Old 8th January 2010, 18:02   #16

No doubt Microbus looks good. But do you think that this will be easy to drive bus. See the front glass area and the location of A Pillar. Who will drive with A Pillar always visible to you?
Old 8th January 2010, 18:15   #17

The mods done on the Innova looks classy. Like Dippy mentioned, for around 15 lakhs, this could be owned by the chauffer driven lads.
The bus design looks good on the exterios, spoilt with the pink seats and the awkward A pillar.
Thanks for the pics.
Old 8th January 2010, 18:27   #18

What's DYP-DC? I see the red 'thing' with DYP-DC on it and it has me interested.
Old 8th January 2010, 19:30   #19
~~h

Originally Posted by harishnair View Post

The Innova interiors are fine, but I really doubt 300 orders part.
Could be true, I've already seen a couple of them in Mumbai (Western Suburbs)

Originally Posted by basilmabraham View Post
The mods done on the Innova looks classy. Like Dippy mentioned, for around 15 lakhs, this could be owned by the chauffer driven lads.
Thanks for the pics.
DCs Ad says it's 4.5 Lacs, and if you are buying an entry variant of Innova, the final fig. will look even more interesting.
Old 8th January 2010, 19:45   #20

Is 'beat' the work of DC?

Folks
If I remember correctly, what GM has launched as 'Beat' now was showcased as DC work during last Auto Expo. Is it really his design or did he just create prototype or something?
Old 8th January 2010, 20:05   #21

Originally Posted by Guna View Post
Folks
If I remember correctly, what GM has launched as 'Beat' now was showcased as DC work during last Auto Expo. Is it really his design or did he just create prototype or something?
As far as I know DC created the prototype and was not involved in designing.

Originally Posted by frankmehta
What's DYP-DC? I see the red 'thing' with DYP-DC on it and it has me interested.
Here's what it is.
DYP-DC is a design institute. DYP = D.Y.Patil.

Check it out:
DYP-DC

Last edited by HammerHead : 8th January 2010 at 20:15.
Old 8th January 2010, 20:26   #22

The ying yang is a decent interpretation of a VW bus. Interiors look out of place, almost like an after thought. The imperator is well, futuristic. DC has given us a glimpse of what cars should not look like in 10 years time.
Old 8th January 2010, 20:43   #23

again again.....another crap.
he says 300 orders for that hideous thing, is he crazy or thinks we are stupid.
for god's sake, please stop.
Old 8th January 2010, 20:53   #24

Loved this article in Autoblog on DC, I actually share their views..

"$220,000 DC Designs Tata Nano coming this year

by Damon Lavrinc (RSS feed) on Jan 7th, 2010 at 4:58PM

DC Designs Tata Nano – Click above for image gallery

DC Designs came out swinging at this week's Auto Expo 2010, and in addition to revealing its Imperator and Ying Yang concepts, the Mumbai-based firm's namesake – Dilip Chhabaria – revealed plans to produce a bespoke [COLOR=#006fb1]Tata Nano[/COLOR] that's set to cost... wait for it... 10 million rupee. That's $220,000.

How could Chhabari possibly inflate the price of the Nano by some $218,000? According to reports coming out New Delhi, DC plans to completely overhaul the budget runabout, replacing all the body panels, brakes, suspension and interior components, along with fitting 20-inch wheels and replacing the 33 horsepower, 624cc engine with a 1.6-liter mill that's able to propel the five-seat hatch to a maximum speed of 124 mph. We figure we could do all of that on a LeMons budget, so either something got lost in translation or we'll have what he's having.

Chhabari told the AFP that he expects, "...people from Bollywood to be interested in this project, but I think generally it will be people who have a passion for cars." DC plans to sell between two and five modified Nanos each year and expects to not only market his creation in India, but also export his $200k hatch to outside markets. Hey Dilip, stop hogging the hookah.""

