Old 31st October 2009, 21:21   #61

wow! Awesome news! I was planning to go for the Linea by this year end. But now, I'll surely wait for the T-JET to arrive. It's the first car in C and D segment to have Hill Holder! And also the first to have Auto Windshield Wipers & auto Headlamps in a sub-10Lac car!
Kudos to Fiat
Thanks for the info autocarcr. You beat sidindica to this
Old 31st October 2009, 21:33   #62

Originally Posted by theragingbull View Post
wow! Awesome news! I was planning to go for the Linea by this year end. But now, I'll surely wait for the T-JET to arrive. It's the first car in C and D segment to have Hill Holder! And also the first to have Auto Windshield Wipers & auto Headlamps in a sub-10Lac car!
Kudos to Fiat
Thanks for the info autocarcr. You beat sidindica to this
I sure did.
Old 31st October 2009, 21:39   #63

*GULP* If this information is true, the Linea T-Jet has the potential to become a sub 10 lakh rupee Skoda RS . Simply CANNOT wait to testdrive.
Can't agree more with you. High bhp and torque to go with the great handling :-) Removes the main handicap linea had against ANHC, IMO.
Old 31st October 2009, 21:41   #64

Originally Posted by autocarcr View Post
I sure did.
hhhmmmmmmmmmm.........
Fiat Linea T-Jet in January 2010!-car_photo_336019_25.jpg  

Old 31st October 2009, 21:48   #65

Hey comrade, it can be in a different state of tune. Maybe thats why the fuel efficiency figures are lower. Comparing the German T-JET with the Indian specd one (as I had mentioned in the first post) isn't fair.
If nothing among displacement, power and torque curve, 0-100 timing and top speed change, is it possible that we have a different tune and FE is going to drastically improve?

The specs you have posted are available exactly in same state all over the net. There is nothing "Indian" in them.

Just compare the below specs from fiat.de with your's

Number of cylinders: 4
Displacement 1368 cc
Power: 120 PS at 5,000 rpm.
Torque: 206 Nm at 2,500 rpm.
Acceleration from 0 to 100 km/h: 9.2 s
Top speed: 195 km/h
Old 31st October 2009, 21:49   #66

@sidindica Wow.. thats thats one hell of a scoop..sir..so is it all ready so soon? Damn fiat is amazing.... MultiAir - The ultimate Air Management Strategy

Last edited by ramzsys : 31st October 2009 at 22:07.
Old 31st October 2009, 21:56   #67

Originally Posted by ramzsys View Post
@sidindica Wow.. thats thats one hell of a scoop..sir..so is it all ready so soon? Damn fiat is amazing....
Sirji, I just wanted to have a small fun with you guys,as my mood is a bit off, its the multi air engine in the bonnet of Fiat Punto evo.
Old 31st October 2009, 22:36   #68

Originally Posted by sidindica View Post
Sirji, I just wanted to have a small fun with you guys,as my mood is a bit off, its the multi air engine in the bonnet of Fiat Punto evo.
I was thinking its going to be scoop war and you just spoiled the fun!

Way to go Sid...
Old 31st October 2009, 23:43   #69

Great news autocarcr. Linea with a turbo would rock. I guess this will be the first sub 10L sedan with a <10s time to 0-100 too! With its already great handling and features - this would be the best under 10L drivers car.

Here are the details of the Indian car to be released in Jan 2010 (T-JET)

Type: Petrol (l4) 1.4L 16V Turbo JET (T-JET)
Displacement: 1368cc
Max. Power: 119.2bhp@5000rpm (Actual: 117.8bhp)
Peak Torque: 206nm@2500rpm
The international spec one makes the same torque at a much lower 1750 rpm, any clue why its different? Not that 2500 is bad for a petrol engine, but still 1750 would have been ubercool.

0 - 100 kmph: 9.2sec
Fuel Economy: 14.2kmpl (Expected in City) | 17.1521 kmpl (Overall EURO NCAP)
Originally Posted by khan_sultan View Post
14k/l in City and 17k/l overall is like a deal clincher for me with 200 NM of torque@2.5k rpm spinning the wheels and 115+ HP under the hood.
Hey comrade, it can be in a different state of tune. Maybe thats why the fuel efficiency figures are lower. Comparing the German T-JET with the Indian specd one (as I had mentioned in the first post) isn't fair.
Folks, i guess this part carries a little too excitement. Fiat themselves claim the regular FIRE engine to be the most fuel efficient one - so expect the FE of the Tjet to be a little lower than the regular one. Check under engine options here: - Fiat Linea -. Expecting 14kmpl in city from the Tjet is just daydreaming.

Last edited by SkyWalker : 31st October 2009 at 23:46.
Old 31st October 2009, 23:45   #70

Just thinking out aloud. How I wish Fiat does a Palio encore and plonks in the 1.4T-Jet into the Grande Punto.

Jay
Old 31st October 2009, 23:54   #71

Originally Posted by JayPrashanth View Post
Just thinking out aloud. How I wish Fiat does a Palio encore and plonks in the 1.4T-Jet into the Grande Punto.
+1. I will sell my Palio and buy the GP Tjet the month they do that
Old 1st November 2009, 01:13   #72

I would expect a FE of about 8-9 kmpl.
Old 1st November 2009, 01:22   #73

How about 2-3?

Just kidding.

I guess driving style goes a long way with turbo charged vehicles. If you don't know when to shift, you might as well burn up all the oil in Iraq and get nowhere.

I wouldn't be as pessimistic as nitrous, maybe more like 12-13.

I would be happy with that, given the sort of power on offer.
Old 1st November 2009, 03:12   #74

One can do 18 kmpl from the same engine. But, that doesn't mean its a standard 18, all the time.
I know stock Skoda RS' making 7kmpl in city.

The city makes a guzzler of any car.
And with a turbo, it will go even more south.

1) What kind of a person would buy a petrol turbo car over a MJD version?
2) Honestly, how many of those can control the urge of seeing full boost often?
Old 1st November 2009, 11:19   #75

Originally Posted by nitrous View Post
One can do 18 kmpl from the same engine. But, that doesn't mean its a standard 18, all the time.
I know stock Skoda RS' making 7kmpl in city.

The city makes a guzzler of any car.
And with a turbo, it will go even more south.

1) What kind of a person would buy a petrol turbo car over a MJD version?
2) Honestly, how many of those can control the urge of seeing full boost often?
I understand your concern, but that isn't going to stop them from going in for it. The knowledge that they are F1 drivers comes to Indians right from the womb.

Any petro head would! Its got awesome power and awesome torque. The only place where the MJD has a clear advantage is the FE.

Between the two of us... with that sort of power at hand...The FE can go to hell!