Old 22nd March 2010, 13:55   #46

I had been to the Toyota Car Expo on Sunday.

As usual filled the form and received the Etios Concept brochures. There was loud music of the Etios theme.

Checked out all the vehicles, clicked a few snaps and went back home. Pictures on the way, need to find the cable to transfer the photos from phone to Laptop.
Old 22nd March 2010, 16:57   #47

A few pics from the Expo

The Etios Concept Sedan

The "All India" Toyota Road Shows Thread-21032010129.jpg

The "All India" Toyota Road Shows Thread-21032010132.jpg

The "All India" Toyota Road Shows Thread-21032010133.jpg

The "All India" Toyota Road Shows Thread-21032010135.jpg

The Etios Hatch Back

The "All India" Toyota Road Shows Thread-21032010136.jpg

The "All India" Toyota Road Shows Thread-21032010138.jpg

The "All India" Toyota Road Shows Thread-21032010142.jpg

Prius

The "All India" Toyota Road Shows Thread-21032010143.jpg

The "All India" Toyota Road Shows Thread-21032010145.jpg

CAMRY

The "All India" Toyota Road Shows Thread-21032010147.jpg

CAMRY Hybrid

The "All India" Toyota Road Shows Thread-21032010146.jpg

The "All India" Toyota Road Shows Thread-21032010148.jpg

INNOVA

The "All India" Toyota Road Shows Thread-21032010149.jpg

FORTUNER

The "All India" Toyota Road Shows Thread-21032010150.jpg

Land Cruiser

The "All India" Toyota Road Shows Thread-21032010151.jpg

Land Cruiser Prado

The "All India" Toyota Road Shows Thread-21032010152.jpg
Old 22nd March 2010, 19:50   #48
PCS

Nice Pics !

Whatever It May Be Regarding The Recall Factor But Still Toyota Is A Toyota !!!

Man Look At Their Suv's, Imagine All 3 Standing Next To Each Other, Its Truly Crux Of Power !!

Hats Off To Toyota For Creating Such Masterpiece. All 3 Have Very Good Road Presence
Old 22nd March 2010, 22:48   #49

Is there any interior pics of the Etious hatchback and sedan?.Did anybody get that?
The sedan doesnt look all that bad.
Nice pics nkrishnap
Old 22nd March 2010, 23:14   #50

Is the interior picture in the thread from the Prius ? Does someone have an picture of the Etios Sedan interiors and the speculated engine specs.
Old 23rd March 2010, 10:21   #51

Originally Posted by avishar View Post
Is there any interior pics of the Etious hatchback and sedan?.Did anybody get that?
The sedan doesnt look all that bad.
Nice pics nkrishnap
No there was barricade sort of thing stopping people from getting very near to the car and also it was placed up on a stage/dias. Could not get any interior Pics

Originally Posted by srikanths1 View Post
Is the interior picture in the thread from the Prius ? Does someone have an picture of the Etios Sedan interiors and the speculated engine specs.
yes. It is from the Prius. Could not click more pictures as too many people were getting in and out of the car.

Again no interiors pics of the Etios. Its rumoured that the sedan would be powered by 1.5 Litre VVTi and 1.4 Litre D4D for the sedan and 1.2 Litre VVTi and 1.4 Litre D4D for the hatchback. Planning to visit the plant sometime soon. Will update when I get more information
Old 23rd March 2010, 10:56   #52

Boot area of the Etios reminds me of the Logan. Did anyone else notice this similarity or is it just me.
Old 23rd March 2010, 11:56   #53
mkh

I had been to the show, what was most interesting was that people were more attracted to the dance show than the cars! The show was happening every hour and was around the Etios Launch.
The weirdest part was that they had kept the Etios cars away from the crowd and allowed ONLY when the dance was over for a short while each hour or so for people to view them close. People could not get inside them
Why keep the cars there at all then? The hatch is slated to be about 5 lacs and the sedan about 7 lacs when launched. I met some toyota guys and they expect the launch early next year only.
I got some pics of the interiors of the sedan, will post them soon- looked good inside with contrasting red interiors with white.
The sedan does not look THAT bad in actual than what appears in pics.
A couple of toyota guys told they are also apprehensive about its acceptance as the rear is like a logan but they feel it will succeed cause of the fact that toyota sedan sub 10 lacs.
Saw the 1 crore SUV- The LandCruiser- wonder who will buy that when you can get a Merc S Class or BMW 7 Series for the same cost!
They have spent a LOT of money on this event, i think more as brand build up post the recalls. They had free water too!
Overall a decent experience as there was MORE than enough space and no pushing, shoving etc and had seating too.
What surprised me was that a lot of people turned up, we had stopped on the way since it was free
Old 23rd March 2010, 12:05   #54

The Innova also looks exciting. Is this a new model or the current model with the body kit fixed?

Nitin
Old 23rd March 2010, 13:25   #55

Originally Posted by nitinbose View Post
The Innova also looks exciting. Is this a new model or the current model with the body kit fixed?
I was told that displayed variant is not available in market. Modifications were done specifically for the expo.

Originally Posted by mkh View Post
met some toyota guys and they expect the launch early next year only.
Typical of Toyota? Under promise and over deliver?

I think Etios launch is imminent.

Originally Posted by mkh View Post
Saw the 1 crore SUV- The LandCruiser- wonder who will buy that when you can get a Merc S Class or BMW 7 Series for the same cost!
Yes, I too felt the same. Interiors were very dull.
Old 23rd March 2010, 13:40   #56

Originally Posted by rajivn View Post
By the way, did they unveil in Chennai, it says 3rd - 4th March in that link
Nope, its this weekend at CTC, Nandambakkam.Hoping to check it out.
Old 23rd March 2010, 17:25   #57

Originally Posted by sbraj View Post
...Yes, I too felt the same. Interiors were very dull.
But will take you places where the Merc-S or BMW7 can never.
Old 23rd March 2010, 17:37   #58

Originally Posted by karpusv View Post
But will take you places where the Merc-S or BMW7 can never.
Very true. But for a car boasting a sticker price of 1 crore plus, I would have expected better interiors.

Why does it have to be EITHER this OR that? Meaning can't I have the same SUV capabilities with excellent interiors? Or is it that Toyota thinks luxury is deserved only by Lexus owners?
Old 23rd March 2010, 17:49   #59

Originally Posted by cyqed View Post
Boot area of the Etios reminds me of the Logan. Did anyone else notice this similarity or is it just me.
Not just you. Me too, huge similarity with Logan.
Old 23rd March 2010, 18:22   #60

Originally Posted by kaviprem View Post
Not just you. Me too, huge similarity with Logan.
Not only the rear end, but the entire ETIOS sedan seems to be inspired from the Logan. Rounded ends, that's the only difference I can see.