Old 28th December 2009, 11:26   #46
v10

Yuck! I almost threw up! What happenned to the good old LC100 shape and smaller Prados? Every subsequent generation keeps getting screwed up.
Old 28th December 2009, 21:46   #47

The best Toyota can hope for is that people enamoured by the full size LC will go for the Prado at half its price.

Of course, paying $$$ 4 cyl Innova engine is a ripoff at this price point, but TKML hopes the customers wont realize this and dealers will be trained to tell customers that its a 'all new engine'

Last edited by Mpower : 6th December 2013 at 06:45.
Old 29th December 2009, 12:09   #48

The Prado is a CBU import while the fortuner and the Innova are assembled in India. The duties affecting the two are very different, so though the Pardo should have been within 10L of the fortuner it is now at a 30L permium due to the 110+ % extra duty.
Old 29th December 2009, 12:35   #49

Nothing beats the Prado

110% duty on the import cost gives another reason to buy it. Buy a Prado or any CBU and half the amount goes in development of the Nation.

No points for guessing my next (dream) car or rather my target car. Would have to work real hard for many years to turn this dream into reality.

But hats off to Toyota for making such a great vehicle and Launching it in India along with rest of the world..

I will add few features from this version before import. Check this link.. Simply Awesome!!

http://www.caradvice.com.au/48425/to...-prado-review/

Toyota launches the Prado Diesel in India-09prado003625x416.jpg

Toyota launches the Prado Diesel in India-09prado015625x416.jpg

Toyota launches the Prado Diesel in India-09prado018625x416.jpg

Toyota launches the Prado Diesel in India-09prado036625x416.jpg

Toyota launches the Prado Diesel in India-09prado045625x416.jpg

Toyota launches the Prado Diesel in India-09prado085625x416.jpg

Toyota launches the Prado Diesel in India-09prado094625x416.jpg

Toyota launches the Prado Diesel in India-09prado096625x416.jpg

Toyota launches the Prado Diesel in India-g6i0403319x480.jpg

Toyota launches the Prado Diesel in India-g6i0447625x416.jpg

Last edited by Ym-enjn : 29th December 2009 at 12:41.
Ym-enjn is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 29th December 2009, 13:55   #50

A Couple of Videos from the same link, showing true capabilities of this vehicle.

#
Old 30th December 2009, 17:07   #51

The retail cost in Australia is approx AUD 90000 that is Approx Rs. 3770000/- But lets take it at

Import cost Rs – 20,00,000/-
110% Duty Rs – 2200000

Total – 4200000

Other Expenses (surcharge, import agent, logistics, dock and undock etc) plus dealer margin – 250000
Toyota gross profit including warranty – 170000

TOTAL- 4620000

Add vat 14% - 646800

Total – 5266800 (Ex showroom)

Now add another 5 to 7 Lakhs on registration road tax and insurance. That makes a total of Approx 60 Lakhs.

Total cost breakage on one sale of Prado is like this-

On Road Price- 60 Lakhs

Toyota India gross profit 1.7 Lakhs
Money going in development of Country – 35.5 lakhs

Out of 60 lakhs Toyota makes a gross profit of 1.7 lakhs. That is a pathetic 3%. Do you really think they are ripping us off. Give me one reason why should they care to launch this product in India. It is we Customers. At least we should appreciate their vehicles and encourage them to give us latest products. Those who have money will buy but we for once will get to see them on road.
Ym-enjn is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 30th December 2009, 17:26   #52

Originally Posted by Ym-enjn View Post
The retail cost in Australia is approx AUD 90000 that is Approx Rs. 3770000/- But lets take it at

Import cost Rs – 20,00,000/-
110% Duty Rs – 2200000

Total – 4200000

Other Expenses (surcharge, import agent, logistics, dock and undock etc) plus dealer margin – 250000
Toyota gross profit including warranty – 170000

TOTAL- 4620000

Add vat 14% - 646800

Total – 5266800 (Ex showroom)

Now add another 5 to 7 Lakhs on registration road tax and insurance. That makes a total of Approx 60 Lakhs.