Last edited by Rehaan : 9th January 2010 at 14:15. Reason: removed formatting tags
Old 9th January 2010, 06:52   #25

Originally Posted by Dippy View Post
4.95 lakhs is for the mods on the Innova which is not bad at all IMO. Buy an Innova for say 9 lakhs, add this package and you have customized Innova for 14 lakhs. Not a bad option for those looking a chauffeur driven office on wheels. I have seen this new Innova package up close and personal and I must say its a very well executed job. Nothing is done to the exterior except a nice set of alloys.
rightly said. this work of DC is worth the money. it looks classy on the inside quite unlike the pointless ying yang (that winger based mini bus).
Old 9th January 2010, 07:17   #26

DC sucks bigtime and its just hyped too much.

And people who had s***loads of extra cash would buy DC designs just for sake of boosting their ego and to mention on page 3 parties that they wasted so much money on a yuck thing.

any sensible autophile and a T-BHPian knows whats the truth and would rather spend money on BHP gain mods rather than the DC style cheap looking designs.

god save us from DC.
Old 9th January 2010, 07:28   #27

300 is the total orders DC received so far . For what DC charges 50 L, you could get it done in Coimbatore for 5 L.
Old 9th January 2010, 07:41   #28

Yuck !!!!

When I was child just like the hobby of stamp collection , I used to cut and paste the DC modded vehicles in an old diary.

I am feeling so sad for DC. Just disgusting.

I remember seeing a DC modded Rx 100 in the weired and wacky thread.

When a ordinary but creative man starts his business , he will put in his best efforts and he will creative wonders. and start earning a lot.

But when the money comes in , he must be able to keep his own creativity That is the effort which makes a business man bigger and biggest.

Does DC lack effort ?
Many of his own work it self shows that he has much creativity.

Who all agrre with me ?
Old 9th January 2010, 08:55   #29

Originally Posted by teamveevee View Post
300 is the total orders DC received so far . For what DC charges 50 L, you could get it done in Coimbatore for 5 L.

A relative of mine has got the exact same mods done to his Innova in Bangalore and when he visited DC, saw about 7 or 8 Innovas waiting in line for the mods.
Old 9th January 2010, 13:49   #30

DC Design at the Auto Expo 2010

DC design showed of the imperator concept, along with a modified innova, and the Yin Yang van based on Tata Winger

First the Imperator

The design is pretty outrageous. That said, the quality is top notch, and many may find it appealing even.Nothing at the expo shocks your senses more
DC Design at the Auto Expo 2010-760572392_wdiitl.jpg

DC Design at the Auto Expo 2010-760226728_ucglhl.jpg

DC Design at the Auto Expo 2010-760234077_kqfywl.jpg

DC Design at the Auto Expo 2010-760240000_igpvql.jpg

DC Design at the Auto Expo 2010-760245004_sdjsvl.jpg

DC Design at the Auto Expo 2010-760249485_y2stvl.jpg

DC Design at the Auto Expo 2010-760219043_8amf2l.jpg

Second was an innova, with plush interiors
DC Design at the Auto Expo 2010-760265719_v2zmfl.jpg

The attention to detail is amazing
DC Design at the Auto Expo 2010-760573119_hs5eyl.jpg

DC Design at the Auto Expo 2010-760270629_vjveyl.jpg

Last but not the least is the Ying Yang. Though it loses on practicality front, its can make a great mobile lounge
Note, its the Ying Yang, not Yin Yang
DC Design at the Auto Expo 2010-760274300_r8jv4l.jpg

RVM
DC Design at the Auto Expo 2010-760276821_t26q3l.jpg

The front lights are a neat touch
DC Design at the Auto Expo 2010-760279021_f5rtkl.jpg

She is long and big, and the shape reminds of futuristic old world vehicles
DC Design at the Auto Expo 2010-760281160_3mmqll.jpg

DC Design at the Auto Expo 2010-760286068_8p5xzl.jpg

Now the exciting part, the interiors.
As I said, impractical for long travel, but great as a lounge!
DC Design at the Auto Expo 2010-760573867_2qhjdl.jpg

Wood flooring
DC Design at the Auto Expo 2010-760291809_ddsvpl.jpg

there is a TV in the door!
DC Design at the Auto Expo 2010-760294061_sdzwdl.jpg

While the fuel filler is well designed
DC Design at the Auto Expo 2010-760297280_ep9vgl.jpg

The keyhole reveals the humble origins
Name:  760299128_FTPPYL.jpg
Views: 7079
Size:  57.6 KB

Massive wheels. White goes very well with Blue