Old 24th October 2009, 15:01   #16

Originally Posted by sidindica View Post
(All the points that I am typing are 100 percent correct.)
Will just go to some points that salesperson mentioned when I went as a "serious" buyer of i20 crdi at samara hyundai, defence colony, Delhi:
  • sir, tyres are 15" and alloys are 16"
  • power is 80 nm torque.
  • our car has 16v DOHC design, punto MJD doesn't.
  • another person:sir, I don't know anything about punto but only about my product.
  • GC is 160 inches!
  • sir, let me get the brochure while first asking for engine tech specs..
Totally made my day! Samara, kindly train your executives.
ROTFLMAO!!

Recently my in-law's family bought a Spark and before finalizing the car I accompanied b-i-l to a Hyundai showroom to inquire about Santro. I asked the executive why Santro could be a better buy than Spark. He began with

- Sir, GM had to buy lakhs of old Matiz engines while acquiring Daewoo. Those outdated engines are being used in the Spark and thus customers are being taken for a ride.

Needless to say, we beat a hasty retreat (from Hyundai).

Last edited by tortoiseNhare : 24th October 2009 at 15:02.
Old 24th October 2009, 16:18   #17

Dealer- Pandit Auto. Pune
Car- Fiat Punto Diesel

Q- gadi ki Power kitni Hain?
A- 1.3
Q- no.no..Power power...
A- 30 to 40 hogi sir.
Old 24th October 2009, 19:54   #18

^ That answer just made me go, Wha??

Here's another one -

Showroom - Sanya Auto, Defense colony
Car - Punto 1.4 Emotion pack

Sales guy - The plastics are awesome and really sturdy!(while knocking on the dashboard)

(as soon as he opened the glove box, it fell off!!)

Me - Hmmm..

SG - Actually a kid broke it this morning while a family was examining the car!

Me - Silently ()

Its not exactly the fault of SG though! but still... such a thing can have a very bad impression on the buyer!
sohail99 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 24th October 2009, 20:53   #19

Ayyooo , I know you guys are cribbing ,but ........

the population (I guess at least >90% )who intend to buy a car don't bother to check all these specs , power ,GC ,ABS ..... .They just need to buy a good looking car with good mileage ,or it could be some one recommended them to .
Old 24th October 2009, 21:52   #20

Originally Posted by Gilead View Post
I was told by a Maruti salesman that the Swift DDiS does not have a turbo.
It was the other way round for me. When I pointed out to my friend that the Swift DDiS, Ritz DDiS, Indica Vista QJD and the Palio MJD have the same 1.3 multijet engines, the guy told us that only the Swift and the Ritz have turbos.
We could do nothing but stifle our laughter..
Old 24th October 2009, 23:55   #21

If I go to a household/electrical shop and start looking at stuff like microwaves, fridges and so on, I can rely on being joined, within moments, by a young, female sales assistant who can quote exactly model numbers, specifications, power ratings, cubic capacities, prices --- to perfection! Whilst some of it may be learned parrot-fashion, at least the correct information is given.

How come car dealers get the idiots working for them?

Hmmm... come to think of it, the situation was just as I describe when we bought our fitted hob, oven and chimney, assisted by a well-informed and helpful lady. The male manager, on the other hand, who probably earned a lot more than our helpful lady (on the back of her sales) didn't seem to have a clue.

I infer that car dealers should employ more women!
Thad E Ginathom is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 25th October 2009, 00:06   #22

At HIM motors delhi, when i was tding punto there was this beep after i crossed 40, as it was set speed limit but thats not what our dear sales rep thought. He said you are pressing the accelerator hard thats why its going beep.
Also when I asked him to describe me the controls of climate control, all he said was "its just like a big car's ac sir."
One last question I asked him before giving up was about features of the My car. To which all he said was "I dont know much about them but there are 8 computers in this car", as if that helps.

I didnt bother asking him about blue and me as i didnt wanted him to feel very bad about himself
Old 25th October 2009, 09:27   #23

i have said this in some other thread but will repeat it here-

one of my friend went to a maruti dealer 1 year back to enquire about the swift ZXi. now all of us know that how these maruti dealers try to push the swift VXi sales, whatever the reason.

so,

my friend: i am looking for ZXi.
sales woman: why dont you opt for VXi sir? it is cheaper.

m.f.: No, i want ZXi because it has airbags & ABS.
s.w.: sir, thoda bahut ABS to har gaadi main hota hain! which when translated in english means "sir, every car has a little bit of ABS"!

Last edited by raj_5004 : 25th October 2009 at 09:34.
raj_5004 is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 25th October 2009, 09:37   #24

I went for TD of i20 CRDi just after it launched.

Dealer : Panchavati Hyundai, Nashik

Sales Rep told me all the Spec's of Petrol i20.
He even gave me Petrol i20 brochure saying that "Tech Specs" for CRDi would be more/less same.
Old 25th October 2009, 09:53   #25

The salesman showed me the engine guard on the Punto and was explaining me the benefits :

Saar, if the parts fall of the car you will find them here
sdp1975 is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 25th October 2009, 17:16   #26

Dear all - this is the ultimate. I enquired about a diesel car when a typical diesel engine driven car was just about getting introduced in India. I was offered a petrol version. When I said I want diesel due to lower purchase cost of fuel, the guy told me that the advantage of buying a petrol car is that you can run it on diesel. You can run it on kerosene also. I remember that I had a hard time keeping a poker face till I came out of the dealership. I laughed out loud (as you guys say "LOL") on the footpath outside. Anyways, this happened some years back in Mumbai.

Cheer up guys, things seem to be better than this now!

Best regards,

Behram Dhabhar
DHABHAR.BEHRAM is offline   (7) Thanks
Old 25th October 2009, 17:20   #27

the advantage of buying a petrol car is that you can run it on diesel. You can run it on kerosene also.
That's more ROFLMFAO than LOL.

I'll leave the decoding to you
Old 25th October 2009, 18:43   #28

Originally Posted by DHABHAR.BEHRAM View Post
you can run it on diesel. You can run it on kerosene also.

Isn't he correct He might be an Auto driver

I have seen Auto Rikshaw (non- CNG) being run completly on Kerosene. They use petrol just to start the engine, kerosene kicks in to run the Auto fro mthat point.
Old 26th October 2009, 20:27   #29

Dear all - pardon my ignorance but what in the whole wide world is ROFLMFAO? I can't decode it. Period. LOL was difficult till a BHIian told me the full form.

Best regards,

Behram Dhabhar
Old 26th October 2009, 21:30   #30

I'll give you the polite version...

Rolling On the Floor Laughing My Flippin Arse Off.

It sounds a bit wrong, much as Read The Fine Manual does. I'll leave it to you to make the necessary adjustments in a less polite direction