Old 15th November 2009, 15:49   #31

Day light robbery

Originally Posted by entropy View Post
Disappointed with the pricing. Is it a CBU import ?
Merc has been pricing its locally assembled cars as if they were CBU imports and pocketing the import duty benefit themselves.

Audi and BMW have very gladly copied Merc's above mentioned pricing policy. So all 3 are making lots of money at the expense of Indian customers.
Old 15th November 2009, 15:58   #32

Originally Posted by S350L-E240 View Post
Caramelo, Nope none of those, infact it's just a Avantgarde spec car with a few casual options, nothing out of the extraordinary as part of the Indian Standard specification.

I thought they would try 1up BMW, who offer nightvision on the 5 series.
aw crap so they don't provide this as an option too?this is after all the money is paid and add to that the duties and taxes, its really sad!!

lane assist : this is wont work as we don't have good roads forget the lanes

blind spot assist:just think of it lane assist can help you when idiots come from the left and right without warning to overtake!!

night-view: can spot cows and camels in highway far away when you are doing like 200 kmph on a remote highway1!

adaptive cruise control: they actually have developed a system which is specifically great in stop go traffic!! and it breaks and can bring the vehicle to a complete stop the most advanced among ACCs!! people hate cruise control and think its of no use in india!! well this system should be used in india!!! it would be so useful in traffic heavy highways!!

Last edited by Caramelo : 15th November 2009 at 16:01.
Old 16th November 2009, 11:00   #33

Audi and BMW have very gladly copied Merc's above mentioned pricing policy. So all 3 are making lots of money at the expense of Indian customers.
Very true. Consider this : The E Class cost only 22 - 23 lakhs in 1997. By 2006, even entry level E Class' started at 40 lakhs while the top-end largest engine variants nearly touch the 50 lakh mark. Heck, even a C Class in 2005 (30 lakhs) cost more than the E did only 7 - 8 years back. BMW & Audi have joined the party too. The 3 series & A4 hover in the range of 30 lakhs while the 5 series & A6 are in the 40 - 50 lakh rupee price range.

Originally Posted by S350L-E240 View Post
Any idea on the 0-100 times on this? I mean for the indian spec car?
We tested the E350 petrol at 7.9 seconds (Review linky). The diesel, with more low end torque, has got to be quicker.
Old 16th November 2009, 11:27   #34

GTO isn't there something we can do to get pricing at real levels. As a forum & as a group isn't there anything we can do about this? This has been going on for long and I think some consumer activism is needed. Some stray articles pop up every now and then but no one has done a campaign.

All CKD ops ensure that the car certianly turns out cheaper than a similar import yet if you cost the Ex showroom prices you see a very very fat margin and they seem on par with an import!

I thought competition is suppose to make consumer king which is the buzz now

Last edited by canonball : 16th November 2009 at 11:29.
Old 16th November 2009, 12:23   #35

Base Deutschland prices:

E350CDI Blue Efficiency- 50,991.50EUR
E350CGI Blue Efficiency- 51,943.50EUR (but then it's a CGI)
Avantgarde trim 3,361.75EUR extra.

S350CDI Blue Efficiency LWB- 80,860.5EUR
S350LWB- 84,014.0EUR (non- CGI)

So, on the E Class, the usual practice of pricing as per engine size/ designation remains, and CGI prices are higher than similarly designated CDI BE prices, but that equation somehow is not there in the S Class.

Finally, the E350 BlueTEC is 53,371.50EUR.

As 1EUR = +/- 70, you do the math. All prices have European VAT included.

And, features like DISTRONIC, KeylessGo, Lights package, etc. are options even on Avantgarde trim. Honestly, I wouldn't want a car to judge itself the safe distance from the vehicle in front of it- how one would ever drive in almost all Indian cities? And night vision? Look on the road, not the screen, would you?

