Old 21st January 2010, 13:33   #16

500 NM of torque! and that too at 39 lakhs...this should really set the cat among the pegions- this car may cannibalize the E350 CDi sales and may also give some sleepless nights to the 530d with all that torque.

A comparo would be very interesting
Old 21st January 2010, 14:48   #17

i think the pricing is good. if it comes loaded with all the features and similar styling then its just awesome! i don't have that kinda money sloshing around but if were to make a decision. 39 lacs @ E- class.. 200 hp power..... 250kmph(electronically limited)....500 Nm torque...dayum!! i am ready to forget the bmw 520d. now it has to be seen if they can match the stats with a new gen engine! or reallly keep the pricing lower!

attention assist - its a feature for merc owners who drive after having a couple of beers or some wine. primary modes of transportation are cars. and distances are way too long! and when you are alone in a car after having shots of tequila at a party or are just doing cross country travel. if not the first day or the second. but on the third night of highway travel. the sleep monster will get to you. if not 2 am. then 3 am...... at 3.40... u might even doze off for a few secs ... SECONDS i repeat. but that few secs are so important between life and death! (US,UK etc). and especially you are alone. you need someone to wake you up. here the car itself wakes you up!!

this feature is not fancy. its not cool. like the night vision or heads up display. but its a feature which can literally save lives...

and i appreciate Mercedes Benz's efforts to make car driving safer!

Last edited by Caramelo : 21st January 2010 at 14:53.
Old 25th January 2010, 00:56   #18

Now the E250 CDI is the car that will really sell! The 520D has some serious competition now and will definitely see a drop in sales. 500 nm of torque sounds tantalising!
Old 25th January 2010, 09:14   #19

Isn't the pricing great? 39.XX lac for the CDI? Lets see how the new 5 series will be priced now.
Old 25th January 2010, 13:24   #20

Originally Posted by speedy View Post
Saw the car last evening at the opening of the New Mercedes Dealership (Shaman Mercedes) at Kalina. The car looked good and i liked the multi spoke wheel design it comes with. This car with its priceing and the Power of 200 BHP and 500 NM torque is a sure winner at the hands. Paying almost 14 lakhs more for 40 Nm torque in the 350 cdi is very steep. I think i shall take this over the 350 cdi.

slightly off topic, this shaman mercedes is a new dealer which has come up in the same space where Icchibaan honda was earlier, the showroom i think is up and running since about 2 months now but seems mostly empty, hardly any vehicular movement.. i think they got 3 vehicles on the display floor, a C, S and an ML.
Old 25th January 2010, 13:51   #21

Originally Posted by fx45 View Post
slightly off topic, this shaman mercedes is a new dealer which has come up in the same space where Icchibaan honda was earlier, the showroom i think is up and running since about 2 months now but seems mostly empty, hardly any vehicular movement.. i think they got 3 vehicles on the display floor, a C, S and an ML.

Yes it is. The final touches were being done. The showroom was up but not running for the past 2 months FX45. It started running from the other day when i went for the opening. They have the New C, E, S and the ML and soon the GL was also going to be displayed. They have enough provision to display 6 cars.
Old 25th January 2010, 17:20   #22

Originally Posted by Sudan_NFS View Post
I feel this feature is not of much need because by default the drive should be alert while driving.I am sure in India many will not care to this assist.
I suspect the feature is more for the driver, since most people who buy this car are driven and don't drive. So lets say your going from Mumbai to Pune and fall of to sleep and the driver inspired by you also decides to take a quick cat nap believing that both he and you posses the nine lives of the cat as well, this system should give him a reality check.

What it does is that it vibrates the seat every time you move your head down or something. It can be annoying if you bend down to pick up a fallen CD for example. None the less the Mercedes are known for such cool Innovation.

Brilliant IMHO at that price.
Old 30th January 2010, 16:52   #23

Mercedes E 250 CDI

I am looking at upgrading to the E250CDI (2010) from C220CDI (2006).
Should I ? should I not.
Old 1st February 2010, 00:23   #24

Originally Posted by Garipagol View Post
I am looking at upgrading to the E250CDI (2010) from C220CDI (2006).
Should I ? should I not.
Ofcourse ! Its will be a major upgrade- lot more space, features and certainly far more power
Old 9th March 2010, 15:32   #25

Got my E250 CDI BE. Palladium Silver ! Ummmm....
Old 9th March 2010, 16:48   #26

Congrats Garipagol,

Thats a wise choice, do post some pictures of your car esp. the interior?

Old 9th March 2010, 16:50   #27

Congratulations on your new E. May I request you to start a new thread on your ownership experiences?

Drive safe.
Old 9th March 2010, 23:40   #28

Congrats buddy, may the new Merc give you the best moments of driving & driven experiance. As Dippy requested, please start a thread on the ownership experiance!
Old 10th March 2010, 14:54   #29

Congrats on your new buy. Enjoy it. Cheers !
Old 10th March 2010, 15:28   #30

Hmmm! Time to take my Dad shopping............ E250 CDI