Old 7th January 2010, 10:41   #16

It looks like pricing and sales was not one of the criteria for selection and they went purely by the product.

In that case Jazz would score on par or better in all criterias compared to other launches in its segment for 2009 and hence will deserve the award IMHO.
Old 7th January 2010, 10:42   #17

Jazz? and COTY? that is one big Joke

IMHO, Cruze or Fortuner should have been the winner, if Nano was not considered.

Last edited by theexperthand : 7th January 2010 at 10:43.
Old 7th January 2010, 10:55   #18

Are we IDIOTS ?
Off course not. Why don't we stop discussing pathetic jokes !
Lets call it a day for these !@#$ awards.
Old 7th January 2010, 10:57   #19

Don't care about CNBwhatever awards. In my view

Mid Sedan of the year: Tata Manza
Hatchback of the year: Suzuki Ritz
Car of the year: Chevrolet Cruze

I am sorry but Linea doesn't deserve any award, just based on the looks. Far too many shortcomings in the current model.
Old 7th January 2010, 11:13   #20

Nano features in Autocar UK top10 cars of the decade @ 7th !
Range Rover is Car of the Decade - Autocar.co.uk

info gathered from:
http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/indian...ml#post1669417
Old 7th January 2010, 11:19   #21

The most important launch last year was of MM Xylo, it had the oppurtunity to futher strengthen Indian car makers hold their gorund, but unfortunatly it fizzled out.

MM had a great oppurtunity to build on the success of Scorpio.

Most expected car of the year 2009: Xylo
Biggest flop car of the year 2009: Xylo
Old 7th January 2010, 14:56   #22

Originally Posted by dodge_v1per View Post
Gosh!!! Now may we know on what basis??
As said above, This is actually joke of the Year!!
Originally Posted by Latheesh View Post
This is joke of the year!!! Honda Jazz

Nano, Linea or Fortuner deserve it
Originally Posted by clevermax View Post

Honda Jazz wins the car of the year award!

I don't think it's such a funny issue!
Jazz,as a car is brilliant and sets the benchmark in its segment.
The only major negative that one could point out of jazz is its price and that says a lot! Had Honda priced it reasonably it would have been a big success.
But still I too think it doesn't deserve a 'car of the year' because its a flop in the market and we know why.

And NDTV is always obsessed with any thing Honda
last year they gave it to ANHC this year Jazz
And HeroHonda too won lot of prizes, Not to mention PawanMunjal is given 'the man of the year'.
Old 7th January 2010, 15:50   #23

Originally Posted by vulpine101 View Post
I don't think it's such a funny issue!
Jazz,as a car is brilliant and sets the benchmark in its segment.
The only major negative that one could point out of jazz is its price and that says a lot! Had Honda priced it reasonably it would have been a big success.
But still I too think it doesn't deserve a 'car of the year' because its a flop in the market and we know why.

And NDTV is always obsessed with any thing Honda
last year they gave it to ANHC this year Jazz
And HeroHonda too won lot of prizes, Not to mention PawanMunjal is given 'the man of the year'.
Well if the price and sales are not the criteria then i think a lot of cars in Mercs and BMW club would outclass Honda jazz as COTY which has only downgraded the image of Honda, purely by its pricing. I think it should be a car which has enhanced its manufacturer's image in that segment i.e. selling more numbers than expected. by that yardstick the best nominees would be Grande Punto, Tata Nano, Chevy Cruze and Toyota Fortunner. I would vote in for Chevy cruze or Tata Nano purely for its VFM element.
Old 7th January 2010, 16:00   #24

This article sheds some light on some of the practices of the auto media industry here in India and abroad.
There are so many instances recounted on this forum also.

The Truth About Press Cars | The Truth About Cars

The reader comments are also very insightful.

Last edited by vasudeva : 7th January 2010 at 16:05.
Old 7th January 2010, 17:08   #25

Originally Posted by Latheesh View Post
This is joke of the year!!! Honda Jazz

Nano, Linea or Fortuner deserve it

If they didn't want Nano they could have appreciated Fiat's efforts with GP by localising it. In neutral countries the GP is more expensive (atleast at par) with Jazz in pricing!
Old 7th January 2010, 18:00   #26

Wow I had No clue as to the extent of Work done

Originally Posted by vasudeva View Post
This article sheds some light on some of the practices of the auto media industry here in India and abroad.
There are so many instances recounted on this forum also.

The Truth About Press Cars | The Truth About Cars

The reader comments are also very insightful.
Thanks, it was really insightful. I knew it was done and always suspected they were paid to write good reviews but to get an Idea of what else was done was just plain Insightful.

Thanks Vasu for the link.
Old 7th January 2010, 21:36   #27

If the Jazz was priced around 1L lower wouldnt we all have gone GA GA over that car. Common guys we need to give it what it deserves. Its got a good engine, good power, good interiors, good handling, good space, good equipment ad good everything you would look in a hatch. The fact that its overpriced should not strip it off its title.
Old 7th January 2010, 21:42   #28

Car of the year should be a car which takes the segment forward. It could be the Nano which created an entirely new segment, or the Fortuner for providing a true blood modern SUV at the price that it did. It could even be the Superb for providing a car of the size of E class at the price of an Accord.
Picking Jazz as the car of the year is ridiculous. Maybe Audi will bring in the A1 at 15 lacs to India and will be the next year's winner.
Old 8th January 2010, 14:47   #29

Originally Posted by gemithomas View Post
If the Jazz was priced around 1L lower wouldnt we all have gone GA GA over that car. Common guys we need to give it what it deserves. Its got a good engine, good power, good interiors, good handling, good space, good equipment ad good everything you would look in a hatch. The fact that its overpriced should not strip it off its title.
Cant agree more. Technically, Jazz is a brilliant car. Honda should have localized it a lot more and shaved off at least a lakh from its price. Doing that would not reduce their profit margin per car, just that buyers would not have to pay the excess duties to the govt. Plus, Honda would have got more volumes.

IMHO, in its current avatar in India, the Jazz is not worthy of a COTY award, if only because of its prohibitive cost and consequent apathy by prospective buyers.

More importantly, there were several other new launches in 2009 that were game changers - Tata Nano and Xylo to name two - which make the choice of Jazz as the CNBC COTY, look embarrassing.
Old 8th January 2010, 15:19   #30

Originally Posted by prmd_cochin View Post
The most important launch last year was of MM Xylo, it had the oppurtunity to futher strengthen Indian car makers hold their gorund, but unfortunatly it fizzled out.

MM had a great oppurtunity to build on the success of Scorpio.

Most expected car of the year 2009: Xylo
Biggest flop car of the year 2009: Xylo
May be the the exception was high as you say, so it looks like a flop. It's not a flop in sales anyhow. But the design is a flop (to me) which I expected from its camouflage days. The front look is awkward.