Tata Nano Fire Incidents. EDIT: Tata's analysis on page 34

This time the car was being driven from showroom to home after delivery
Brand new Tata Nano bursts into flames- Hindustan Times
Meanwhile a foreign look at the story
Tata Nano in fire controversy - Yahoo! Cars
More news for the same
3 Nanos catch fire, Tata to do pre-delivery audit- News- Zigwheels

Earlier there was a report about Nano catching fire in Ahmadabad.

Tata has refused to a a full scale recall.
I think that in reply to this thread, there will be lots of news references to other cars catching fire too, but I would like to see news articles of other manufactures where a brand new car caught fire shortly after purchase.
This is poor QC, and sadly, in India, the most a manufacturer can lose is the cost of a car + 10-20,000rs as compensation.Not much incentive to spend crores on a recall!
Old 22nd March 2010, 12:31   #2

This time the car was being driven from showroom to home after delivery
Brand new Tata Nano bursts into flames- Hindustan Times
Meanwhile a foreign look at the story
Tata Nano in fire controversy - Yahoo! Cars
More news for the same
3 Nanos catch fire, Tata to do pre-delivery audit- News- Zigwheels

Earlier there was a report about Nano catching fire in Ahmadabad.

Tata has refused to a a full scale recall.
I think that in reply to this thread, there will be lots of news references to other cars catching fire too, but I would like to see news articles of other manufactures where a brand new car caught fire shortly after purchase.
This is poor QC, and sadly, in India, the most a manufacturer can lose is the cost of a car + 10-20,000rs as compensation.Not much incentive to spend crores on a recall!
I am to take the delivery of a Nano in the coming week. This is surely got me worried a hell lot. Moreover, I opted not to take the extended warrarty as I saw no point with it since the original warranty cover for 18 months. Should I reconsider the extended warranty?

Are such untimely incidents come under the warranty or comes under Insurance?

Last edited by funkykar : 22nd March 2010 at 12:33.
Old 22nd March 2010, 12:40   #3

This is why me and my friends decided to go with a tried and tested car, and decided to wait and watch about the nano. At that time none of these stories had broken yet, but we did not want to be guinea pigs. We are glad about the decision now. These fire reports do make us queasy.
Old 22nd March 2010, 12:46   #4

No wonder my Uncle always insists on Maruti, though we still have so many competitors;

Rereading the news says "Sawant had spent Rs 2.4 lakh on the silver Nano (MH03 AW 913), which he had got fitted with an A/C and a power steering"; this provokes questions such as was this done properly? Where was it done? Was it from T.A.S.S or somebody else? Does this not voids the warranty from Tata?

Nano or Audi, if something additional is done, it needs to be done with utmost care especially when it is on electricals.
Old 22nd March 2010, 12:49   #5

Originally Posted by aargee View Post
Rereading the news says "Sawant had spent Rs 2.4 lakh on the silver Nano (MH03 AW 913), which he had got fitted with an A/C and a power steering"; this provokes questions such as was this done properly? Where was it done? Was it from T.A.S.S or somebody else? Does this not voids the warranty from Tata?
Its mostly a typo from the reporter.. He would have meant Sawant bought a Nano with A/C and Power WINDOWS!
Old 22nd March 2010, 13:03   #6

Guys, this is a bad publicity for Nano. I would recommend lets us not jump to conclusion on whose fault it is. The report as well as Tata claim seems to contradict each other ont eh root cause of the issue. According to Tata the problem might be associated with the wiper switch, where as this report claims of the engine on fire which is located on the rear of the car. The owner might have gone for a after market accessory that might have a faulty wiring. So let us not jump in to conclusion

Let us Hope tata comes out with a valid response on this at the earliest.

@Funkykar : I would recommend a extendeded warranty on the car to be on the safer side.
Old 22nd March 2010, 13:05   #7

If you read the article. The owner did not know how to drive.

He went to showroom, and they gave him a driver to drive the car to his residence. On the expressway, the car caught fire.
This was a top end Nano with AC and Power windows. Nothing here suggests that the owner fixed anything on his own. The car was being driven from showroom to home by a company driver.
Old 22nd March 2010, 13:08   #8

If you read the article. Nothing here suggests that the owner fixed anything on his own.
This is the quote from NDTV website..

"Sawant had spent Rs 2.4 lakh on the silver Nano (MH03 AW 913), which he had got fitted with an A/C and a power steering."

Which most probably is a typo error...
Old 22nd March 2010, 13:12   #9

If you read the article. The owner did not know how to drive.

He went to showroom, and they gave him a driver to drive the car to his residence. On the expressway, the car caught fire.
This was a top end Nano with AC and Power windows. Nothing here suggests that the owner fixed anything on his own. The car was being driven from showroom to home by a company driver.
Yes. The car seems to be a top end version that has company fitted AC and Power Windows. More likey it has to be the stock version that caught fire. It is a possibility that the owner opted to fit some ICE which might have caused the fire. We have to see what the official verdict would be by TATA on this issue.

I will surely opt for the extended warranty to be on the safer side!

Are there any do's and dont's for Nano's while going for ICE?
Old 22nd March 2010, 13:19   #10

Originally Posted by ElantraGT View Post
...The owner might have gone for a after market accessory that might have a faulty wiring. So let us not jump in to conclusion...
As per the same report, vehicle taken at 3pm, fire at 3.45pm.

Wow! 45 minutes to take vehicle, fit accessories and drive on the express way!

Yup. We are all jumping into wrong conclusions!
Old 22nd March 2010, 13:22   #11

Originally Posted by HappyWheels View Post
As per the same report, vehicle taken at 3pm, fire at 3.45pm.

Wow! 45 minutes to take vehicle, fit accessories and drive on the express way!

Yup. We are all jumping into wrong conclusions!
The delivery after fitting accessories could have happened at 3PM, correct?
Old 22nd March 2010, 13:27   #12

Originally Posted by funkykar View Post
The delivery after fitting accessories could have happened at 3PM, correct?
If the accessories have been fitted in showroom, then they must be genuine na?!
Old 22nd March 2010, 13:31   #13

Originally Posted by arun1100 View Post
If the accessories have been fitted in showroom, then they must be genuine na?!
Correct! So it has to be the car itself. Still to early jump into a conclusion. Does anyboday know if any other car manufacturer suffered a similar ordeal in India?
Old 22nd March 2010, 13:38   #14

Originally Posted by Gansan View Post
... At that time none of these stories had broken yet, but we did not want to be guinea pigs. ...
Excellent idea, if one's to buy a car in India!
Old 22nd March 2010, 13:41   #15

Any more news on this from Tata or the dealer? I'm shocked that such a thing has happened. We cannot jump to conclusions until the reason for the fire is known.

I always make it a point to take extended-warranty. It ensures peace of mind and comes at a small price.