Team-BHP > The Indian Car Scene
Register New Topics New Posts Top Thanked Team-BHP FAQ

Search this Thread
Old 31st January 2010, 05:49   #1
BHPian

Query about car taxes in India

I am trying to understand the various taxes and duties imposed on automobiles in India. Please bear with me because I am a noob and a little out of touch with the Indian car scene.

1. Import Duty on CBUs (Completely Built Units) is 110%. Is that right? I am assuming a CBU enters the country fully assembled including wheels?

2. Import duty on CKDs (Completely Knocked Down) is 55%. Is this right? How do we define a CKD? I am assuming all the parts needed to assemble a car are shipped in a crate and just the assembly takes place in India. What is the rationale behind taxing CKDs at a much lower rate than CBUs? Is this because the GoI (Government of India) wants to encourage the companies to open up plants in India to assemble cars and generate employment?

3. On what numbers are the above tax rates applied? On the price of the car in the country it is manufactured in? Let's suppose a car ImportedCar is imported from HomeCountry where its suggested retail price Rs 1000. By the time ImportedCar comes to India, it costs 1000 + 1.1(1000) = 2100. I see a couple of problems with this. First, doesn't the 1000 include the profit margin for the manufacturer in HomeCountry? Their actual manufacturing cost may be much lower. Second, what if ImportedCar is not sold in HomeCountry at all but is just manufactured there. Bottomline, how exactly does the GoI determine the real value of ImportedCar?

Or does the GoI back-calculate the import duty based on the price of the car in India? I doubt this is the way it works.