Old 16th December 2009, 11:41   #481

Originally Posted by crackingride View Post
Looked at the link, and they are passing off an international-spec photo (#2) as an India spec one. Heck, even the steering is on the left, not to mention integrated turn signals on the outside mirrors.

So do we take all their updates with a pinch of salt or what?

As far as the 70PS 1.2 (from the Fabia) being a launch engine, isn't that what I've been saying all along??
I think you got it wrong. If you read carefully they do mention Photo#2 as an international spec and photo #1 as Indian spec.
Old 16th December 2009, 11:46   #482

@crackingride: I'm no fan of motoroids but, it clearly has the following text under the second pic.
Compare the headlights of the Indian model (top) to the more aggressive units on the Euro-spec (below)
Old 16th December 2009, 11:50   #483

Originally Posted by anekho View Post
Woah! Dude, if you are serious about this, you've made my day! Let's hope the price is sane
yeah its confirmed that the1.2 tsi will hit the market, but then it will be a bit more pricey than the 1.2 mpi.

cheers,
ac
Old 16th December 2009, 12:10   #484

Originally Posted by grules View Post
@crackingride: I'm no fan of motoroids but, it clearly has the following text under the second pic.
My mistake, grules and DieselFan. Duly apologetic.
Old 16th December 2009, 12:30   #485

So we have one set of folks who swear by 1.2MPI only and another set of folks who say 1.2TSI. All these in the first release itself. For the hatchback. <Lets keep the price aside for a while>

1.2 70 PS cost = 11,995 GBP
1.2TSI cost = 14,535 GBP

Difference = 2,540 GBP ==> 2 Lacs INR (difference in Polo S and Polo SEL)

All are approximate values. So whats the whole deal of being expensive and all? if the engine difference is somewhere around 1.5 Lacs , why are we speculating on the high costs? If they can roll it as a variant, is there a problem?
Old 16th December 2009, 16:56   #486

Originally Posted by hrmanju1 View Post
So we have one set of folks who swear by 1.2MPI only and another set of folks who say 1.2TSI. All these in the first release itself. For the hatchback. <Lets keep the price aside for a while>

1.2 70 PS cost = 11,995 GBP
1.2TSI cost = 14,535 GBP

Difference = 2,540 GBP ==> 2 Lacs INR (difference in Polo S and Polo SEL)

All are approximate values. So whats the whole deal of being expensive and all? if the engine difference is somewhere around 1.5 Lacs , why are we speculating on the high costs? If they can roll it as a variant, is there a problem?
So true I really wish of some TSI making its way into India.

I wont even mind paying a little extra.
Old 16th December 2009, 17:24   #487

Skoda Fabia to get revised 1.2-litre petrol engine
link India Automotive: Skoda Fabia to get revised 1.2-litre petrol engine

The new 1.2-litre petrol engine could be introduced on the India-spec Skoda Fabia by early-2010. This engine will also be offered on the VW Polo

Škoda has started building a revised version of its 1.2-litre three-cylinder petrol engine at its plant in Mladá Boleslav in the Czech Republic. And yes, this new engine is quite likely to find its way into the Skoda Fabia 1.2 that’s sold in India as well as the Volkswagen Polo that’ll go on sale here in 2010.

The revised 1.2-litre engine gets a cogged belt to drive the camshafts (instead of the old timing chain) and a lighter crankshaft. The benefits are said to be reduced weight, smoother running and better fuel efficiency.
Old 16th December 2009, 17:59   #488

[1.2 TDI 3-pot CRDiengine
Attachment 244544

1.2TDI? Never heard of that engine from VW before. Is this something made for India only?
Old 16th December 2009, 18:26   #489

The silver car gives me hope that it'll be properly specced at least at the top end. Without the goodies that the i20 offers, VW is going to have trouble selling the top end model.

Did anyone notice the 5 lug nuts on the wheel? Most cars below 10L have only 4?
Old 16th December 2009, 18:27   #490

Originally Posted by hpzone View Post
[1.2 TDI 3-pot CRDiengine
Attachment 244544

1.2TDI? Never heard of that engine from VW before. Is this something made for India only?
Its derived from 1.6TDI engine by removing one cylinder. Its used in Polo BlueMotion launched in Germany. Its scheduled to be launch in UK in near future.
Old 16th December 2009, 18:29   #491

Silver Model with 1.2LTSI. No need of fancy interiors like i20. I am going to pick that up for sure. VW any day.
Old 16th December 2009, 18:37   #492

Originally Posted by ac 427 View Post
yeah its confirmed that the1.2 tsi will hit the market, but then it will be a bit more pricey than the 1.2 mpi.
cheers,
ac
Skoda Yeti with 1.2 TSi petrol is likely to be in range of 10 lakhs so 1.2 TSi will be pricy

Originally Posted by prashanthyr View Post

Did anyone notice the 5 lug nuts on the wheel? Most cars below 10L have only 4?
Fabia has 5 lug nuts with one nut different from other 4 as a anti theft deterent ( a different allen bold head ) requiring seperate spanner to open the allen bolt.
Old 16th December 2009, 18:41   #493

Reviews of this 1.2CRDi Engine says that it is tuned for fuel efficiency and its a bit rough compared to 1.4 TDI engine. Following are the links for Polo BlueMotion.

TopGear

Car Magazine

Car and Driver
Old 16th December 2009, 18:44   #494

after reading those reviews the car seems very sluggish. not the drivers car? between are we getting the blue motion thingy? and what is it? is it going to affect the performance of the car?
according to the review it says its a very fuel efficient car.I WANT PERFORMANCE.DIESEL PERFORMANCE!!

Last edited by brakehorsepower : 16th December 2009 at 19:00.
Old 16th December 2009, 18:51   #495

Originally Posted by rutvij View Post
Reviews of this 1.2CRDi Engine says that it is tuned for fuel efficiency and its a bit rough compared to 1.4 TDI engine. Following are the links for Polo
The websites mentioned couple of things on the 1.2 CRDi

1) BlueMotion is to be released in may, 2010. So what will happen to the Jan/March launch?
2) Low gears/Low speeds are really sluggish.Especially second and third gear. Is it advisable for city driving?
3) It has a START/STOP technology. Will we get this? I doubt.
4) Looks more and more like a Fuel saver than Power and drivability.Fuel consumption is the decisive criteria for buying - then this would figure out in a nicer way.