View Poll Results: Would you buy a hatchback for Rs. 10L (OTR)?
Yes 205 47.79%
No 224 52.21%
Voters: 429. You may not vote on this poll

Old 11th February 2010, 08:57   #91

IN general Indian consider hatch back to be always cheaper or one level below a sedan. So unless u give me a 400 litre boot on a hatch, i wont buy one. I need a big boot, not a 3 box design
Old 11th February 2010, 09:20   #92

Voted NO. I have no parking problems & besides I get my next dream car Scorp for this price, so why do I need a hatchback?

Originally Posted by theEnd View Post
I'm curious to see if the old stereotype of hatchbacks being small, low-budget cars with inferior status as compared to saloons still holds true.

I've voted yes, because of the following:
- I have a budget of 10L for a new car
- I live in a big city (Bombay)
- Parking space is tight in my apartment building as well as in the city
- I dont need a boot (can always fold down the seats)
- Rarely travel with passengers in the backseat

I'm quite frustrated that there are no options in my price range. The main culprits are:
- Honda decided not to put the 1.5 iVTEC in the Jazz, in order to keep it below 10L. The 1.2 Jazz is overpriced and underpowered.
- Fiat doesn't plan to put the 1.4 TJET in the Punto. An excellent car spoiled by underpowered engines.
- VW has gone on a cost cutting spree with the Polo and the car looks disappointing so far. Also, the 1.6 engine is not as good as the 1.2TSI sold elsewhere.

So thats why I want to see if people like me are very limited in number or if there is a genuine market for a 10L hatchback (OTR price).
BTW - I think there's one coming your way, would you be interested? - http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/intern...-revealed.html
Old 11th February 2010, 18:02   #93

I would buy it only if it is in league of VW beetle or the mini cooper, in terms of looks and technology. Otherwise it really does not make sense. It is rather better to buy a 5L hatchback and fuel it from the interest of remaining 5L.
Old 11th February 2010, 18:41   #94

I will never buy a hatchback for 10 Lakhs. I would rather prefer a MUV in that price. For hatchback - Nano is good VFM.
Old 11th February 2010, 18:54   #95

A hatch for 10lks is a big NO for me. I prefer hatch for city rides where there is no requirement for most excellent engines reuqired as the normal running trafic doesn't allow us to touch high on Speedo. For the amount like this, i would prefer a MUV or a better sedan like City. This would serve a lot of purposes.
Old 11th February 2010, 22:15   #96

I'd get the Fiat bravo if it would launch within 10lacs. But I guess as of now that's wishful thinking.
Old 11th February 2010, 22:32   #97

Will I ever decide to shelve out 10L for a car is a different question.
But if I do, I don't have any issues in going for a premium hatch. Considering the parking problems and lack of space, some times hatch makes perfect sense as your first car.
My personal opinion is that the space (with folded seats) in a hatch is much more useful than that of the boot of a sedan
Old 12th February 2010, 09:34   #98

I wont mind buying a 10lakh hatchback if the car is Focus RS/Bravo/Golf GT/Punto Abarth.
Old 12th February 2010, 09:40   #99

Originally Posted by theEnd View Post
I've voted yes, because of the following:
- I have a budget of 10L for a new car
- I live in a big city (Bombay)
- Parking space is tight in my apartment building as well as in the city
- I dont need a boot (can always fold down the seats)
- Rarely travel with passengers in the backseat

I'm quite frustrated that there are no options in my price range. The main culprits are:
- Honda decided not to put the 1.5 iVTEC in the Jazz, in order to keep it below 10L. The 1.2 Jazz is overpriced and underpowered.
- Fiat doesn't plan to put the 1.4 TJET in the Punto. An excellent car spoiled by underpowered engines.
- VW has gone on a cost cutting spree with the Polo and the car looks disappointing so far. Also, the 1.6 engine is not as good as the 1.2TSI sold elsewhere.
ditto for me - I am waiting for the dream hatch, but quite evident (from the votes here), that the indian market won't ever see one!
Old 12th February 2010, 10:57   #100

Originally Posted by .anshuman View Post
I wont mind buying a 10lakh hatchback if the car is Focus RS/Bravo/Golf GT/Punto Abarth.
I second that . No 10L hatch for me unless it includes the above cars.
Old 12th February 2010, 11:00   #101

I would. If we can get power of atleast 150hp and luxury as standard.
Old 12th February 2010, 11:38   #102

In my opinion, it is the utility of the good (s), rather than the money, that drives the purchase decision.

If I have a big joint family, I would like something like Xylo, Innova, Grande MKII. Even TATA/M&M SUVs can fit the bill, to some extent.

In case, I have all luxuries of life & want a small car to zip through a Metro Traffic, definitely I would go for something like Minicooper, etc, to match my status. However, never for posers like Jazz, which are badly overpriced & have no heritage like the Mini (& look how well BMW have dealt with the car, adding gloss to the star car).
Old 12th February 2010, 12:02   #103

Voted NO. But on second thoughts, if I can get a Mini Cooper for that price, then YES, a hundred times!
Old 12th February 2010, 12:08   #104

well if it happens to be a VW Scirocco then hell yes!
Old 12th February 2010, 12:27   #105

Oh yeah! as long as it is practical and I am rich!