Total cost breakage on one sale of Prado is like this-

On Road Price- 60 Lakhs

Toyota India gross profit 1.7 Lakhs
Money going in development of Country – 35.5 lakhs

Out of 60 lakhs Toyota makes a gross profit of 1.7 lakhs. That is a pathetic 3%. Do you really think they are ripping us off. Give me one reason why should they care to launch this product in India. It is we Customers. At least we should appreciate their vehicles and encourage them to give us latest products. Those who have money will buy but we for once will get to see them on road.

We will continue to remain under developed with this UNETHICAL kind of errant Erstwhile communist Soviet socialistic idealogy based Taxation. We must allow our nation's ethics to reflect in our taxation policy in line with our civilization heritages such as Artha Sasthra.

The rich one who pays 35 odd lakhs as explotative taxation will ripp off the nation un ethically at his next available opportunity.

This 110% duty must be made 50% which will balance the looting by german car makers in India by way of selling monthly much higher numbers of their CKD assemble cars at CBU Prices and taking away much more hundreds of crores of money out of our country and leaving it much underdeveloped.

Last edited by harimakesh : 30th December 2009 at 17:30.
Old 30th December 2009, 18:22   #53

i knew they were gonna use that same diesel engine! i knew it in my gut! i found this out while accidentally i opened toyota uk website!! and they had the refreshed prado with v6 and 170 bhp power! . then and there i realized the value of fortuner!

no wonder they call it poor mans prado! i think if they add side and curtain airbags and esp! and also an auto trans. the package would be complete and i would not mind spending a few lacs extra on it! but 110% duty for this thing!! which would hardly ever go to offroading!! wow!

at this price audi q7 seems value for money! and at 62-65 lacs. porsche cayenne diesel looks cool too! because you can effortlessly drive at high speeds above 200kph which prado cannot do! that i think is the utility of such vehicles!(large family, 7 members, fast travel, complete luxury)

i just hate the fact about paying 110% duty on imported cars!, i actually did some reasearch and found that rate of duty in USA for imported cars is just 2.5 % .

Last edited by Caramelo : 30th December 2009 at 18:26.
Old 5th December 2013, 15:00   #54
PPS

Re: Toyota launches the Prado Diesel in India

Toyota has launched the 2014 Prado at Rs 84.9 lakh, ex-showroom, Delhi.

https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?f...levant_count=1
PPS is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 5th December 2013, 17:36   #55

Originally Posted by PPS View Post

https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?f...levant_count=1
This has to be the biggest joke of a pricing I have ever seen on a CBU ! They shouldn't even bother with a launch event, just nuke the product already!
Sahil is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 5th December 2013, 17:38   #56

This is daylight robbery. It does not makes sense to buy this product for double the price it should just because of fancy interiors. It shares powertrain with T-Fort, for just 2ps more ends up paying Rs.60 lacs more for this.

They are only helping selling few more Audis, BMWs & Land/ Range Rovers.
Old 5th December 2013, 19:26   #57

Originally Posted by PPS View Post
Now Mercedes Benz GL Class looks VFM @ 72 Lakhs. Why did Toyota even bother to launch. It is Day Light Robbery and best joke in automobile history
Sarvodaya is offline   (7) Thanks
Old 6th December 2013, 10:40   #58

With every launch of Prado I used to look keenly at the prices, and each time it's just more disappointing than the previous one. I never plan to buy one any time soon, but wished to see some more of these on our roads. That seems a really distant dream now. Hopeless!

The Mercs, Audis and Beemers make much more sense and 'VFM'
Old 6th December 2013, 16:59   #59

Hmm. Wonder if this is to help Fortuner even further. Not that it needed any though. 20L package gives you almost a similar engine of 80L car.

Anyway I would be truly interested to know what kind of buyer would buy a Prado at this stratospheric price.
Old 6th December 2013, 17:52   #60

This is ridiculous! They NOT only managed to look the truck uglier, topped up with insane pricing too. Could someone tell me whether a Prado is substantially better than a Fortuner? In terms of capability / ride quality / premium feel or even 4x4 capability? Where exactly does it trump Fortuner other than price?