Old 16th June 2010, 16:15   #331

Engines fail: one must be able to control the car, both steering and brakes without engine power, and one can.

Some people go so far as to coast down hills with the engine off. This is very bad practice --- but there is nothing, mechanically, to stop it.
Old 17th June 2010, 11:51   #332

Originally Posted by Thad E Ginathom View Post
Engines fail: one must be able to control the car, both steering and brakes without engine power, and one can.

Some people go so far as to coast down hills with the engine off. This is very bad practice --- but there is nothing, mechanically, to stop it.
The same is the case in all the vehicles that ply on roads today. Not specific to the Micra.
Old 17th June 2010, 12:49   #333

There seems to be a lot of confusion / speculation over the Intelligent Key. I dug out some info from Wikipedia and elsewhere.

The Wikipedia entry clearly states that there is a requirement for a mechanical backup in the event of electronic failure.

It also states a new standard was introduced in 2005 requiring the device to be operable only within a distance of 10 cm from the vehicle. And the Micra's key system was found to be the most secure in tests at the time, even as Mercedes-Benz and BMW keys failed!

I guess that should put some of the doubts to rest.

References:
Smart key - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
Micra's Top Of The Fobs | Auto Express News | News | Auto Express

Last edited by spindoc : 17th June 2010 at 12:55. Reason: Removed generalization
Old 17th June 2010, 23:49   #334

Originally Posted by designersf View Post
The same is the case in all the vehicles that ply on roads today. Not specific to the Micra.
Yes, I should have said "All...", because that's what I meant.
Old 18th June 2010, 10:03   #335

Saw the print ad today of Nissan Micra a pure side shot seems to make the car look good.
I guess its the front shot and the back shot which makes it feel light. But the side view looks solid. Ranbir is lost in the ad, thanks to the presence of the car.
Old 18th June 2010, 10:16   #336

The only "not so great angle" of Micra in my view is the back, especially the tail lights. Otherwise its a good looking car with cool features. I am keenly waiting for the team-bhp road test of this car to know about the capability of its engines.
Old 18th June 2010, 12:24   #337

Got a call from Chennai Nissan dealer and he said the base model starts from 4.5L ex-showroom. If so they will be fighting in Fabia territory.
Test drive will start once car is launched on Jul 14.
Old 21st June 2010, 15:10   #338

Originally Posted by Daewood View Post
Got a call from Chennai Nissan dealer and he said the base model starts from 4.5L ex-showroom. If so they will be fighting in Fabia territory.
Test drive will start once car is launched on Jul 14.
The prices have not been announced yet. It seems the prices will be announced on July 14. When I spoke to Sherif Nissan now, they say a tentative pricing of Rs 4.4, 5.2 and 5.8 (+/- 20,000) lakhs on-road for the three variants respectively.
Old 21st June 2010, 16:37   #339
SCH

Email received from Nath Nissan

Dear ,

I m forwarding you the E-brochure for Micra & tentive price would be starting 4.00 to 5.30 and looking for an early appointment from your side.

Ex- Showroom Price

XE - 4 Lakh
XL - 4.80 Lakh
XV - 5.30 Lakh
XE Plus - 4.40 Lakh

Booking amount is 50,000/- Rs and the Amount is 100% refundable.

We would like to associate with you and your Esteemed Organization for Nissan vehicles.

And for further more Assistance please feel free to call/mail.

With Kind Regards/ shinsetsu na ten de

Sales Consultant
Nath Nissan/ nāsu nissan
Official Dealer for Nissan PC
A-30, Mohan Co-operative Ind. Estate,
Mathura Road, New Delhi – 110044

www.nathnissan.com

Last edited by Samurai : 21st June 2010 at 19:15. Reason: removing name/email/mobile numbers
Old 21st June 2010, 19:17   #340

While posting emails from dealers, kindly delete name/email/phone numbers of the salesperson. Posting their personal information publicly is not a good idea. - Support team
Old 21st June 2010, 22:14   #341

Where is the e-brochure? can you upload it?
Old 21st June 2010, 22:18   #342

You cab download it from the Nissan Micra India site. The link was posted a page or two back
Old 22nd June 2010, 16:28   #343

Originally Posted by Samurai View Post
Just got back from Nissan dealership in Bangalore. I think Micra is probably the best looking hatch in India right now. The photos were very unkind to it.

It is not very compact like Santro or i10. It is in the league of i20, Punto,etc., but much better looking. I was also very impressed with interior space and general fit and finish.

I also got a demo of push start feature on the Teana which works similarly. The car can be push started only if the key is inside the car. I held the key just outside the car, the push start didn't work. Only when the key was brought within the cage (door still open) of the car, the push start worked. So, stop worrying about others running away with the car.
Hey Samurai was it available for a TD?
Old 22nd June 2010, 16:57   #344

Confirmed. Nissan Micra launch on 14th July, 2010.
Old 22nd June 2010, 17:50   #345

I always admired Nissan for their cars--- Skyline GTR, 350Z and Pathfinder. But Micra? No offence meant but I expected something better from them. Especially for a mass market, hatches are know for. It doesn't look exciting and ground-breaking in any way. Neither sleek like Polo, nor butch and chunky like Swift. Looks too retro. And 3-cylinder diesel engine? I don't even want to talk about it. With these average looks, they need all the luck there is to make it a hot-seller. Anyway, good luck Nissan.