Old 7th February 2010, 17:49   #1

Fabia for 5.25L on-road bangalore?

hello,

i saw the ad on skoda website that they have 50,000/- discount and on carwale.com i got the on road price for 'fabia active' as 5.21 L on-road.

i called up TAL (skoda dealer) and they told that the base model if 5.7 Lacs !!

when i asked about fabia active, they said that its a very basic model and its 5.28 onroad and has 1 month waiting period. and they said they will call back to confirm availability. they never called back.

today i called them again, they said 'fabia active' is 5.50 Lac

what is skoda trying to do, i didn't understand, has any one really bought the 'fabia active' for 5.2 or 5.25 lacs on-road in b'lore? or is it just a hoax created by skoda marketing?
Old 7th February 2010, 19:42   #2

Try this thread. Haven't gone through it but looks like a Skoda Active review.

http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/test-d...a-1-2-mpi.html
Old 7th February 2010, 19:43   #3

Yamaha - why do you want to buy the Fabia? Arent there better options?
Old 7th February 2010, 19:55   #4

Originally Posted by Yamaha100 View Post
what is skoda trying to do, i didn't understand, has any one really bought the 'fabia active' for 5.2 or 5.25 lacs on-road in b'lore? or is it just a hoax created by skoda marketing?
I think you are right. Maybe some kind of marketing gimmick as they are not doing so well in selling their vehicles.

Originally Posted by Proxima View Post
Maybe he is curious just to know whatz the price.
Old 7th February 2010, 19:58   #5

Please avoid Fabia as there are better options in the market.Please do a search on the forum before taking a plunge.
Old 7th February 2010, 20:12   #6

I had contacted Skoda Chennai (Gurudev) around november last year and they told me active was temporarily out of production (for an undecided time period) and hence could not be bought.
Old 7th February 2010, 20:42   #7

Originally Posted by Proxima View Post
proxima,

my budget is 5.5 Lacs, so fabia-active if avlbl for 5.25 lacs might have been interesting. i would get airbags, rear defogger+rear wiper !!

option 1 : swift vxi for 5.3 (incl music system)
option 2 : i20 for 5.7 (with music system)
option 3 : a remote possibility vw polo if avlbl for less than 5.8 and must be really impressive

but i am not sure of VW A-S-S, may be enlightened souls on this forum can throw some light on this aspect.
Old 7th February 2010, 20:46   #8

To me the AD for a "SKODA FABIA" with 50000/ discount literally is the cheese (or in india's case coconut / onion ) that is kept in a rat trap !
It is merely the bait to trap the unsuspecting/uninformed .

Last edited by -NUT-case : 7th February 2010 at 20:47.
Old 7th February 2010, 20:54   #9

Originally Posted by -NUT-case View Post
To me the AD for a "SKODA FABIA" with 50000/ discount literally is the cheese (or in india's case coconut / onion ) that is kept in a rat trap !
It is merely the bait to trap the unsuspecting/uninformed .
dude is it so

i am having a TD very soon, i thot of booking if i got it for 5.25 to 5.4 onroad....pls help me to understand what the TRAP is all about ?
Old 7th February 2010, 22:05   #10

Originally Posted by Yamaha100 View Post
dude is it so

i am having a TD very soon, i thot of booking if i got it for 5.25 to 5.4 onroad....pls help me to understand what the TRAP is all about ?
Its quite simple actually...Skoda is quite infamous for shoddy *** and the fabia in particular is notorious for niggling issues and high cost of ownership. Just run a search and check the various ownership reviews on the forum for the Fabia and you'll know what everyone else is harping on about.

Inflated price tag [Not a problem with the discount I guess]
Uninspiring engine range [Unless your driving style is vanilla]
Dismal fuel efficiency (petrols)
Terrible service support [THIS IS THE MAIN ISSUE]

5.2 or 5.25 OTR might seem appealing but you might end up spending a huge amount on the car in the long run. Besides the re-sale value for the fabia is horrible.
Old 8th February 2010, 00:07   #11

Dear Yamaha,

Why you want to put your hard earned money on a car like SKODA. please read many horror story in this forum before even take the test drive. It may be available in 5.25 lacs on road but in After Sales Service they will extract another 5.25 lacs from you by changing your original parts with duplicate one. Kindly read review before booking the car(SKODA). There are many other options available in the market other then skoda.
Old 8th February 2010, 00:41   #12

Fabia is one of the best car in that segment.
My fabia is two years old now and never had any problem. Build quality of this car is unmatchable.
Those who knows fabia can says it.
Old 8th February 2010, 03:08   #13

I strongly suggest that you wait for the Ford Figo and the VW Polo to be launched in a few weeks time. I'm sure that the top end Figo diesel with ABS and Airbags will fall in your budget.
Old 8th February 2010, 07:02   #14

Infractions: 0/3 (12)

the latest issue of what car? talks about the 1.4 diesel tdci Figo top end version being available on road at about 3.9-4 lacs (Chennai). looks like a super deal. in comparison the petrol version 1.2 engine car will be at 3.4.
looks extremely attractive.

Originally Posted by chennai-indian View Post
I strongly suggest that you wait for the Ford Figo and the VW Polo to be launched in a few weeks time. I'm sure that the top end Figo diesel with ABS and Airbags will fall in your budget.
Old 8th February 2010, 08:20   #15

Originally Posted by gonewithwind View Post
Fabia is one of the best car in that segment.
My fabia is two years old now and never had any problem. Build quality of this car is unmatchable.
Those who knows fabia can says it.
I have driven the fabia for few months, Very true, no car under 10 lakhs can match the build quality of skoda.. if people say FIAT(old palio) vehicles are built like a tank, once needs to drive the fabia.

I can't comment on the mechanical parts of skoda.

I would say it is a steal for the money, just ensure the track record of the nearest service center is good. The car is also very peepy to drive in the city..