Figo launch Delhi.
Ford Figo Launch - a set on Flickr
Old 24th September 2009, 18:45   #125

The Figo looks like a no-nonsence small car, looks practicle from all angles, mabe a little sell on head room at the back, from what I see in the pics, but I think if priced right, this is going to sell really well.
Old 24th September 2009, 19:03   #126

IMO it looks strictly ok . The rear looks kind of Fusion as all have said.

But 4+ lacs for diesel mill .. would be cut-throat competetion for Ritz !!

Anyways good to have many options in the market.
Old 24th September 2009, 19:08   #127

I assume this would be cheaper than the Ikon
Old 24th September 2009, 19:27   #128

Nice report Dippy, and nice pictoral comparison Sid.

The Figo looks quite Butch in profile. Me likes.

But it seems like not too many details have been given out yet, so lots of speculation.

I guess, price and kit (interior features/quality, performance and safety) will be key to position this car.

I really do hope they have atleast one variant with airbags and ABS and that the interiors are on par read: integrated player with controls on steering wheel, well fitted good plastics, comfy seats etc.

Well, maybe the variant I want to see might not come cheap!
Old 24th September 2009, 19:48   #129

Figo does not look like a fresh design its a typical ford design and the connection to Fusion is clearly visible in the side profile apart from this it surely is a good looking car.

This car if priced correct may start new innings for Ford india, The variant with the tried and tested 1.4 tcdi engine looks very promising and will provide one more good choice in already very competitive segment.
Old 24th September 2009, 20:00   #130

IMO the Figo looks better than the A-Star and Santro but not better than the Punto & I20.

By I entering the Commercial vehicle sector I wonder if India will soon see the highly rated FORD TRANSIT vans
Report and First Pics: The Ford Figo is HERE !! More info - Pg19-ford_transit_van_mk4_2006.jpg  

Old 24th September 2009, 20:17   #131

Originally Posted by tj123 View Post
1.6L can be a thirsty engine and may brand the car as low on FE.
You know Aam Admi's first question is always "average kitna hai" ?
The Ford powerplants deliver FE in a very driver oriented manner.

Have been driving a Fusion 1.6 for 4 years now, and it gives a standard 12 without AC in city, and 18 on the highway. Dips to 10 with AC and 16 on highway. But the same vehicle when driven hard can drop the FE to 12 on the highway. For its size, power, space and weight, IMO it's as economical as any other Maruti 800 CC. Cant really expect a 1.2 ton petrol hatch/car to do more, specially when it can burn rubber when needed.
Old 25th September 2009, 00:07   #132

Even the discontinued 1.4 Duratec would do justice to this car.
I am just thinking that with a similar platform, space, engines as the Fiesta (Diesel atleast), won't the Figo actually be around 6L, and will it affect fiesta sales?

The reason this car is so similar to the Fusion is because it is based on the same platform as the Fusion.
I have a feeling that Ford is going to import the body dies from UK, in order to cut down costs, while designing an all new interior and suspension etc.
On the other hand, I would love a Figo 1.4/1.6S, in white/red/blue.
Hope Ford launches one variant for the enthusiasts, because then there would be no doubt what our fiesta would be replaced by (long term planning of course, she is running beautifully).

P.S: These pics are of the Fiesta MK6 ST as sold in UK.
Report and First Pics: The Ford Figo is HERE !! More info - Pg19-3886107637_8f90fa1f06.jpg  

Report and First Pics: The Ford Figo is HERE !! More info - Pg19-ford_fiesta_st_roush_1.jpg  

Report and First Pics: The Ford Figo is HERE !! More info - Pg19-ford-fiesta-st.jpg  

Last edited by lamborghini : 25th September 2009 at 00:10.
Old 25th September 2009, 00:17   #133

Clean lines. Ford needs a wider service footprint for this segment.
Old 25th September 2009, 00:28   #134

Ouch! Did not like the looks. They are just too dated.

Ford has to grow up in India. With the Polo and hopefully a peppier Punto breathing down it's neck already, I wonder if these drab looks are enough to help it grab some eyeballs.

The engine options seem impressive! Hopefully that will be the usp of the car.

By the way, what is it with Ford and that Lime Green colour! Even the new North American Fiesta's adverts use that colour.
Old 25th September 2009, 00:49   #135

Everyone compares this car (or atleast its back), to the Fusion.
I don't think thats a bad thing.

The general public didnt take too kindly to the Fusion - but the Figo on the other hand, seems to be a fair balance between modern-ish styling and the Fusion's boxyness.

Compared to the i10/aStar/etc, i'd definitely pick the Figo.

However, in terms of 'character,' Fusion kicks ***.
Just my opinion..