Last edited by Yeldo : 16th November 2009 at 12:27.
Old 16th November 2009, 18:53   #36

Originally Posted by canonball View Post
GTO isn't there something we can do to get pricing at real levels. As a forum & as a group isn't there anything we can do about this? This has been going on for long and I think some consumer activism is needed. Some stray articles pop up every now and then but no one has done a campaign.
Hey, its a free market. As long as customers are willing to pay 50 lakhs for a BMW 530d.....

Competition is the only factor that can set things right. Look at how the Fortuner shook up the 20 lakh SUV market. Heck, you have HM selling a 20 year old SUV for a higher price! On a related note, I hear Lexus is coming to our shores soon. Expect value pricing
Old 16th November 2009, 20:20   #37

The Government make a good big fat margin too, as the tax component in the price here is way higher than the US, and many EU countries. But when you look at the prices through the Purchasing Power Parity lens rather than the real exchange rates, the price distortion grows even higher.

On a related note, I hear Lexus is coming to our shores soon. Expect value pricing
I doubt it. Toyota priced the LC200 at 85 lacs, almost equivalent to grey market dealer imports which had by then stabilized at around 90 lacs for the Diesel variant.
Old 16th November 2009, 22:23   #38

Hey, its a free market. As long as customers are willing to pay 50 lakhs for a BMW 530d.....

Competition is the only factor that can set things right. Look at how the Fortuner shook up the 20 lakh SUV market. Heck, you have HM selling a 20 year old SUV for a higher price! On a related note, I hear Lexus is coming to our shores soon. Expect value pricing
yup lexus will just cause a price flu here i think!! .

i feel so angry when you see that all the cars in US cost half of what you pay here. audi Q7 is like 25 lacs there! and the landcruiser is 40 lacs OMG!!!! yeah but options can add some price to it!! but its still bloody cheap than here!

Last edited by Caramelo : 16th November 2009 at 22:26.
Old 17th November 2009, 09:30   #39

Sorry for the delay in posting the photos! As said earlier due to intimely & heavy smoking we couldn't snap more or better photos. I've clubbed the launch during my official trip, hence I had another appointment after the launch & I rushed to there, hence couldn't take more snaps!
W212 New E 350 CDI diesel (BlueEFFICIENCY). EDIT : Now launched!-img_3444.jpg  

W212 New E 350 CDI diesel (BlueEFFICIENCY). EDIT : Now launched!-img_3445.jpg  

W212 New E 350 CDI diesel (BlueEFFICIENCY). EDIT : Now launched!-img_3446.jpg  

W212 New E 350 CDI diesel (BlueEFFICIENCY). EDIT : Now launched!-img_3447.jpg  

W212 New E 350 CDI diesel (BlueEFFICIENCY). EDIT : Now launched!-img_3452.jpg  

W212 New E 350 CDI diesel (BlueEFFICIENCY). EDIT : Now launched!-img_3453.jpg  

W212 New E 350 CDI diesel (BlueEFFICIENCY). EDIT : Now launched!-img_3454.jpg  

W212 New E 350 CDI diesel (BlueEFFICIENCY). EDIT : Now launched!-img_3456.jpg  

Old 17th November 2009, 10:42   #40

hey what does CGI stands for?
Old 17th November 2009, 11:15   #41

CGI is Stratified Charged Gasoline Injection technology. It's been developed by those masters of the TLA at Mercedes Benz.
Old 17th November 2009, 12:35   #42

OMG! Look how jacked up the suspension is! I fully understand the need for it here, but it completely ruins the taut, muscular stance that cars like these have abroad! It makes it look like it is standing on tip toe constantly!
Old 17th November 2009, 12:48   #43

Today there is a full page advertisement in TOI of this beauty now available in diesel, Blue efficiency.
Old 17th November 2009, 13:01   #44

Saw 2 of these already at Hiranandani, Powai - black ones. With proper number plates.

Some kind of Post.D.I. was going on from what I could judge 50 mts away.

Last edited by jigbarai : 17th November 2009 at 13:03.
Old 24th November 2009, 12:39   #45

Note from Team BHP Support:

Please continue discussions in this thread (Now updated with a review of the E350 CDI)