Old 17th March 2010, 18:04   #31

A1 at 10L would be dreaming. They'll probably price it at 15 even if it is manufactured here itself. Considering BMW 3 series is now 25L territory, I could be wrong. I hope I am wrong.

Even if it doesnt have all the bells and whistles, those 4 rings will surely make up for it
Old 17th March 2010, 19:58   #32

I doubt whether it would be launched at 10L. I guess it will be in a range of 20L. If there is a 10L audi, everyone would buy the base model just to be in the Audi club. Currently entry level Audis are around 25 lacs. They would price it at around 20L as by my bet and trust me for average Mid-size, sedans, small cars, whatever price they quote, they launch it at around a minimum of 2 lacs higher .

I am sure they will be inspired by Honda pricing the Jazz so close to the city. They would price A1 around 20 lacs with A4 being the next best at around 25 lacs.

Toyota stopped Qualis just to make that exclusivity and not being branded as a Taxi Market Champion.

Take a look at maruti. Maruti cars are good but do not give a "Premium" feel to the average indian. Whether he owns an 800 or an omni or owns an SX4, the statement is "i have a Maruti". For that matter even if he has a Vitara. that exclusivity is gone. There is no distinction for a Vitara owner and 800 owner. Public would say he has a Maruti.
Old 17th March 2010, 20:29   #33

Originally Posted by scopriobharath View Post
They would price A1 around 20 lacs with A4 being the next best at around 25 lacs.
You are forgetting the A3! A1 can easily be at 12-16 lacs, the A3 at 19-24 and A4 at 27.

Biggest obstacle for Audi at this point is delivery! Average delivery time being quoted at this point is 4-6 months depending on the car! Its a joke!

Last edited by FlyingSpur : 16th November 2010 at 21:35. Reason: Fixed the quote tag.
Old 17th March 2010, 20:44   #34

In Europe this car is said to be competition for Mini Cooper.
Old 17th March 2010, 20:49   #35

Originally Posted by scopriobharath View Post
They would price A1 around 20 lacs with A4 being the next best at around 25 lacs.
You are forgetting the A3! A1 can easily be at 12-16 lacs, the A3 at 19-24 and A4 at 27.

Biggest obstacle for Audi at this point is delivery! Average delivery time being quoted at this point is 4-6 months depending on the car! Its a joke![/quote]

Whats the reason for such a long waiting period?

Last edited by FlyingSpur : 16th November 2010 at 21:35. Reason: Fixed the quote tag.
aparth is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 18th March 2010, 08:49   #36

Well, 2012 is a long wait. Mini Cooper will be here way before that. I don't think it is going to be priced 10 Lakhs - or even anywhere close to it. I think it will be priced around 18 Lakhs or so. If it is going to be priced between $16k - $20k in the US, with 100+% import tax, we should be looking at something around 24 Lakhs. That would be a worst scenario take BUT we should be expecting somewhere between 18 - 24 Lakhs.
Old 16th November 2010, 21:33   #37

Thread closed. The topic will be re-opened if there is any news of Audi launching the A1 in India.