Old 15th December 2009, 08:43   #1

Man taken for ride on brand 'old' SUV

Read this article in the TOI today morning. Surprisingly true, but many of us could fall prey similarly. Read On:

MUMBAI: A city businessman who bought a brand new SUV made a startling discovery in the glove compartment: bills allegedly mentioning the repairs the vehicle had earlier undergone.

An Andheri magistrate’s court recently directed the Oshiwara police to investigate Dinesh Shetty’s complaint that the automobile manufacturer cheated him by selling him a damaged vehicle as new.

Shetty bought a Chevrolet Captiva from Bharati Automobiles in Jogeshwari in May 2008 for Rs 20 lakh, impressed by the sales pitch that the vehicles were “good, of great marksmanship’’ and after he was assured of “a quality car and after-sales service’’. Shetty claimed that, in February 2009, he found papers of alleged repairs as well as bills for spare-part replacements, done in March-April 2008.

Advocates Shailesh Kantharia, Shounak Mehta and Afroz Shah, who represented Shetty, said General Motors had sold a damaged vehicle, calling it new. Accusing the manufacturer and the dealer of cheating and criminal breach of trust, Shetty said they had caused “wrongful loss and mental and financial agony’’.

Shetty, in his complaint to the magistrate, sought directives to the police to register an FIR against the accused. Shetty has named senior officials of the manufacturer and the dealer in the complaint.

The National Consumer Disputes Redressal Commission ruled in Shetty’s favour by ordering that notices could be issued to the car-maker and its MD. The commission set aside an order of the State Consumer Disputes Redressal Commission, issuing a notice to the dealer and rejecting the complaint against the manufacturer.

The commission said from a bare reading of Shetty’s complaint, “it would be manifest that the grievance not only related to manufacturing defects in the car but was also (related) to unfair trade practice by the manufacturer and dealer in selling a damaged/repaired car as brand new’’.
Old 15th December 2009, 09:06   #2

sad to see the cheating done by dealers, good to see our courts doing the right thing.

Can you share the URL of this story ?
Old 15th December 2009, 09:17   #3

How dumb can anyone get. Not even removing the repair bills before delivery of the vehicle is plain dane lazy and absent minded.

Nevertheless, it is unfair and hope the victim gets a brand new Captiva for free, that would be a lesson for wannabees.
Old 15th December 2009, 09:21   #4

This is just tip of the ice berg guys. There are quite a few dealers who does this across brands. Often people do not notice.

I mean, do you really think that all dealers who repair and sell leave the bills in the dashboard?
Old 15th December 2009, 09:24   #5

Is there any way we can find out if the brand new car we are buying had been used as a TD vehicle or had undergone repair before? Can the gurus give in their valuable inputs.
Old 15th December 2009, 09:25   #6

Dumb Dealer - If you cheat, at least cheat well.

Second wammy against Chevrolet in two weeks. (Though the first judgement (forrester case) seems stupid,) this one is definately something that must attract a sever penalty to deter other manufacturers and dealers in the future.

By the way I just today morning saw a damaged New Chevrolet Cruz (Champaign Silver / Beige colour), - unregistered - going down Mumbai's Eastern Express Flyover.

Was wondering who would be the unlucky customer who would get this one without knowing.

Maybe seeing this judgement the dealer may reconsider any cheating.
Old 15th December 2009, 09:25   #7

With the slow pace of the Indian Judicial system, am sure this is gonna take ages for the judgment to be passed in favor of the poor customer.20 lakhs simply invested on a lemon.

Originally Posted by prince_pervez View Post
How dumb can anyone get. Not even removing the repair bills before delivery of the vehicle is plain dane lazy and absent minded.
I wouldn't call it dumbness , rather BLATANT cheating by the dealer causing agony to the unsuspecting buyer.
Old 15th December 2009, 09:35   #8

Originally Posted by falcon009 View Post
Is there any way we can find out if the brand new car we are buying had been used as a TD vehicle or had undergone repair before? Can the gurus give in their valuable inputs.
Refer to http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/buying...heck-list.html
Old 15th December 2009, 09:36   #9

Originally Posted by rjstyles69 View Post
I wouldn't call it dumbness , rather BLATANT cheating by the dealer causing agony to the unsuspecting buyer.
Of course it is blatant cheating. But like someone said here, atleast use your brains before doing that.
Old 15th December 2009, 09:40   #10

How come the guy got these bills after 9 months? has he not cleaned serviced this vehicle for so long.

Bharati Automobiles is a Tata - Fiat Dealer now. We can imagine what is in store for these customers.
Old 15th December 2009, 10:01   #11

Originally Posted by kiren View Post
Bharati Automobiles is a Tata - Fiat Dealer now. We can imagine what is in store for these customers.
Yep that's right. They are no more dealers for Cheverolet. Bought a chevy magnum from them in may of 2008. Had more than a couple of bad experiences with them while servicing the vehicle. The last service they did nothing but took the coupons. I wrote an email to GM and they responded quickly but could only apologise for a lousy dealer. Now I go to National Garage and it's a much better experience.
Bharti called me up later saying they were now Tata dealers and to visit them for servicing a Tata vehicle or to buy a new one. I just reminded the guy who called me about the bad experience I've already had wih Bharati and also told him with a few not so good words what I thought about this dealer.
Old 15th December 2009, 10:07   #12

Mera Bharath Mahan Hai! Come on India wake up! We consumers need to teach these people a lesson. No use in us all keeping quiet. Hope this is a wake up call for all we consumers who buy cars in future.
Old 15th December 2009, 10:10   #13

Originally Posted by tanwaramit View Post
sad to see the cheating done by dealers, good to see our courts doing the right thing.

Can you share the URL of this story ?
Here is the url of the story:

Man taken for ride on brand 'old' SUV - Mumbai - City - The Times of India
Old 15th December 2009, 10:11   #14

Originally Posted by rjstyles69 View Post
With the slow pace of the Indian Judicial system, am sure this is gonna take ages for the judgment to be passed in favor of the poor customer.20 lakhs simply invested on a lemon.
The case has already reached the National commission, the delay will be relatively less than on other cases which is still pending in the District forum. Being a case of value more than 20 lakhs means that the case was initiated in State commission.

One other good thing is that the manufacturer being charged criminally, this will at least ensure that any such incident the company doesn't get away blaming the dealer. There should be absolute liability on the company in this respect. The dealer is merely an agent to the company.
Old 15th December 2009, 10:16   #15

Very bad to hear this. What was the response of GM after this. Are they replacing with a new one?