Old 27th May 2010, 22:31   #1

SCAM: Brand New Toyota Car for 2.8 Lakhs

While surfing, in one of the popular Websites, my friend came across an AD. It said a Brand new Toyota Car which has clocked just 2,200 KMS is for sale. My friend sent a mail to the mail ID requesting more details. One person responded. He said that the car is brand new, clocked 2,200 KMS and is available for 2.8 lakhs only. But the car is in London. It will be shipped to Bangalore once the formalities are completed. The person told that initially to pay Rs.80,000/- as shipping charges, Rs.1,00,000/- as advance. The balance can be made after the car arrival in Bangalore. He also said that he has contacts in British High Commission to get the formalities faster.
He has even sent a Left Hand Drive Corolla Photo.

These crooks daily thinks of new schemes to fool people and to make some money. I wonder how many people will fall for this. You can read the full story in tomorrow's edition of Bangalore Mirror.

So if you come across any AD saying Brand New Car for Rs.2.8 Lakhs, BE VERY CAREFUL

Old 27th May 2010, 22:34   #2

Only a fool would fall into such a trap.
seems like the online lottery scam.
recently a Principal\Dean of one of the best engg colleges in chandigarh fell into such a trap,and lost 23 lakhs
Old 27th May 2010, 23:30   #3

Originally Posted by akshay4587 View Post
Only a fool would fall into such a trap.
seems like the online lottery scam.
recently a Principal\Dean of one of the best engg colleges in chandigarh fell into such a trap,and lost 23 lakhs
Shows there's no dearth of fools. I guess everyone has a secret desire to land a big pot of money someday.

There have been so many offers of transfers of unclaimed moneys belonging to dead citizens or siphoned off by corrupt officials, I wonder why people still believe such stories.
Old 27th May 2010, 23:48   #4

Haha! 'Brand new' old gen corolla Hope people don't fall prey to such foolish scams.
Old 27th May 2010, 23:55   #5

How do these thugs come up with such stuff? There should be an IQ test for thieves too, so that at least the scams are smarter!
Old 28th May 2010, 00:13   #6

He also said that he has contacts in British High Commission to get the formalities faster.
Britain is Right Hand Drive. Import tax is 110% i guess. now do the math.

which site was it?
Old 28th May 2010, 00:22   #7

I will buy it only if they allow me to keep the London registered number of the car, and drive with it in Mumbai.
Old 28th May 2010, 00:36   #8

Originally Posted by dark_horizon View Post
I will buy it only if they allow me to keep the London registered number of the car, and drive with it in Mumbai.
Done. We would have to deal with Mumbai RTO officials and traffic police. We would need a one time charge of 2.5 Lakhs more to handle this added expense. Please transfer your cash to...!

Old 28th May 2010, 02:10   #9

Originally Posted by SirAlec View Post
which site was it?
My guess would be online version of Bangalore Mirror
Old 28th May 2010, 03:37   #10

Originally Posted by Sarvodaya View Post

So if you come across any AD saying Brand New Car for Rs.2.8 Lakhs, BE VERY CAREFUL
There go all the 3 year old Swift sellers
Old 28th May 2010, 04:22   #11

Advise given to me by my mentor when learning business "If it is too good to be true - It is."

Yep the offer is too good to be true and it is indeed not true.
Old 28th May 2010, 07:25   #12

Originally Posted by akshay4587 View Post
Hmmmmm, looks like education/knowledge/awareness can still be beaten by temptation/greed.
Old 28th May 2010, 08:01   #13

Originally Posted by Sarvodaya View Post
Its right hand drive in UK. People always think foreign cars are left hand drive

Last edited by iamswift : 28th May 2010 at 08:03.
Old 28th May 2010, 08:31   #14

Originally Posted by sbraj View Post
Hmmmmm, looks like education/knowledge/awareness can still be beaten by temptation/greed.
Indeed.
He was supposed to get 50Crore INR
and he lost his 23 Lakhs even
So much for education\knowledge
Old 28th May 2010, 09:11   #15

This ad is wrong on many counts:
1. Britain is right hand drive
2. Toyota does not sell the Corolla sedan in UK. Has always sold a hatch version.
3. From the past few years, the Corolla has not been sold there at all, the Toyota car in that segment is called Auris
4. No number plates on the car? Not possible anywhere in Europe. Front and rear number plates are mandatory across Europe
5. Even if it were a private import, it is an old gen Corolla

It is too good to be true, and it is. I suppose if someone was fool enough to fall for this, they deserve to be parted from their money.