Old 21st April 2010, 12:01   #46

The BS Motoring guys seem to be jumping to conclusions - the car in picture looks every bit like the petrol Nano and doesn't sit lower either, as claimed.

Incidentally, Bosch is merely developing the CRDI system for the diesel Nano and the engine is being co-developed by Tata Motors and FEV, an independent German engine R&D company, like the AVL of Austria. All published reports suggest that the engine will be 2-cylinder unit with CRDI plus turbocharging, unlike Mahindra's Maximo engine which, although a twin-cylinder CRDI unit, is only naturally aspirated. The Nano diesel engine will be equipped with a balancer shaft to reduce vibrations, just like the petrol Nano. The vibrations that a single cylinder diesel would produce would make it completely unsuitable for Nano and so reports that suggest so are a little difficult to believe. That single cylinder diesel comes in the Iris which belongs to a vehicle class where such an engine is acceptable.

Here's an old but informative report about Nano diesel engine development:

Nano to run on FEV's diesel engine-Automobiles-Auto-News By Industry-News-The Economic Times

Last edited by directinjection : 21st April 2010 at 12:13.
Old 21st April 2010, 12:04   #47

While on a recent visit to the TM plant (my work took me there), I saw two Nano variants being tested there. One seemed like a twin cylinder diesel and another with a more powerful Petrol unit which sounded like at least a three pot unit.

These vehicles passed by me and I could clearly see a different kind of bulge underneath the engine compartment pointing out to a bigger unit. I could clearly hear a smooth diesel clatter and the Petrol one seemed without a proper exhaust system as it sounded as if fitted with a free flow exhaust.

Also they are very intensely testing the Aria. I saw as many as 15 20 of them coming and going out of the complex almost daily. All of them looked like 4-5 year old call center Innova/Tavera cabs that we see on our roads in terms of vehicle condition.
Old 21st April 2010, 12:17   #48

Originally Posted by fiat_tarun View Post
The nano diesel was to get a two cylinder 800cc dicor engine. (Can confirm because of my line of work). The article mentions a single cylinder unit. Not sure that is correct. (unless Tata's plans changed)
Originally Posted by vikrantj View Post
Our company cab driver was a test driver at Tata. He had tested diesel Nano himself and his reaction was "Drives and sounds like a six-seater rickshaw".

--Vikrant
I can confirm that the above quotes are true. There were two diesel Nano's in Mico-Bosch premises, before some months, in Bangalore where they were tweaking and tuning the engine for efficiency (don't know whether they are still there). It was indeed a two cylinder motor and I don't know whether Tata has changed their plans on the engine.
Old 26th July 2010, 13:56   #49

TATA Nano Diesel

HOT NEWS

Source: Internet

Right from the day the Tata Nano was launched, it has been common news that a diesel engine will follow. Now, we have some concrete news about the diesel engine’s specifications. The Tata Nano Diesel will feature an 800cc twin cylinder diesel engine developed by German engine specialist FEV.

This diesel engine will sport CRDI technology and will feature a balancer shaft to keep the vibrations in check. Now, coming to the crux of the matter, the CRDI engine will output somewhere between 40 and 48 HP, which is plenty of power for the dimunitive Nano.

Here are a few specifications of the injection system deeloped
by Bosch for the Tata Nano Diesel.

State of art CRDI system: With pressures up to 1450 bar

Power: Up to 36 kW

Emission: BS4 /Euro IV

Lifetime: 2 lakh kms

That isn’t all, the engine is going to recieve the turbo treatment courtesy Honeywell, for it to meet the stringent BS4 emission norms. Now, most fans of modern diesel engines will know the punch that a Turbocharged CRDI diesel can deliver, a-la-Maruti Suzuki Swift D. So, the 800cc Turbocharged CRDI diesel engine in the Nano’s engine bay should be good for a torque figure of at least 80nm.

That would make the Tata Nano a real torque bomb of a car. With the Nano sporting a rear wheel drive, we can safely expect some nice drifting if Tata don’t spoil the party by seriously detuning this stonker of an engine.

To add the icing on the already big cake, Tata sources are gunning for a mileage figure 30% higher than the 800cc petrol cars in the market. That would mean a realistic 20KMPL in the city. Remember, we’re talking diesel here. That said, the Tata Nano Diesel is expected to hit Indian roads by September or October, 2010. Will the Tata Nano Diesel become the ultra affordable hot hatch over which India would go bonkers?
Old 26th July 2010, 14:02   #50

That's great news!

Now, if they can provide us with the retractable boot door and maybe the Europa design lamps, it will be raining Nanos everywhere.
Old 26th July 2010, 14:07   #51

Even otherwise, it would be an excellent alternative for the public considering the cities growing and turning into stagnant parking lots.

I WILL BUY TWO
Old 26th July 2010, 14:08   #52

Any idea on the cost addition? A diesel engine and a turbo added to it would definitely make it costlier. 3+ lac price range?
Either way, it would be an absolute VFM.
Old 26th July 2010, 14:13   #53

Sure sales - 25000 PM

But launching in Sept/Oct '10? I doubt that.
Old 26th July 2010, 14:22   #54

^^ This engine has been in development for some time now. Two Nanos with the diesel engine were being tweaked for Fuel Efficiency in the Mico-Bosch campus in Bangalore, atleast a year back. I had told this before in another thread, which was deleted I suppose.
Old 26th July 2010, 14:26   #55

In the coming years, I see that there will be rarely any difference between Tata Nano & six-seater diesel autos.

Nanos with Black & Yellow color will be an icing on the cake...

hey hey hey !
Old 26th July 2010, 14:30   #56

If the Altis diesel can do an ARAI certified kmpl of 21+ then the nano with much lesser wt and much smaller engine with CRDI and Turbo should do more than 25+ Kmpl
Old 26th July 2010, 15:07   #57

Originally Posted by Latheesh View Post
Sure sales - 25000 PM

But launching in Sept/Oct '10? I doubt that.
Why doubt sir

We know that the diesel stuff have been on testing for more than a year now. So, why the doubt?
Old 26th July 2010, 15:49   #58

This is amazing news! If the car quality is up to the mark (not too noisy and not too much vibrations) and the drive is steady and stable, this car can be a super hit in the market. I would expect it to give 19-21kmpl in city and may be 26-30kmpl on the highways? Phew! cant imagine it.
Old 26th July 2010, 15:55   #59

The engine was supposed to be a 700cc Dicor, that was being developed along with Bosch. This 800cc engine is news to me. Hope its true ;-)
Old 26th July 2010, 15:56   #60

Good News.
But not sure how much it can withstand the diesel engine's vibrations for sure and also the ride comfort.

Guys, your views ?

Last edited by ganesh_bbr : 26th July 2010 at 15:57.